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Abstract 

In 1968, Virginia passed the Habitual Offender Act (the Act), one of the first laws in the 
United States directed at motorists who repeatedly violate traffic laws. Persons adjudicated as ha- 
bitual offenders are subject to long-term license revocation, and those who violate this revocation 
may be incarcerated. This study was conducted to determine the effectiveness of the Act in enhanc- 
ing traffic safety in Virginia. 

A sizable number of individuals whose driving records include a sufficient number of con- 
victions to allow DMV to certify them as habitual offenders are never brought before the courts on 
the charge. The existence of such a group of certified yet nonadjudicated habitual offenders is an 
indication that the procedures implementing the Act need to be changed to promote a more global 
implementation. However, the existence of this group allowed the researchers to compare a sample 
of certified habitual offenders to a group of adjudicated habitual offenders. 

In general, the adjudicated group had more prior DUI convictions and the certified group 
had more convictions for operating under a suspended operator's license and more convictions for 
minor offenses as defined under the Act. However, the adjudicated group had fewer subsequent 
traffic convictions and crashes and were conviction free and crash free for a longer period of time. 
These data indicate that adjudication under the Act may enhance traffic safety. 

Since adjudicated habitual offenders may be incarcerated for not less than 12 months for 
violating the habitual offender revocation, the researchers also examined the population of incar- 
cerated habitual offenders. The investigation showed that as of September 1, 1991, between 864 
and 1,219 habitual offenders had been incarcerated under the provisions of the Act. Only an addi- 
tional 385 non-habitual offenders had been incarcerated as of that date for other traffic convictions. 

The researchers recommend several changes in the procedures and record keeping implem- 
ented under the Act. Further, they recommend a number of enhancements to the habitual offender 
program. 
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PREFACE 

Prior to the publication of this report, its results and recommendations were 
passed on to the Commission on VASAP, Subcommittee on Habitual Offenders, and 
from them to the legislature. In the 1993 session of the Virginia General Assembly, 
11 pieces of legislation were passed that substantively changed the Habitual Of- 
fender Act. Most took effect July 1, 1993. These legislative changes are as follows: 

Under the previous version of the Act, adjudicated habitual offenders 
were required to wait 10 years before petitioning the court to relicense 
them. The General Assembly changed this period to 5 years. 

The new Act introduced a 2-tiered system of penalties for driving after 
adjudication. Under the previous Act, adjudicated habitual offenders 
who were caught driving after adjudication were incarcerated for 12 
months in jail or 1 to 5 years in prison. The min•mllm penalty was 12 
months or 1 year. If the habitual offender's driving did not endanger life, 
limb, or property and if this was a first offense, a 90-day jail or prison 
sentence would be imposed, 10 days of which could not be suspended ex- 

cept where an extreme emergency led to the offense. In addition to the 
90-day sentence, the habitual offender would pay a fine of no more than 
$2,500. The previous penalties would be imposed in all other cases. 

An intervention component was added to the program. After a potential 
habitual offender added a second qualifying offense to his or her record, 
he or she would be notified that he or she must enroll in the Virginia Al- 
cohol Safety Action Program within 60 days. No stipulation was made 
concerning the type of treatment the potential offender would receive. 

Attempts were made to reconcile the provisions of the administrative li- 
cense revocation program run by DMV and the provisions of the Habitual 
Offender Act. HB 1267 ensured that habitual offenders petitioning for 
restoration be credited with time revoked for a second or third DUI under 
the administrative revocation program prior to their adjudication as ha- 
bitual offenders. 

Because of the mobility of certified habitual offenders as a group, difficul- 
ties in serving the offender with the show cause order often resulted in 
many cases never coming to trial. Under the new act, service can be 
made not just in the jurisdiction of residence of the offender, but also in 
any jurisdiction in the state where the case may be heard. Venue for 
cases may be changed by order of the original court on motion from either 
party. If the current DMV certification for a habitual offender was issued 
more than 5 years after the offender's last conviction, the court may re- 
fuse to adjudicate. 
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Also, because of the difficulty in serving certified habitual offenders, the 
legislature stipulated that DMV could not issue a new or duplicate li- 
cense to a certified habitual offender until the show cause proceeding had 
been held. 

For persons whose adjudication was based solely on DSOLs where the 
original suspensions were for failure to pay obligations, petition for li- 
cense restoration may be made as soon as the obligations are satisfied, 
rather than 1 year after they are satisfied. For persons whose adjudica- 
tion is based in part on these DSOLs, the period prior to being eligible for 
restoration was reduced from 5 years to 3 years. 

Aggravated involuntary manslaughter was added to the list of major con- 
victions. The threshold for requiring an individual to stay at the scene of 
a property damage accident was raised from $500 to $1,000. 



EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

In 1968, Virginia enacted the Habitual Offender Act (the Act), the third oldest such 
law in the United States, preceded only by those of Colorado and Delaware. Under 
the Act, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will certify a driver as a 
habitual offender if within a 10-year period he or she is convicted of 3 major 
offenses, such as driving under the influence (DUI) or driving on a suspended or re- 
voked license (DSOL); 12 minor offenses, such as refusing to take a blood or breath 
test or failing to maintain insurance; or a total of 12 major and minor offenses. 
Once certified, each habitual offender's case is then referred to the Commonwealth's 
Attorney in the offender's locality of residence. If the case is pursued and if the cer- 
tified driver can be located and served with a show cause order, the circuit court 
may either adjudicate the driver as a habitual offender or dismiss the case. Adjudi- 
cation results in the permanent revocation of a driver's license, although there are 
provisions for relicensure after revocations as short as 1 year. Driving after being 
adjudicated to be a habitual offender is a felony and may result in a sentence of 1 to 
5 years in prison or 12 months in jail, with 12 months or 1 year being the mandato- 
ry minimum penalty. 
REVIEW OF LITERATURE: Only three states have attempted to evaluate all or 
part of their habitual offender program. One was a purely administrative evalua- 
tion, and the other two evaluated the impact of the program on subsequent driving 
behavior. The results of the two impact evaluation studies were contradictory. 
SURVEY OF OTHER STATES: Nineteen states other than Virginia have enacted 
habitual offender legislation in which long-term license revocation may be imposed 
and any violation of the revocation may result in incarceration. Most of these states 
require 3 major offenses accumulated over 3 to 10 years for habitual offender sta- 
tus. DUI and hit and run accompanied by an injury are counted as major offenses 
by all states but 1. DSOL, vehicular manslaughter, and vehicular homicide are 
counted as major offenses in at least 17 states. Eleven states declare a driver a ha- 
bitual offender administratively, and 9 states, including Virginia, do so judicially. 
Most states allow reinstatement of a revoked license after I to 6 years. The length 
of incarceration for driving after revocation ranges from 10 days to 6 years. 

PROCEDURAL REVIEW OF AC• The DMV is responsible for certifying habitu- 
al offender records to the Commonwealth's Attorney in the locality in which the 
offender resides. Once received, however, the Commonwealth's Attorney must re- 
port to the DMV only cases in which an offender was adjudicated or the charges 
were dismissed. In cases where no action was taken, either because service of the 
show cause order could not be made or because the case was not pursued, the DMV 
was notified only voluntarily. Thus, the DMV, as the central agency responsible for 
the program's operation, does not have information on the number of cases in prog- 
ress and has no authority to investigate the outcome of cases. 

From the voluntary reporting by some Commonwealth's Attorneys, it is clear 
that inability to serve the show cause order is a major reason for the inactivity 
among outstanding cases. Thus, the service requirements were examined. Accord- 



ing to the Code of Virginia, service must be made in person. Since a significant por- 
tion of all addresses in the driver history file may change in a given year, and since 
voluntary reporting of address change tends to be low, many addresses in DMV re- 
cords are incorrect. Hence, service of driver-related documents, such as a show 
cause order, can be extremely difficult. 

Another procedural problem involves the imposition of the felony offense for 
driving aider adjudication. In many cases, even though the circuit court judge is re- 
quired to determine the habitual offender status of the defendant, many persons 
driving after adjudication are not convicted of the felony offense. Although the pen- 
alty of incarceration is mandated by statute, some judges may feel that incarcera- 
tion is too severe and, thus, may not impose this penalty under some circumstances. 
In addition, any delay by the clerks in filing notice of a habitual offender adjudica- 
tion with the DMV or any delay by the DMV in posting the adjudication may result 
in the exclusi0nof the adjudication from the c0pyof the driver history record that a 
judge sees. 

A final procedural problem involves record keeping. Early return of driving 
privileges is permitted for individuals whose adjudication was based on at least one 
DUI. Such offenders who can demonstrate that they are no longer a threat to pub- 
lic safety may apply for a restricted license after 3 years and for full license restora- 
tion aider 5 years. Those whose adjudication was based in part on DSOL where the 
suspension violated was for failure to satisfy financial obligations may apply for res- 
toration of their license after 5 years, or 1 year after all obligations are satisfied if 
the adjudication was based solely on DSOL where the suspension violated was for 
failure to satisfy financial obligations. Although it is easy to determine whether in- 
dividuals have a DUI on their record, it is difficult, and in some cases impossible, to 
determine which suspension resulted in a DSOL violation. One reason for this diffi- 
culty is that after a financial obligation is satisfied, reference to the suspension is 
deleted from the record aider 2 years. Further, an individual may have multiple 
suspensions for various reasons at the time of a DSOL violation. Thus, it is almost 
impossible for the DMV to confirm whether an individual is eligible to have driving 
privileges restored based on the DSOL waiver for suspensions due to financial obli- 
gations. 
IMPACT OF ACT ON TRAFFIC SAFETY: Driving records for 25% of all drivers 
adjudicated in 1986 and all drivers who were certified or recertified in 1986 were 
selected for investigation. After the two groups were compared regarding the con- 
victions that resulted in their certification, the following were noted: 

1. The adjudicated group had significantly more prior DUIs than the certi- 
fied group. 

2. The certified group had more prior DSOLs and prior traffic convictions. 

After differences in previous records between the two groups was controlled for, the 
subsequent records of the adjudicated and certified groups were compared for 
(1) number of subsequent convictions for DUI, (2) number of subsequent traffic 
offenses resulting in conviction, (3) number of subsequent crashes, and (4) number 
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of days between adjudication or certification and the next traffic crash or offense 
that resulted in a conviction. The certified group had more subsequent DUI and 
traffic convictions, more subsequent crashes, and fewer days between certification 
and their next crash or offense than did the adjudicated group. 

Thus, the habitual offender program appears to have had a positive effect on 

the driving behavior of adjudicated drivers. An alternate explanation for these re- 
suits is that some of the adjudicated habitual offenders may have been incarcerated 
for violating the habitual offender revocation and, thus, may have had fewer driving 
events than the certified group because they were incarcerated. After adjudicated 
drivers who may have been incarcerated were removed from the analysis, the certi- 
fied group still had worse subsequent driving records than did adjudicated offend- 
ers. In fact, the data showed that the habitual offenders who had been convicted of 
the felony offense that would have resulted in incarceration actually had more sub- 
Sequent driving events than theother adjudicated drivers. 

IMPACT OF ACT ON DUI OFFENDERS: As mentioned previously, habitual of- 
fenders whose adjudication was based on at least one DUI can petition for a re- 
stricted license restoration after 3 years, or for full license restoration after 5 years, 
but only if they meet the following requirements: (1) they were alcohol addicted at 
the time of their preadjudication offenses, (2) they are no longer addicted to alcohol 
or drugs, and (3) a court determines that they are no longer a threat to public safe- 
ty. Because this group is treated differently from other habitual offenders, the ef- 
fect of the program on this group was examined. Compared to habitual offenders 
whose previous driving record contained no DUI, those whose adjudication was 
based on three or more DUIs had more total subsequent DUIs during the first 
4 years of revocation. Thus, this group, which could have been relicensed during 
the fourth year following adjudication, actually had worse driving records than 
non-DUI offenders who were not eligible for relicensure until 10 years after adjudi- 
cation. In addition, even though adjudication generally resulted in fewer convic- 
tions and crashes, it had no significant impact on the subsequent record of drivers 
whose adjudication was based on three or more DUIs. 

NUMBER AND CHARACTERISTICS OF INCARCERATED HABITUAL 
OFFENDERS: In order to determine the number of individuals incarcerated un- 
der the provisions of the Act, a listing of all traffic offenders incarcerated as of Sep- 
tember 1, 1991, was generated by the Virginia Department of Corrections (DOC). 
Driver history records for these individuals were then generated by the DMV and 
used to confirm individuals' habitual offender status and whether they had com- 
mitted an offense for which they could have been incarcerated as of September 1, 
1991. According to the DOC, there were 1,604 traffic offenders in state prisons or 
local jails on that date. According to DMV records, 864 of these committed offenses 
after habitual offender adjudication for which they could have been incarcerated as 
of September 1, 1991. DOC records also indicated that an additional 355 habitual 
offenders were incarcerated for driving after adjudication, but their DMV records 
provided no indication that they had been convicted of postadjudication offenses 
that would have resulted in incarceration as of September 1, 1991. Thus, between 
864 and 1,219 habitual offenders were incarcerated as of that date. Also, according 
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to DOC records, another 385 non-habitual offenders had been incarcerated for oth- 
er traffic offenses. 

Of the 864 habitual offenders with confirmed postadjudication offenses, 281 
were convicted of the felony offense either alone or in combination with one or more 
offenses committed the same day. Another 365 were convicted of the felony offense, 
but these individuals had also been convicted of at least one other postadjudication 
offense committed on another date. The remaining 218 incarcerated habitual of- 
fenders had been convicted of at least one traffic offense after adjudication but were 
not incarcerated under the felony offense. Thus, it is clear from these data that ha- 
bitual offenders who are caught driving after adjudication are not always convicted 
of the felony offense. Further, a number had nonfelony convictions prior to the con- 
viction that led to their incarceration. Again, this may be due to the fact that 
judges are unaware that a defendant is a habitual offender, or it may be that some 
judges are unwilling to incarcerate habitual offenders for their initial charges of 
driving after adjudication. 

Finally, one of the questions most often asked concerning incarcerated habit- 
ual offenders is: How many were declared habitual offenders because they drove 
after their driver's license was suspended for failure to satisfy financial obligations? 
There have been concerns expressed by legislators and the public that incarcerating 
this type of habitual offender is in essence creating a debtors' prison. However, a 
DSOL may occur when a driver has multiple suspensions for various reasons. Fur- 
ther, once a driver suspended for nonpayment makes restitution, reference to the 
suspension is removed from his or her driving record after 2 years. Thus, if there 
were multiple suspensions or if the obligation has been satisfied for more than 
2 years, there is no way for the DMV to confirm that the original suspension was 
based on failure to satisfy financial obligations. Thus, it may be impossible to deter- 
mine if incarcerated drivers were adjudicated based on DSOLs caused by violation 
of suspensions for failure to satisfy financial obligations. 
RECOMMENDATIONS: The recommendations following from this research fall 
into two categories: (1) procedures and record keeping and (2) program develop- 
ment. 

Procedures and Record Keeping: One of the major findings of this research is 
that although the Act has a positive impact on the driving records of adjudicated 
drivers, a large number of drivers certified by the DMV to be habitual offenders are 
not adjudicated. A number of recommendations address the need to administer the 
habitual offender program uniformly. 

The DMV should support legislation requiring Commonwealth's Attorneys to re- 
port the status of all certified habitual offender cases to the DMV after a period 
of 6 months. Although the DMV is the central agency responsible for adminis- 
tering the habitual offender program, the agency is not receiving enough infor- 
mation to manage cases. Further, the DMV has no authority or ability to en- 

courage Commonwealth's Attorneys to adjudicate habitual offenders. Since 
Commonwealth's Attorneys must report only on adjudications and dismissals, 
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the DMV cannot accurately state the status of certified drivers' cases. That is, 
the DMV does not know whether these cases have been or will be pursued. The 
DMV currently sends a letter to Commonwealth's Attorneys to ascertain what 
happened to these certified individuals if it has not heard from the Common- 
wealth's Attorney within about 6 months from the time of certification. If Com- 
monwealth's Attorneys were required to report on cases where service was un- 
successfully attempted, perhaps the DMV could pursue additional information 
on the offender. Also, reporting on the status of all cases might encourage Com- 
monwealth's Attorneys to give habitual offender prosecution a higher priority, 
although more stringent means might be necessary to ensure that service is at 
least attempted in all cases. 

Now that the process that triggers habitual offender certi•cation is automated, 
the DMW should begin keeping additional information on certified habitual of- 
fenders to promote efficient case management and prompt adjudication of all of- 
fenders. For instance, case status and service history might be recorded. Also, 
better and more current addresses may be available for offenders from the DMV 
vehicle file or from other state agencies. The most promising state agency for 
the purpose is the Department of Taxation; however, it is prohibited by law from 
releasing address information. As of September 1, 1992, the DMV began ac- 
cessing address data from Virginia Employment Commission files, and as of 
July 1, 1993, the DMV should be able to access address data from its vehicle 
file. 

The Subcommittee on Habitual Offenders should look into the possibility of 
amending service requirements for habitual offenders so that offenders who 
avoid service would be less likely to avoid adjudication at the same time. Ser- 
vice requirements for habitual offenders are similar to those for individuals 
called to court for other reasons; however, there are essentially no penalties for 
avoiding service in the case of habitual offenders, and in fact, there are incen- 
tives. In the case of other court matters, individuals who avoid service will like- 
ly be pursued further, and in cases where offenders are nonresidents of the 
state, the circuit court can take action in the absence of the individual. Howev- 
er, for the habitual offender, once service is avoided, almost no additional pur- 
suit will follow until the individual commits another traffic violation and is re- 
certified. Innovative methods for serving show cause orders on habitual 
offenders have already been suggested, such as serving the certified individual 
at the local DMV office when he or she initiates a title or license transaction. 
The Subcommittee should develop a series of recommendations supporting inno- 
vative methods of serving certified habitual offenders. 

The DMV should consider amending the driver history file to include all suspen- 
sions in the driver history file and to indicate when the suspension is ended, 
rather than purging it from the records. Since the DMV purges information re- garding suspensions after 2 years and since the courts often do not indicate 
whether suspensions are for failure to satisfy obligations, the DMV often cannot 
verify cases in which an individual convicted of DSOL was suspended for failure 
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to satisfy obhgations. Thus, any habitual offender whose adjudication was 
based on DSOLs might claim the waiver. 

The DMV should develop a system to record which suspensions were active dur- 
ing each DSOL violation. In the current records, it is very difficult to relate 
DSOLs to a particular suspension. This is especially true, since courts often do 
not provide information concerning which suspensions trigger the DSOLs. This 
information is important in cases where a DSOL offender has several concur- 
rent suspensions on his or her record. In addition, other penalties such as com- munity service, fines, and incarceration are not listed in the driver record. If 
court-imposed sanctions are designed to remediate drivers' behavior, then a his- 
tory of previous sanctions is necessary for judges to determine and impose ap- propriate penalties. Since many courts have access to automated records sys- 
tems and in many cases are already linked to centralized files, court clerks 
could record penalty information along with case outcome. A study of the feasi- 
bility of amending the driver history file to link DSOL convictions to suspen- 
sions and include penalties should be initiated. Such a study should also link 
all suspensions active at the time of a DSOL violation in the event a driver is 
under more than one suspension. 
Judges as well as Commonwealth's Attorneys should be informed of the effective- 
ness of habitual offender adjudication in enhancing traffic safety in an attempt 
to improve implementation of the Act. 

Program Development: Although this study has shown that the current habitual 
offender program is having a positive impact on adjudicated drivers, there are other 
enhancements that can be made in the program that might increase its impact. 

Precertification options should be developed to deter individuals who are one 
conviction away from certification from committing another offense. As the pro- 
gram stands, there are only four components---certification, adjudication, viola- 
tion of and penalty for driving on habitual offender revocation (i.e., incarcera- 
tion), and license restoration. Other components might improve the program's 
deterrent effect. For instance, anecdotal evidence indicates that there are a 
number of potential habitual offenders who are unaware of the consequences of 
further violation of traffic laws. A warning letter for these individuals, one they 
might not avoid the way they do a show cause order, could inform persons who 
are one qualifying offense away from certification of their impending habitual 
offender status. Warning letters have been shown to be moderately effective in 
a number of instances in affecting driving behavior. The letter could be comput- 
er generated and would be a very low-cost program component. Another more 
proactive approach to averting habitual offender qualification would be the is- 
suance of a restricted license to drivers after their conviction for a second quali- 
fying offense. Having to forfeit their full privilege to drive could underscore the 
seriousness of their position. In addition, if the restriction of driving privileges 
was accompanied by some other means of intervention, such as counseling or 
supervised probation, driving behaviors might be changed before the individual 
officially became a habitual offender. 

xvifi 



Minor violations that are more closely related to driving behavior than are cur- 
rent violations should be developed. If a more meaningful set of minor viola- 
tions were adopted, one that was more strongly related to driving behavior, this 
portion of the program might have more impact. As part of this study, the driv- 
ing records of many habitual offenders were examined. It was found that the 
vast majority were certified based on 3 major offenses. In none of the cases ex- 
amined did the driver qualify for habitual offender status based on 12 minor 
violations, and only a few qualified based on a combination of 12 major and mi- 
nor convictions. This was felt to be due, in part, to the somewhat esoteric na- 
ture of many of the minor violations. 

Minor violations are defined as any nonmajor violation for which a 30-day sus- 
pension is mandatory. Currently, the minor violations are as follows: 

Fraudulent use of adriver's license (46.2-347) 

Fraudulent application for license--Felony (A46.2-348) 

Fraudulent application for license--Misd. (B46.2-348) 

Knowingly operating an uninsured motor vehicle (A46.2-707) 

Permitting operation of an uninsured motor vehicle (A46.2-707) 

Uninsured motor vehicle•previous action (D46.2-707) 

Stopping vehicle of another, blocking access to premises, damaging or threatening commercial vehicle or operator thereof (46.2-818) 

• Reckless drivingmRacing (46.2-865). 

The DMV should develop and support legislative changes to enact alternatives to 
incarceration for habitual offenders. If the deterrent effect of incarceration is to 
continue to work, it must be applied consistently. However, if incarceration is 
viewed as too harsh a penalty, other alternatives for first-time postadjudicated 
offenders might be considered, employing incarceration for multiple postadjudi- 
cated violators. As mentioned earlier, many adjudicated habitual offenders in- 
cur postadjudication driving offenses prior to being convicted of the felony of- 
fense of driving after adjudication. Thus, the penalty of incarceration is not 
uniformly imposed. 
Alternatives to incarceration that may be considered include the following: 

House arrest and electronic surveillance. Incarceration is an expensive form 
of remediation, even though it is effective in keeping habitual offenders off 
the highways during incarceration. Recently, electronic monitoring for traf- 
fic offenders has been used successfully in Virginia on a small scale. The 
average cost of house arrest is less than the cost of incarceration, and house 
arrest allows the offenders to continue employment, pay the daily fee for 
house arrest, and continue to support their family and pay taxes. House ar- 



rest also results in less family disruption and reduces the negative effect of 
placing a traffic offender in a criminal environment. 

Vehicle impoundment or confiscation. Virginia has a history of enforcing 
confiscation of vehicles for driving under suspension or revocation. The for- 
feiture statute (Va. Code Ann. $46.1-351.1, 1972) was passed in 1972 and 
repealed in 1989. The forfeiture program was time-consuming to adminis- 
ter, and costs for processing, storage, and public auction were not offset by 
the proceeds from the sale of the vehicle. Jointly owned vehicles were rou- 
tinely returned, and those not paid for were returned to the lien holder, who 
had no legal recourse but to return the vehicle to the owner/driver. Thus, 
the only persons against whom this forfeiture would legally work were of- 
fenders who owned their vehicles free and clear, a small percentage of the 
offender population (Wetsel, 1975). Impo!mdment, on the other hand, 
would be less costly to administer, require fewer court proceedings than con- 
fiscation, encroach on fewer property rights, and apply to all vehicles, not 
just those wholly owned by offenders. Several Canadian provinces have be- 
gun impoundment programs for persons driving under revocation. Alberta 
and Manitoba now impound all vehicles driven after revocation for 30 days 
for the first offense. If the joint owner of the vehicle or the individual who 
has loaned the vehicle to the driver can prove that he or she was unaware 
that the driver's license had been revoked, the person can get the vehicle 
back. However, this defense is difficult to prove and can be used only once. 
It is recommended that the Subcommittee on Habitual Offenders study the 
feasibility of both impoundment and house arrest as alternatives to impris- 
onment for first offenders. 

Use of ignition interlocks. Another alternative could be directed specifically 
at habitual offenders whose adjudication or postadjudication offenses were 
based wholly or in part on DUI convictions. An interlock device requires the 
driver to blow into a hand-held unit that measures the blood alcohol concen- 
tration (BAC) of the breath sample prior to starting his or her vehicle. If 
the BAC is lower than a prescribed level, the driver can start the vehicle. If 
not, the device activates the ignition interlock, preventing the vehicle from 
being started (Wilson & Stoke, 1990). An ignition interlock program could 
be used in conjunction with probation or electronic monitoring to ensure 
that offenders no longer drive under the influence. Several states operate 
ignition interlock programs as a supplement to probation or restricted li- 
censing for DUI offenders. In such programs, when the DMV is notified of a 
DUI conviction, an offender may receive a restricted license only if he or she 
submits proof of installation of the interlock device to the DMV. Offenders 
generally pay the purchase or lease price of the equipment, as well as instal- 
lation and service costs. Some states provide a fund for indigent offenders 
who cannot afford the devices, and others reduce the DUI fines to offset the 
costs. 

There are several possible problems with the use of ignition interlock de- 
vices. For example, some devices require that the driver be retested after a 



specified period of time, and there is concern about the safety of retesting 
while a vehicle is being operated. In addition, there are various concerns 
about possible circumvention of the interlock device, such as storing 
alcohol-free breath samples in containers, using filtering material, leaving 
the vehicle idling while the driver is drinking, or having another person give 
the breath sample (Wilson & Stoke, 1990). This last method of circumven- 
tion can be lessened somewhat by requiring a personal identification num- 
ber to initiate the test and by making it a misdemeanor to assist in circum- 
venting the device. 

Overall, the administrative costs of such a program would be low, and al- 
though the use of the devices could not perfectly ensure that drivers would 
not circumvent the process, the devices would result in improved deter- 
rence. 

The DMV should develop and support legislative changes to reduce the number 
of DSOL violations. From an examination of DMV records, it is clear that some 
individuals incur DSOLs at least in part because of a suspension that was re- 
ceived for failure to satisfy financial obligations. Thus, there is a need to reduce 
the number of such suspensions. One of the major questions posed in this study 
was whether the administration of the Act had inadvertently created a debtors' 
prison situation by adjudicating and later incarcerating drivers initially sus- 
pended for failure to satisfy financial obligations. This question was prompted 
by the feeling that incarceration of persons adjudicated for DSOL based on fail- 
ure to satisfy obligations was too extreme a penalty. Recent legislation allowing 
relicensure 1 year aiter satisfying obligations for such offenders reflects this 
sentiment. One way to approach this problem involves innovative methods of 
collecting fines, court costs, and judgments. However, this solution does not ad- 
dress the root cause of the problem. The question should be asked: Is suspen- 
sion the appropriate penalty for failure to satisfy judgments, fines, or court 
costs, and is this penalty effective in terms of prompting payment of obligations? 
In addition, only payment of traffic fines, court costs, and judgments is tied to 
the driver's license; other such criminal penalties are not. Eliminating license 
suspension as a penalty for failing to satisfy obligations would reduce the num- 
ber of suspensions and DSOLs and would at the same time make consistent the 
penalty for failure to pay criminal and traffic fines, court costs, and judgments. 
Thus, it is recommended that the Subcommittee on Habitual Offenders consider 
the feasibility of pursuing innovative collection methods and changes in the 
penalty for failure to meet financial obligations. 
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INTRODUCTION 

A number of states have enacted statutes targeting motorists who repeatedly 
violate traffic laws. These "habitual offender" statutes seek to provide maximum 
safety for all drivers by denying the privilege of driving to persons convicted of spe- 
cified numbers and types of traffic offenses. Persons convicted as habitual offenders 
are subject to long-term license revocation, and those who violate this revocation 
may be incarcerated. 

In 1968, Virginia enacted one of the first habitual offender laws in the United 
States, preceded only by Colorado in 1953 and Delaware in 1958. The Virginia 
Traffic Safety Study Commission recommended the legislation in a report to the 
Governor and the General Assembly in 1967, stating its belief that there were many 
serious offenses that warranted permanent revocation of driving privileges. The 
Commission endorsed and recommended the passage of a modified version of a ha- 
bitual offender bill that had been drafted by the Virginia Association of Insurance 
Agents, Inc. 

Since the enactment of Virginia's Habitual Offender Act (the Act) more than 
20 years ago, there have been no published studies on its effectiveness in promoting 
traffic safety. Likewise, there has been no analysis of whether the sanctions im- 
posed by the Act have accomplished the objective of reducing the nmnber of crashes 
and convictions of persons adjudicated as habitual offenders. Due to the lack of in- 
formation concerning the Act's effectiveness, some members of the Advisory Corn- 



mittee to the Commission on VASAP urged the Committee's Subcommittee on 
Habitual Offenders to conduct a review of the Act. The Subcommittee requested 
that the Virginia Transportation Research Council (VTRC) study how the Act has 
affected traffic safety and identify possible problems associated with implementa- 
tion of the Act. 

The Act defines a habitual offender as any resident or nonresident whose 
driving record, as maintained by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DlVIV), 
shows an accumulation of 3 major offenses, 12 minor offenses, or a total of 12 major 
and minor offenses, all within a 10-year period. Major offenses include (1) volun- 
tary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle; 
(2) driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUD; (3) driving on a sus- 
pended or revoked license (DSOL); (4) perjury as to matters pertaining to the motor 
vehicle laws; (5) any felony involving the motor vehicle laws or the use of a motor vehicle; and (6) hit and run involving injury, death, or property damage in excess of 
$500. Minor offenses under the Act are those that require the DlVIV or authorize a 
court to suspend or revoke a driver's license for a period of 30 days or more. The 
court does not actually have to suspend or revoke a license in order for an offense to 
be counted toward habitual offender certification. 

Out-of-state convictions and convictions under local Virginia ordinances that 
substantially conform to the offenses listed in the Act are included for habitual 
offender status. In court proceedings, the burden of rebutting the presumption that 
an out-of-state or local conviction substantially conforms to the offenses included in 
the Act is placed on the defendant. 

Multiple offenses committed in a 6-hour period are counted as one offense, 
provided a driver has no prior violations qualifying under the Act. Once a driver 
has one or more chargeable convictions, all future convictions are counted separate- 
ly regardless of the time period in which they occurred. The Act also stipulates that 
the violations must be separate offenses arising out of separate acts. The test 
applied by the courts to determine whether there are separate acts sustaining sev- 
eral offenses is whether the same evidence is required to sustain them. 

Once a driver's record has been identified by the DMV as qualifying under 
the Act, the DMV must certify three abstracts of the convictions that counted to- 
ward the habitual offender certification to the Commonwealth's Attorney of the po- 
litical subdivision in which the person resides. In the case of a nonresident, the 
Commonwealth's Attorney of Richmond is sent the three abstracts. The abstract is 
prima facie evidence that the person was duly convicted. If a person denies any of 
the convictions on the abstract, he or she has the burden of proving that the ques- 
tioned information is incorrect. 

The Commonwealth's Attorney then has the discretion to pursue one of the 
following courses of action: 

I. to file an information against the certified driver in a court of jurisdiction 
(an information is an official criminal charge presented by the Common- 
wealth's Attorney without the interposition of a grand jury) 



2. not to file an'information (i.e., the Commonwealth's Attorney makes a de- 
cision not to pursue the adjudication of particular certified drivers) 

3. to ignore the certification (i.e., the Commonwealth's Attorney does not de- 
cide in favor or against pursuing adjudication). 

If an information is filed, a show cause order must be properly served upon 
the driver. If the driver is properly served, the circuit court can adjudicate the driv- 
er as a habitual offender or dismiss the case if the driver successfully rebuts the 
presumptions in the Act. In the case of nonresidents, the Commonwealth's Attorney 
of Richmond must file the information in the Circuit Court of Richmond. If the ac- 
cused is a prisoner in a state correctional facility, the locality where the person is 
confined is the jurisdiction for the habitual offender proceedings. 

The circuit court where the information is filed directs the person named in 
the abstract to show cause why he or she should not be barred from driving a motor 
vehicle in the Commonwealth. Copies of the show cause order and the abstract are 
served on the accused to provide notice of the proceedings. For nonresidents, ser- 
vice is made by leaving copies of the show cause order and the abstract with the 
Secretary of the Commonwealth, who subsequently mails the papers by certified or 
registered mail to the accused at his or her last known address. 

If the accused denies that he or she was convicted of one of the offenses that 
counted toward certification, a court may either settle the dispute with the avail- 
able evidence or certify the decision to the court where the disputed conviction oc- 
curred. The court to which the certification is made is directed to hold a hearing to 
decide the issue and send a copy of the findings to the adjudicating court. 

If the court finds that the accused is not the person named in the abstract or 
that the individual is not a habitual offender under the terms of the Act, the pro- 
ceedings are dismissed and the DMV is notified of these results. If the person is 
found to be a habitual offender, the court directs the person to surrender to the 
court his or her license to drive a motor vehicle. The court further orders the of- 
fender not to drive on the Commonwealth's highways. The clerk of the court is re- 
quired to file a copy of the order with the DMV. If the accused does not appear for 
the judicial proceedings after having been duly served, the clerk mails a copy of the 
court order to the offender's last known address.* 

In any case where the accused is charged with DSOL, the Act directs the 
court to determine whether the person is currently under a habitual offender revo- 
cation. If the court finds that the accused has been held to be a habitual offender, it 
certifies the case to a court of record for trial. Any person who is under a habitual 

*Throughout this paper, the authors refer to two groups of habitual offenders: 

1. Certified: those drivers whose driving records have been certified by DMV as qualifying them for habitual 
offender status yet who, for any of several reasons, have never appeared in court to be officially adjudicated. 
These individuals may or may not know that they have qualified to be habitual offenders. 

2. Adjudicated: those drivers whose driving records have been certified by DMV as qualifying them for ha- 
bitual offender status and who have appeared in court and have been declared by the court to be habitual 
offenders. 



offender revocation and is subsequently convicted of violating that order is confined 
to a state correctional facility for not less than 1 and not more than 5 years or con- 
fined in jail for 12 months. No part of the sentence may be suspended except any 
portion in excess of 1 year or where the accused drove in the case of an extreme 
emergency to save life or limb. The Act further states that a habitual offender may 
operate a farm tractor on the highways for agricultural purposes if the distance 
traveled is no more than 5 miles. 

Although the court order is for a permanent revocation, the offender may pe- 
tition the court for reinstatement after a 10-year period. The burden of persuasion 
is on the petitioner to show good cause why the revocation should be lifted. The 
court, at its discretion, may restore the person's driving privileges under whatever 
conditions it prescribes. 

There are three exceptions where the revocation period may be shortened. 
The first is for individuals who were adjudged to be habitual offenders based in part 
on findings of"not innocent" as juveniles. The offender may petition the court for a 
return of driving privileges after turning 18 years old. 

The second exception is for individuals adjudged habitual offenders based on 
at least one conviction for DUI. The most current version of the Act allows offend- 
ers to petition for a restricted license after 3 years and for full restoration after 
5 years. The court may reinstate the license provided that (1) the petitioner was 
psychologically dependent on or addicted to alcohol or drugs at the time of the pre- 
vious conviction; (2) the petitioner is not addicted to or psychologically dependent on 
alcohol or drugs at the time of the hearing; and (3) the petitioner is no longer per- 
ceived as a threat to himself or herself or the public while operating a motor vehicle. 

The third exception is for individuals who were found to be habitual offenders 
based on convictions for DSOL where the suspension violated was due either to a 
failure to pay fines or court costs; a failure to furnish proof of financial responsibil- 
ity; or a failure to satisfy a judgment, provided the judgment was paid before the 
petition was filed. If habitual offender status is based in part on such DSOLs, indi- 
viduals may petition the circuit court for license restoration after a 5-year period 
provided the court determines that the petitioner is no threat to himself or herself 
or others while operating a motor vehicle. As of July 1, 1993, if their adjudication 
was based solely on DSOLs resulting from nonpayment of fines, court costs, or judg- 
ments, the Act, as amended, will allow this group of offenders to petition for restora- 
tion 1 year after their financial obligations are satisfied. (See Appendix A for this 
and other recent amendments to the Act.) 

The Act provides for an appeal to the Virginia Court of Appeals from any fi- 
nal action entered under the Act. An appeal proceeds in the same manner as a 
criminal case even though the order adjudging a person a habitual offender is en- 
tered under a civil proceeding. 

Finally, the Act states that nothing in its construction shall be interpreted as 
amending, modifying, or repealing any existing law Or ordinance of Virginia or any 
political subdivision relating to the driving or licensing of motor vehicles, the licens- 



ing of persons to drive motor vehicles, or the penalties provided for violations. One 
such law coexisting with the Act is the Code section providing for the administra- 
tive revocation of a driver's license upon conviction of a "DUI third offense," which 
is a specific charge and not the same as three DUI convictions. 

In accordance with § 46.2-391, the DMV Commissioner is required to admin- 
istratively revoke a person's driving privilege for an indefinite period of time upon 
receipt of a conviction of"DUI third offense." The DMV does not, however, have the 
statutory authority to administratively impose an indefinite revocation based on a 
cumulative total of three convictions of DUI. 

Persons whose driving privilege was revoked administratively must petition 
the circuit court of their residence for restoration of driving privileges. This process 
is essentially the same as for habitual offenders adjudicated in whole or in part 
based on DUI convictions: Although the Code states that, under administrative re- 
vocation, the person may petition for restoration after a period of 10 years from the 
date of revocation, it also allows for restoration 5 years from the date of the last con- 
viction under the same conditions applying to habitual offenders with a previous 
DUI. The administrative revocation statute does differ from the Act, however, in 
that it does not allow for the granting of restricted driving privileges aider 3 years. 

LITERATURE REVIEW 

Three major studies evaluating the effectiveness of the habitual offender 
statutes in North Carolina, California, and Pennsylvania have been conducted and 
are reviewed here. These three studies indicated that very little impact of habitual 
offender programs has been documented in other states. However, none of these 
studies is definitive because of the limited time frames examined and the flawed ex- 
perimental designs employed. 

North Carolina 

Li and Waller (1975) conducted an evaluation of North Carolina's habitual 
offender statute•a law very similar to Virginia's. Under the statute, drivers accu- 
mulating either 3 major violations or 12 minor convictions (those that would result 
in a 30-day license suspension or revocation) within a 7-year period are subject to a 
5-year license revocation. Any person convicted of violating this revocation can be 
incarcerated for 1 to 5 years. 

Because some district attorneys did not take action on habitual offender re- 
ferrals, the records of a large group of pending cases existed that could be compared 
with those of habitual offenders who had been through the court system. The 
authors hypothesized that if the law was having the intended effect, the habitual 
offenders whose referrals had been acted on by the district attorneys should have 
better subsequent driving records than those who had not been through the courts. 



The study compared convictions and crashes for a 1- and a 2-year period after 
habitual offender certification. The authors found that no consistent significant dif- 
ferences existed between those cases processed through the court system and those 
on which no action was taken. They concluded that although the habitual offender 
law may serve as a deterrent to persons not yet qualifying for habitual offender sta- 
tus, the time and money put into the program could be better invested in other driv- 
er improvement activities. 

However, because the study was conducted only a few years after the habitu- 
al offender program was enacted and because only 2 years of subsequent driving re- 
cords were used in the statistical comparison, any effects of the legislation may not 
have yet been reflected by the data. The North Carolina legislature repealed the 
habitual offender law 1 year after the study was conducted. 

California 

Helander (1986) selected a sample of drivers to be evaluated from the group 
of drivers identified as habitual traffic offenders under California's original habitual 
traffic offender law, which was implemented in February 1984. Under the original 
statute, any driver with a suspended or revoked license was categorized as a habit- 
ual traffic offender when he or she accumulated 2 major convictions, 3 minor convic- 
tions, 3 crashes, or 3 instances of failure to appear in court during any 12-month 
period of disqualification. Mandatory penalties included 30 days in jail and a $500 
fine for a first offense and 180 days in jail and a $1,000 fine for a second or subse- 
quent offense. 

The study did not address whether the sanctions reduced the poor driving be- 
havior of persons identified as habitual traffic offenders but rather focused on the 
procedural problems associated with the implementation of the program. Most dis- 
trict attorneys refused to prosecute identified habitual traffic offenders because of 
concerns about "double jeopardy" and the lack of personnel to handle the caseload. 
During the first 9 months of the program, 13,725 habitual traffic offenders were 
identified, but the California DMV was notified of an intent to prosecute for only 
538 drivers•less than 4% of those identified. Only 21% of the 538 cases the district 
attorneys intended to prosecute actually resulted in a conviction, which resulted in 
an overall conviction rate of less than 1%. 

Since this study, the first-time offender frees have been doubled and drivers 
who are classified as habitual offenders under other Code sections (e.g., under DUI 
statutes) are now expressly covered. 

Pennsylvania 

Staplin (1989) investigated the effectiveness of Pennsylvania's habitual of- 
fender law, under which a person accumulating 3 major convictions within a 5-year 



period would be subject to a 5-year license revocation. Any additional convictions 
within this 5-year period could result in a revocation for an additional 2 years. 

Staplin compiled extensive data on habitual offenders extracted from the re- 
cords of the Pennsylvania DMV and also interviewed a sample of habitual offend- 
ers. The study concluded that the revocation had a limited deterrence value since 
75% of those drivers interviewed indicated that they continued to drive even after 
having their license revoked. The data did indicate that habitual offenders showed 
a sharp decline in the number of traffic violations after license revocation, although 
there was no control group to which a statistical comparison could be made to deter- 
mine whether it was the sanctions that produced the results or some other factor. 
The Pennsylvania legislature has not amended the habitual offender statute since 
the study was completed. 

PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

The initial purpose of this study was to answer a question commonly posed 
by legislators: Has the Act been effective? In particular, this study concentrated on 
the issues of whether the Act and its current method of implementation have had a 
positive impact on traffic safety in the Commonwealth. As the study progressed, 
additional questions arose concerning the exceptions to the Act's indefinite suspen- 
sionuparticularly the early restoration of license based on DUI convictions or on 
convictions for failure to satisfy financial obligations. This study further sought to 
determine what types of offenses typically result in an individual being certified as 

a habitual offender and whether certain types of offenses are more likely to result in 
an individual being later adjudged as a habitual offender. This study also investi- 
gated the demographic differences between those individuals merely certified as ha- 
bitual offenders and those both certified and adjudged as habitual offenders. 

This study also sought to answer questions commonly asked by legislators 
concerning the incarcerated population of habitual offenders. Specifically, this 
study sought to determine how many individuals had been incarcerated under the 
provisions of the Act as of a particular time, the typical offenses that resulted in 
their status as habitual offenders, and their demographic characteristics. 

Although the report includes an analysis of the statutes that exist in other 
states, the scope of the empirical portion of the study was limited to the actual and 
potential impact of the Act as it applies within the Commonwealth. This study was 
also limited by the amount and type of data that are maintained by the DMV and 
the Virginia Department of Corrections (DOC). For example, the DMV does not 
maintain a great deal of demographic data, such as an individual's race or educa- 
tional attainment. Moreover, it is not always possible to determine directly from 
DMV records what specific offenses triggered an individual's certification, adjudica- 
tion, or incarceration as a habitual offender. Likewise, if an individual was incar- 
cerated under the provisions of the Act but was also incarcerated for a more serious 
offense (e.g., armed robbery), the data maintained by the DOC would not identify 
the inmate as being a habitual offender. 



METHOD 

This study was conducted in four parts, investigating the following: 
1. how the habitual offender program operates 

2. how other states' habitual offender programs differ from Virginia's 

3. the impact of Virginia's Act on traffic safety 

4. the number and characteristics of incarcerated habitual offenders. 

How the Habitual Offender Program Operates 

In order to understand the operations of the Act, several legal analyses were 
conducted prior to an examination of the Act's impact. First, a review of the imple- 
mentation of the Act was conducted, based on the statutory and procedural require- 
ments outlined in the Code of Virginia and on discussions with DMV personnel in 
charge of habitual offender processing. Case law pertaining to the Act was then re- 
viewed (see Appendix B). Studies investigating the effectiveness of similar habitual 
offender programs in other states were then critically reviewed and summarized. 

How Other States' Habitual Offender Programs Differ from Virginia's 

Based on previous research, it was determined which states have habitual 
offender programs that are commensurate with Virginia's. This discrimination was 
based on one major element: the distinctive feature of Virginia's Act is the possible 
incarceration for a violation of the habitual offender revocation. The habitual of- 
fender statutes and program descriptions were solicited from the 19 other states 
whose habitual offender programs include these provisions for incarceration. 

Impact of Virginia's Act on Traffic Safety 

Given that the Act was designed to remove unsafe drivers from the highways, 
the most direct measure of the Act's effectiveness would be how many of those driv- 
ers who had their privilege to drive revoked no longer operated a motor vehicle. 
However, determining whether habitual offenders still drive is both methodological- 
ly and practically impossible. Instead, the performance measure chosen for this 
study was the effectiveness of the Act in reducing subsequent traffic crashes and 
offenses--its ultimate intent. Thus, even if those persons adjudicated under the Act 
continued to drive, albeit illegally, the Act would be considered effective if those ad- 
judicated became less of a traffic safety risk by driving less, driving more safely, or 
both. 



In order to carryout this study, the driving records of habitual offenders who 
had been certified under the Act but not adjudicated were compared with those of 
habitual offenders who had been both certified and adjudicated. Because many cer- 
tified habitual offenders are not brought to trial, an adequate sample of such driv- 
ers could be compared with a sample of those who were adjudicated by the court 
system and had their license revoked. 

Driver history data for both samples were obtained from the internal DMV 
%ranscript of record" printouts, which are the most comprehensive DMV driver his- 
tory records. The researchers initially hoped to draw a single sample of 25% of indi- 
viduals who were certified as habitual offenders by the DMV in 1986. Going back to 
1986 would allow individuals to be tracked for up to 5 years, during which time 
some of the cases would have been adjudicated and others would not. However, this 
proved to be impossible because the certification date is purged from the driver his- 
tory file once a certified habitual offender is adjudicated. Hence, DMV records can- 

not identify those habitual offenders certified in 1986 and later adjudicated. (As of 
December 1992, the DMV amended their procedures to retain this information.) In 
order to rectify this problem, a 25% sample of those certified in 1986 who had not 
yet been adjudicated by 1990 and a 25% sample of those who were adjudicated in 
1986 were selected. 

Once records of certified habitual offenders were examined, however, it be- 
came clear that it was a common practice for the DMV to recertify drivers as new 
convictions were recorded. In addition, in some cases, these recertified drivers were 
then adjudicated, thus placing them in the adjudicated group. These discrepancies 
in group membership could have been alleviated by restricting both the adjudicated 
and certified groups to drivers who had been certified only once. However, since the 
certification date and the record of certification are purged from the DMV record 
once a certified habitual offender has been adjudicated, it was impossible to identify 
recertified drivers in the adjudicated group. Since it was impossible to remove 
equivalent recertified drivers from both the adjudicated and certified groups, it was 
decided that recertified drivers would be included in the analysis. In addition, there 
were a few drivers who had been readjudicated, but because of their small number, 
they were left in the adjudicated group and not subjected to separate analysis. 
Thus, two groups of drivers were compared in this study: 

1. adjudicated: those drivers who had been certified and then adjudicated 
at least once 

2. certified: those drivers who had been certified at least once but were nev- 

er adjudicated. 

An obvious limitation of this sampling strategy was that the certified and ad- 
judicated groups did not represent a random sample of all drivers qualifying for ha- 
bitual offender status. That is, there are likely reasons why an individual might 
fall into one group or another. It might be the case that Commonwealth's Attorneys 
pursue adjudication against only the offenders they perceive to be the greatest 
threat or that the certified group is composed of a transient population that is more 



difficult to contact and; thus, cannot be served with a show cause order. Hence, it 
was necessary for the researchers to determine whether the two samples were com- 
parable in terms of their previous driving record prior to analyzing their subsequent 
driving behavior. 

Using a t test at the 0.05 significance level, the groups were compared on five 
variables: age, sex, number of prior convictions for DUI, number of prior convic- 
tions for DSOL, and number of prior convictions for minor violations under the Act. 
As Table 1 indicates, there were significant differences between the prior driving 
records of the certified and adjudicated groups. The adjudicated group had more 
previous DUI convictions than the certified group, but the certified group had more 
prior DSOL and minor violation convictions. There were no differences between the 
two groups in terms of age and sex. 

Because ofthe statistically significant differences between the prior records 
of the adjudicated and certified groups, a direct comparison of records was not ap- 
propriate. In order to compare the subsequent records, an analysis of variance (con- 
trolling for previous driving record) was used in order to adjust the data to make 
the prior driving records equivalent. Using prior driving record as a covariate tests 
the independent effect of adjudication by holding factors such as number of previous 
DUIs constant for the adjudicated and certified groups. 

The groups' subsequent records were compared on four variables: (1) number 
of subsequent convictions for DUI, (2) number of subsequent traffic events (i.e., 
crashes or violations resulting in a conviction), (3) number of subsequent crashes, 
and (4) number of days between adjudication or last certification date and the date 
of the first crash or the first traffic offense resulting in a conviction. For the certi- 
fied group, subsequent offenses are those that resulted in a conviction and were 
committed after the 1986 certification date listed on the driver history file. For the 
adjudicated group, subsequent offenses are those that resulted in a conviction and 
were committed after the adjudication date listed on the driver history file. 

Table 1 
PRIOR CONVICTIONS AND DEMOGRAPHIC CHARACTERISTICS: 

CERTIFIED VS. ADJUDICATED HABITUAL OFFENDERS 

Mean 

Variable C ertified Adjudicated T Significance 
Age 30.996 31.759 -1.41 N.S. 

(n 661) (n 611) 
Sex .051 .044 .61 N.S. 

(n 662) (n 613) 
DUI 1.631 1.940 -4.36 p < .01 

(n 662) (n 613) 
Minor violations 1.100 .936 2.40 p < .05 

(n 662) (n 613) 
DSOL 2.113 1.915 2.27 p < .05 

(n 662) (n 613) 
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Number and Characteristics of Incarcerated Habitual Offenders 

As mentioned previously, if an adjudicated habitual offender is convicted of 
driving aider the habitual offender revocation has been put into effect, he or she 
may be convicted of the felony violation of "operating after habitual offender revoca- 
tion," with a mandatory penalty of either a 12-month jail sentence or a 1- to 5-year 
prison sentence. In order to study the incarcerated population of habitual offend- 
ers, the VTRC staff initially requested that the DOC search its data base on impris- 
oned individuals, the Offender Based State Correctional Information System 
(OBSCIS), and provide information on all habitual offenders who were in prison on 

a specified date under the provisions of the Act. This approach was intended to pro- 
vide information on how many habitual offenders were in prison on a given day. 
Because only one offense code is provided in OBSCIS, a cross check of DMV driver 
history data would be necessary•to confirm that these offenders were incarcerated 
as a result of driving under habitual offender revocation. 

However, one problem in identifying incarcerated habitual offenders quickly 
surfaced. After working with the staff of the Department of Information Technolo- 
gy, the Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS), and the DOC, the 
researchers learned that since 1989, data specifically relating to habitual offenders 
who receive a 12-month jail sentence instead of a 1- to 5-year prison sentence have 
not been routinely maintained. Because individuals who are jailed for less than 1 
year are the financial responsibility of the locality, the DOC was no longer required 
to record data on those individuals. Thus, habitual offenders who received a jail 
sentence were not a part of the OBSCIS data base. 

To resolve this problem, the researchers first sought a way to identify jailed 
habitual offenders. The DOC maintains a financial data base, DCJ7, that is essen- 
tially a census of the jail population. However, prior to July 1, 1991, this data base 
did not include an inmate's social security number or any other form of individual 
identification. Since then, social security numbers have been recorded, along with 
some portions of inmates' names, usually the first two letters of the last name. To 
allow several months for the identification system in DCJ7 to be "debugged," 
September 1, 1991, was chosen for surveying both the jail and prison populations. 

There were a few limitations to using the OBSCIS and DCJ7 data. Because 
Virginia's prisons are overcrowded, some individuals who receive prison sentences 
are housed in jails. Thus, both the DOC's prison and jail data bases will include 
some inmates who should be in prison but are housed in a local jail. This double 
counting was easily eliminated, however, by searching for and removing cases with 
duplicate social security numbers from both the OBSCIS and DCJ7 files. 

In addition, the OBSCIS and DCJ7 data bases do not list individuals as ha- 
bitual offenders who are incarcerated under the provisions of the Act but are also 
incarcerated for a more serious offense (e.g., armed robbery). This is because only 
the most serious offense triggering the incarceration is coded on the offender's re- 
cord. This determination of severity is made based on the National Criminal Infor- 
mation Center Codes (NCIC). Interestingly, the NCIC defines a DUI charge as 
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more serious than a habitual offender charge. Thus, some habitual offenders might 
be listed as having been incarcerated for DUI instead of for a violation of the Act. 
For instance, a habitual offender caught driving drunk might be convicted of both a 
DUI and the felony offense of driving under habitual offender revocation. Since the 
felony charge is included with the NCIC code for habitual offender status, and since 
this offense is considered less severe than that for some other traffic offenses, a ha- 
bitual offender charged with any other offense that requires incarceration may not 
be coded as a habitual offender in OBCSIS or DCJ7. 

In order to address the issue, the entire class of incarcerated traffic offenders 
was cross checked with DMV records to determine which were incarcerated under 
the provisions of the Act. The VTRC requested that the DOC provide an electronic 
copy of both the prison and jail data to speed this analysis of traffic offender re- 
cords. 

Prior to the analysis of incarcerated habitual offenders, data were received 
from the DOC from the OBSCIC and DCJ7 data bases on all traffic offenders incar- 
cerated as of September 1, 1991. After the duplicate cases were removed, identify- 
ing information was then forwarded to the DMV, where the driving records of these 
individuals were accessed, printed, and returned. Two attempts about 6 weeks 
apart were made to access each DMV record. 

The driving history of each incarcerated traffic offender was then reviewed to 
determine in which of the following categories he or she belonged: 

Habitual offender with subsequent recorded convictions. If, according to 
the DMV record, the individual had been adjudicated and had subse- 
quently been convicted of a traffic violation or had been involved in a 
crash, he or she was classified as a habitual offender incarcerated for 
driving after adjudication. There were several subgroups of such con- 
firmed habitual offenders: 

those who were convicted only of the felony offense of driving after 
habitual offender adjudication 

those who were convicted of the felony offense and at least one other 
traffic offense occurring the same day (i.e., the traffic conviction plus 
their previous adjudication triggered the felony revoked conviction) 

those who were convicted of the felony offense but also had been con- 
victed of other postadjudication traffic offenses occurring on other 
days 

those who were convicted of postadjudicated traffic offenses other 
than the felony offense. 

Nonhabitual traffic offender. If, according to the DMV record, the person 
had not been adjudicated as a habitual offender at the time of his or her 
conviction for a violation that resulted in incarceration, he or she was 
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classified as a nonhabitual traffic offender. In these instances, the con- 

viction noted in the NCIC code entered by the DOC was compared to the 
DMV record to confirm which offense had resulted in incarceration. 

Habitual offender without subsequent recorded convictions. If the DOC 
data base listed an individual as an adjudicated habitual offender and 
the DMV record contained a habitual offender adjudication with no sub- 
sequent convictions that could result in the prison or jail sentence indi- 
cated on the DOC record, the individual was categorized as a habitual of- 
fender with an unconfirmed reason for incarceration. 

Only inmates whose DOC and DMV records confirmed that they were adjudicated 
and had qualifying postadjudication convictions were included in the analysis of in- 
carcerated habitual offenders. 

In addition to these categories, there were 124 individuals for whom DMV re- 

cords were not found. This was partially due to an artifact in record keeping. In 
the DCJ7 file, only the first two letters of the last name were recorded, along with 
the social secttrity number. If the social security number for these individuals was 

not properly recorded, there was no name to use to help locate the driving record. 
However, there were also some cases where full names were available and DMV re- 

cords were sought by name but could not be located. 

RESULTS 

How the Habitual Offender Program Operates 

As a first step, the procedures used in implementing Virginia's Act and their 
efficiency were reviewed. As noted previously, adjudication subsequent to habitual 
offender certification is by no means certain, and in some cases, the frequency of 
these outcomes is difficult to ascertain from DMV records. These outcomes are af- 
fected by the statutory and administrative procedures imposed on DMV and the 
Commonwealth's Attorneys. 

Outcomes of Habitual Offender Certification 

Since the Act was passed in 1968, the DMV has certified more than 61,000 
drivers as habitual offenders (see Table 2). Data available from the DMV show the 
number of drivers certified and adjudicated as habitual offenders annually and the 
number of drivers processed by the courts and found either to be or not to be habitu- 
al offenders. The number of cases in which the Commonwealth's Attorneys volun- 
tarily reported that they were unable to serve the driver with the show cause order 
is also shown, although many do not report on these cases. The data in this table 
do not account for all certified habitual offenders for several reasons: 
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Table 2 
VIRGINIA HABITUAL OFFENDER CERTIFICATION AND ADJUDICATION DATA• 

1969-1990 

Date 
No. No. Not Adjudicated No. Unable 

Certified Habitual Offender to Serve 
No. Adjudicated 

Habitual Offender 

1969 531 0 0 143 
1970 1,212 27 186 559 
1971 794 7 91 502 
1972 266 13 28 391 
1973 569 46 85 361 
1974 720 47 87 380 
1975 2,034 50 218 943 
1976 1,703 152 258 1,191 
1977 1,085 77 156 641 
1978 1,877 69 367 879 
1979 2,017 81 425 948 
1980 2,546 96 685 1,348 
1981 2,404 36 784 1,243 
1982 2,828 10 666 1,353 
1983 3,648 9 957 1,605 
1984 3,567 10 1,340 2,033 
1985 4,126 a a 2,116 
1986 4,417 (1,852) b 26 2,005 1,932 
1987 4,375 (1,808) 34 2,065 2,503 
1988 3,824 (1,851) 15 2,088 2,151 
1989 3,536 (1,418) 27 2,216 1,798 
1990 13,430 (1,247) 79 4,724 3,914 

Total 61,509 (8,176) 911 19,431 28,934 

Data unavailable. 
( recertified. 

lo There is no specific provision in the Act that requires the Commonwealth's 
Attorneys to notify the DMV when they have decided not to file an infor- 
mation or have simply ignored the certification due to a heavy caseload or 
another reason. Once an information is filed, however, if a show cause 
order has been duly served and the court has declared the driver a habit- 
ual offender, the clerk of court is required, under the Act, to file a copy of 
the order with DMV. Va. Code § 46.2-355 (1989). If the person has been 
found not to be a habitual offender, the clerk is also required to notify the 
DMV. Thus, the frequencies of other outcomes of certification are un- 
known. 

Commonwealth's Attorneys are not required to report to the DMV when a 

court is unable to serve the show cause order upon a certified driver. Cur- 
rently, if it has not heard anything within about 6 months, the DMV 
sends out letters to Commonwealth's Attorneys to find out what hap- 
pened .to the cases of certified individuals. Thus, since the only source of 
information on this category is the voluntary response by some Common- 
wealth's Attorneys, the number shown in Table 1 under the heading "un- 
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able to serve" represent the minimum number of cases in this category, 
but not necessarily all cases. 

The Commonwealth's Attorneys do not necessarily act immediately on cer- 
tifications, which may result in recertification by the DMV for each addi- 
tional offense incurred after the driver is certified. Thus, it is difficult to 
determine whether some of the numbers relating to such outcomes as 
"unable to locate" or "no action taken" actually represent double-counting 
of the same drivers who have been certified and recertified,. 

4. Drivers certified in a given year may be adjudicated in a subsequent year. 
Therefore, it is not possible to state in exact percentages the percentage 
of certified drivers who are adjudicated each year. Thus, although the 
number of habitual offenders adjudicated annually can be ascertained 
with certainty from DMV records, the other outcomes resulting from cer- 
tification cannot be determined with any degree of certainty. 

Even though the numbers on service of the show cause order shown in 
Table 2 represent the minimum number of cases, it is clear that failure to serve a 
show cause order is one of the major reasons a large number of those drivers certi- 
fied are never adjudicated. Given the substantial number of certified drivers in this 
category, it can be inferred that one of three things has occurred in each case: (1) 
an attempt was made to serve the driver with a show cause order but this was nev- 

er reported to the DMV; (2) the Commonwealth's Attorneys may have decided not to 
file an information after receiving the certification; or (3) the Commonwealth's At- 
torney may have delayed addressing the certification or ignored it for some other 
reason. 

The discretion of the Commonwealth's Attorneys is something that cannot be 
eliminated unless a statute is enacted requiring them to report all outcomes of certi- 
fication or allowing for the automatic declaration of drivers as habitual offenders 
accompanied by revocation of license through an administrative process outside the 
judicial system. Although a purely administrative process may be just as problem- 
atic (for reasons discussed in this report), the inability to serve drivers with a show 
cause order involves problems that are not necessarily insurmountable. 

Habitual Offender Service Requirements 
Service requirements for habitual offender adjudication are stricter than 

those for criminal penalties. According to § 8.01-296 of the Code of Virginia, a per- 
son may be served by either delivering a copy of the order in person or using a sub- 
stituted manner of service. These substituted methods include either delivering a 

copy of the order to a family member over 16 years of age who is found at the "usual 
place of abode" or posting a copy of the order on the main entrance of such place of 
abode and thereaiter mailing a copy of the order not less than 10 days before de- 
fault judgment may be entered. Va. Code § 8.01-296(2)(1991). However, service for 
habitual offender adjudication must be made in person. Regardless of these differ- 
ences, with any of these methods, not knowing the current residence of the certified 
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driver leads to the inability to comply with the statutory service requirements. Un- 
fortunately, since driver's license address changes are self-reported, there is little 
that the DMV can do in-house to make their records more current, outside of cross 
referencing their driver's license file with the vehicle registration file, in which ve- 
hicle owners' addresses are updated every 1 or 2 years. The DMV began cross refer- 
encing their files during 1992. 

Unlike Virginia residents, nonresidents may be served by leaving a copy of 
the order with the DMV Commissioner, along with a specified fee, and subsequently 
mailing the order by registered or certified mail to the driver at the last known ad- 
dress of the nonresident. Va. Code § 8.01-312 (1984). If no address can be ascer- 
tained with due diligence, serving the Commissioner of DMV without the mailing is 
sufficient. Va. Code § 8.01-313 (1991). Thus, the service requirements of Virginia's 
Act are actually less problematic when a nonresident driver is involved. 

Given the problems in service of certified habitual offenders and the exis- 
tence of the DMV's administrative sanctions for multiple DUI offenders, there has 
been some interest in altering the certification process. In this alteration, the judi- 
cial adjudication would be replaced by an administrative declaration similar to the 
process used in several other states. At first glance, this option appears to solve 
many of the administrative problems inherent in the current certification/adjudica- 
tion system, since offenders would automatically have their license revoked for an 
indefinite period of time upon receipt of the "triggering" conviction by the DMV. 
This process would certainly improve the DMV's position with relation to informa- 
tion concerning habitual offenders, since the agency could track every offender and 
would not be dependent on voluntary reporting by Commonwealth's Attorneys. 
However, many of the existing problems would be replicated in the new system. For 
instance, administratively declared habitual offenders must still be provided an ad- 
ministrative hearing, which would require additional DMV personnel and re- 

sources. Also, proof of service and a court adjudication would still be required be- 
fore additional penalties such as incarceration could be imposed. Obviously, the 
%eeth" of the habitual offender program is the threat of incarceration for driving 
under habitual offender revocation. The DMV's administrative revocation carries 
no additional penalty for driving during the revocation. Further, even if additional 
penalties could be imposed on administratively declared habitual offenders who vio- 
lated the revocation, they could use the defense that they were never served notice 
of the declaration. Thus, service requirements would still remain a problem, and 
administrative declaration in the absence of the offender would likely add little to 
the deterrent value of the program. 

Procedural Problems with Imposing the Felony Offense 

One final problem with the procedural requirements of the habitual offender 
laws concerns the imposition of the felony offense for driving after being declared a 
habitual offender. Even though the Act requires a judge to inquire into the habitual 
offender status of those charged with DSOL, the driver history records show that 
often those already declared habitual offenders are not convicted of the felony of- 
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fense. See Va. Code § 46.2-357 (1991). One reason for this could be a delay by the 
court clerk in filing a copy of the habitual offender order with the DMV or a delay 
by DMV personnel in entering the habitual offender order into the driver history 
file. In either case, when drivers commit offenses shortly after having been de- 
clared habitual offenders, the judge, in reviewing their driving records, may not be 
aware of their prior habitual offender adjudication. However, some driver records 
examined in this study indicate that even when judges may be aware of the habitu- 
al offender status of those before the court, as indicated by a longer time period be- 
tween the initial habitual offender adjudication and a subsequent offense, some ha- 
bitual offenders are not convicted of the felony offense. This phenomenon is 
discussed in a later section of this report. 

How Other States' Habitual Offender Programs Differ from Virginia's 

A number of states' "habitual offender" programs deal with less serious of- 
fenders and fall under the purview of a driver improvement program. These pro- 
grams are different from Virginia's habitual offender program and were excluded 
from this multistate comparison. The distinctive feature of Virginia's Act is the pos- 
sibility of incarceration for a violation of the habitual offender revocation. Nineteen 
states other than Virginia have attempted to deal with habitual violators by revok- 
ing driving privileges and instituting provisions for incarceration following a viola- 
tion of that revocation. 

In defining the type of offenses used in qualifying a driver for habitual of- 
fender status, Virginia's Act differentiates between major and minor offenses (see 
Table 3). Twelve other states also make a distinction between major and minor of- 
fenses, and 4 states have no provision for minor offenses. Montana's unique system 
of assigning points to weighted offenses includes all motor vehicle violations. Simi- 
larly, in California's system, offenses for the habitual offender law are counted only 
if (1) a person has been convicted for DSOL, and (2) the revocation or suspension is 
based on a conviction for DUI or negligent driving. Subsequent offenses are based 
on a point system with a large number of varying categories. 

Like Virginia, 14 states require 3 major offenses for being declared a habitual 
offender. Although Indiana's statute provides a category for 3 major offenses, it fur- 
ther designates a "most serious" category that requires only 2 convictions. Under 
this provision, 2 convictions of reckless homicide, manslaughter, hit and run caus- 
ing injury or death, or operation of a vehicle while intoxicated resulting in death 
can result in habitual offender declaration. Vermont requires 8 major offenses, and 
Wisconsin 4. California and Montana use a point system that varies in the number 
of offenses required, depending on the number of points assigned for each violation. 

The number of years in which the major offenses must be accumulated varies 
among the states from 3 to 10. Only Virginia and Indiana extend the time period to 
10 years. Colorado uses 7 years, Iowa uses 6, eleven other states use 5, and the re- 
maining four states use 3. Under California's system, the number of qualifying of- 
fenses are counted during the 12-month period after a specified triggering offense. 
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Table 3 
STATUTORY DEFINITION OF HABITUAL OFFENDER 

No. M•jor Within No. Minor Within 
State Offenses No. Years Offenses No. Years 

California a 

Colorado 3 7 10 5 
Delaware 3 5 10 3 
Florida 3 5 15 5 
Georgia 3 5 
Indiana 2 (most serious) 10 10 

3 (serious) 
Iowa 3 6 6 2 
Kansas 3 5 
Maine 3• 5 

--_ 
Massachusetts 3 5 12 5 
Montana b * 3 
New Hampshire 3 5 12 5 
Oregon 3 5 20 5 
Rhode Island 3 3 6 3 
South Carolina 3 3 10 3 
Tennessee 3 3 
Vermont 8 5 
Virginia 3 10 12 10 
Washington 3 5 20 5 
Wisconsin 4 5 12 5 

a Major offenses are counted only after a person has been convicted for DSOL where the revocation or 
suspension is based on a conviction for DUI or negligent driving. The number of qualifying offenses 
are counted during a 12-month period after specified offenses. 
b Weighted offenses in point system add up to 30 points. 

Of the twelve states that use major and minor offense categories, Virginia 
and three other states require 12 minor offenses, two states require 20, one state 
requires 15, four states require 10, and two states require only 6. As in the major 
offense category, only Virginia and Indiana extend the time period for minor offense 
accumulation to 10 years. Seven states use 5, three states use 3, and one state uses 
2. 

Table 4 lists the type of major offenses chargeable in each of the 20 states un- 
der a habitual offender statute. All states except California include DUI and failure 
of a driver to stop when involved in an accident resulting in death or injury. In 
Maine, a person will not be found to be a habitual offender when (1) all of the per- 
son's convictions are based on DSOL and the original suspension is based on a fail- 
ure to give or thereafter maintain proof of financial responsibility; (2) a driver is 
convicted of driving without a license and that license was not suspended or re- 
voked; or (3) a person is convicted of DSOL when the suspension is based on failure 
to appear in court or failure to pay a fine. Table 5 summarizes the major offenses 
most often listed and the number of states classifying an offense as a major viola- 
tion. Other offenses not listed include racing and passing a stopped school bus. 
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As can be seen in Table 6, the states are almost evenly split on the procedure 
followed in declaring a driver a habitual violator, with 11 states implementing an 
administrative process and 9 requiring court proceedings. Theprocedures used in 
states in which court action is taken resemble the process followed in Virginia, 
where the department in charge of motor vehicle records certifies a driver's record 
to a prosecutor, who in turn brings the action in a court proceeding. The states that 
require administrative action have varying procedures. Some states automatically 
revoke a driver's license after the threshold conviction, some provide a hearing aider 
the revocation, and others provide an administrative hearing before the revocation. 

Upon declaring a person a habitual offender, all states except California re- 
voke the individual's privilege to drive (see Table 7). Maine and Virginia impose in- 
definite revocations, and Indiana imposes a 10-year revocation. The remainder of 
the states vary the revocation from I to 6 years, with .5 years being, the most com- 

mon limit. In addition to license revocation, Delaware levies a fine of $100 to 
$1,000 and imposes an incarceration of 30 days to 12 months. Although California 
has no license revocation, upon finding a person a habitual offender, he or she is 
subject to a $1,000 fine and 30 days in jail. 

Once a person's privilege to drive has been revoked, additional penalties are imposed if this revocation is violated. As shown in Table 8, all 20 states included in 
this analysis impose incarceration, but some states further provide for fines and an 
additional revocation period. Indiana extends the violator's license suspension in- 
definitely if the initial revocation is violated. Montana extends the revocation 
period for an additional year. The imposition of a fine varies from $50 in Massachu- 
setts to a possible $100,000 in Oregon. The differences in the length of incarcera- 
tion among the states are numerous. Indiana and Washington have a system of 
graduated penalties depending on the number of times the habitual offender revo- 
cation is violated, but the remainder of the states provide a single penalty for each 
conviction. The most lenient incarceration length, 10 days, is imposed by Massa- 
chusetts and Washington upon the first subsequent conviction. Tennessee allows 
for the most stringent length, a possible 6-year prison term. The typical sentence is 
between I and 5 years, as is imposed in Virginia. 

As can be seen in Table 9, the states further provide different procedures for 
license restoration. California is the only state that does not list the applicable li- 
cense restoration process or cross reference any other relevant statutes. Of the re- 
maining states, 12 provide administrative procedures for the driver to regain his or 
her license, and 7 states, including Virginia, require the driver to petition the court 
for license restoration. 

It can be seen from this analysis that some of the 19 states' habitual offender 
programs are similar to Virginia's but that many states have approached the certifi- 
cation and adjudication of offenders differently. The alternate methods employed by 
other states may suggest potential changes in Virginia's program. 
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Table 5 
SUMMARY OF QU•NG OFFENSES a 

Major Offenses No. States 

DUI 
Hit and run (injury) 
DSOL 
Vehicular manslaughter/homicide 
Hit and run (property damage) 
Felony using a motor vehicle 
Negligent/reckless driving 
False affidavit/perjury 
Eluding police 
Driving without a license 

19 
19 
18 
17 
16 
14 
13 
11 
7 
7 

aExcluding California. 
Table 6 

PROCEDUB•S FOR ADJUDICATING/PROCESSING A HABITUAL OFFENDER 

Department Certifies/ 
State Court Convicts Administrative Action 

California 
• 

Colorado 

Delaware 

Florida 

Georgia 

Indiana 

Iowa 

Kansas 

Maine 

Massachusetts 

Montana 

New Hampshire 
Oregon 

Rhode Island 

South Carolina 

Tennessee 

Vermont 

Virginia 

Washington 

Wisconsin 

22 



Table 7 
PENALTIES FOR A HABITUAL OFFENDER UPON ADJUDICATION 

State Term of Revocation Fine Jail Term 

California $1,000 30 days 
Colorado 5 yr 
Delaware 5 yr major offense $100 to $1000 30 days to 12 mo 

3 yr minor offense 
Florida 5 yr Georgia 5 yr 
Indiana 10 yr major offense a 

5 yr minor offense 
Iowa 2-6 yr major offense 

i yr minor offense 
Kansas 3 yr 
Maine Indefinite 
Massachusetts 4 yr 
Montana 3 yr 
New Hampshire 1-4 yr Oregon 5yr 
Rhode Island l"5yr 
South Carolina 5 yr 
Tennessee 3 yr 
Vermont 2 yr Virginia Indefinite 
Washington 5 yr 
Wisconsin 5 yr 

aUpon petition for judicial review, a court may grant a probationary license. 
Table 8 

PENALTIES FOR DRIVING AFTER BEING DECLARED A HABITUAL OFFENDER 

State Revocation Fine Jail Term 

California a $2,000 180 days 
Colorado $1,000 2 yr 
Delaware 1-5 yr 
Florida -<1 yr Georgia $750 1-5 yr 
Indiana Indefinite 1st offense $10,000 b i 1/2 yr D Subsequent $10,000 4 yr 
Iowa $5,000 <2 yr 
Kansas $5,000 1-5 yr 
Maine -<5 yr 
Massachusetts $50-$100 -<10 days 
Montana 1 yr $1,000 -<1 yr 
New Hampshire 1-5 yr Oregon $100,000 5 yr 
Rhode Island <5 yr 
South Carolina 1-5 yr 
Tennessee $1,000 1-6 yr 
Vermont $5,000 <2 yr Virginia 1-5 yr Washington 1st offense $500 10 days-6 mo 

2nd offense $500 90 days-1 yr Subsequent $500 >1 yr 
Wisconsin $5,000 -<180 days 
 Within 7 years of prior conviction. 
A lesser penalty of a $500 fine and a prison term of not more than i year can be imposed at the dis- 

cretion of the court. 
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Table 9 
LICENSE RESTORATION PROCEDURES 

Mandatory Minlmllm Petition Action by Administrative 
State No. Years Court Agency 

California a 

Colorado 5 yr 

Delaware 5 yr • 

Florida I yr * 

Georgia 2 yr 

Indiana 10 yr mvjor offense • 

5 yr minor 

Iowa 2 yr major offense * 

I yr minor 

Kansas 3 yr • 

Maine I yr • 

Massachusetts 4 yr * 

Montana 3 yr • 

New Hampshire i yr • 

Oregon 5 yr * 

Rhode Island i yr • 

South Carolina 2 yr 

Tennessee 3 yr * 

Vermont 2 yr * 

Washington 2 yr 

Wisconsin 2 yr * 

Virginia I0 yr b * 

a License restoration procedure not listed or cross referenced. 
b Five years for full restoration or 3 years for a restricted license where one or more of the qualifying 
offenses was a DUI; 5 years if based in part on DSOLs where suspension was due to nonpayment of a 
financial obligation; I year if solely based on DSOLs due to such suspensions. 
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Impact of Virginia's Act on Traffic Safety 

General Findings 
As can be seen in Table 10, after the prior records of the groups were statisti- 

cally equated, the comparison of the subsequent driving records of the certified and 
adjudicated groups yielded the following information: 

1. The group of certified drivers had more subsequent convictions for DUI 
and for other traffic events than did the adjudicated group. 

2. The group of certified drivers had more subsequent traffic crashes than 
did the adjudicated group. 

3• The group of certified drivers did not remain conviction free and crash 
free as long as the adjudicated group. 

This type of post hoc analysis, although not definitive, suggests that the Act 
had a positive impact on traffic safety. An alternate explanation, however, has been 
posed to explain these findings. As mentioned previously, persons who are adjudi- 
cated as habitual offenders and are subsequently convicted of the felony offense 
may be sent to a local jail for 12 months or a state prison for 1 to 5 years. This is 
not true of persons who are merely certified. It has been hypothesized that the rea- 

son adjudicated drivers were found to have fewer subsequent convictions and 
crashes than certified drivers is that a number of adjudicated drivers were incarcer- 
ated during the data collection period and, thus, were physically prevented from 
driving and incurring convictions and crashes. In order to test this alternative 
explanation, those adjudicated drivers who had incurred a felony conviction were 
removed from the analysis. As seen in Table 11, with these drivers removed, the re- 
sults of this analysis still supported the finding that the Act had a positive impact 
on adjudicated drivers. 

Table 10 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES: CERTIFIKD (N 

ffi 
662) VS. ADJUDICATED (iV. 613) 

CONTROLLING FOR PREVIOUS DSOL VIOLATIONS, 
PREVIOUS DUIs, AND PREVIOUS MINOR VIOLATIONS 

Deviation from 
Grand Mean Significance Testing 

Offense Grand Mean Certified Adjudicated F a Significance 

DUI convictions .192 .04 -.05 11.56 p < .01 
Crashes .073 .03 -.04 18.35 p < .01 
Traffic events .809 .29 -.32 68.96 p < .01 
Days to event 1,116.78 -68.16 73.61 27.53 p < .01 

al degree of freedom. 
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Table 11 
SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES: CERTIF•J•D (N. 662) VS. ADJUDICATED (N 

- 
497) 

CONTROLLING FOR PREVIOUS DSOL VIOLATIONS, 
PREVIOUS DUIs, AND PREVIOUS MINOR VIOLATIONS 

(Excluding Possibly Incarcerated Offenders) 

Deviation from 
Grand Mean Significance Testing 

Offense Grand Mean Certified Adjudicated F a Significance 

DUI convictions .169 .07 -.09 33.92 p < .01 
Crashes .072 .03 -.04 19.98 p < .01 
Traffic events .745 .35 -.47 113.84 p < .01 
Days to event 1,165.57 -116.73 155.48 104.51 p < .01 

al degree of freedom. 

Impact on DUI Offenders 

Adjudicated Drivers 

As mentioned earlier, if a habitual offender adjudication is based on at least 
one DUI, restoration of a restricted license may be made after 3 years and complete 
restoration may be made after 5 years from the date of adjudication. Since this 
DUI exemption currently accounts for most early restorations, the impact of the Act 
on drivers whose previous DUI convictions contributed to their habitual offender 
adjudication was also investigated. 

First, it was necessary to examine the philosophy and intention of the statute 
with relation to DUI offenders. In general, there are two intended impacts of the 
statute: (1) to keep dangerous drivers off the road, and (2) to impose a penalty on 
drivers convicted of numerous traffic violations that would both punish offenders 
and deter potential offenders. 

The Virginia Court of Appeals has determined that the intent of the Act was 
followed by allowing certain DUI offenders to petition for reinstatement of their 
driver's license after only 5 years rather than 10. The court stated that this law 

distinguishes between a class of people who have suffered from the debilitative dis- 
eases of alcohol or drug addiction, but who have been cured, and a class of people who 
have violated the laws of the Commonwealth for no apparent reason. This statutory 
classification is based on the rationale that the unlawful acts of the alcoholics or drug 
addicts will stop when these individuals are cured of their chemical dependence. The 
rationale does not apply to individuals who, for no apparent reason, repeatedly and 
intentionally violate the law. Salama v. Commonwealth, 380 S.E.2d 433, 435 (Va. 
App. 1989). 

Several assumptions underlie the provisions of the DUI exemption. First, it 
is assumed that problem driving resulting from alcohol or drug addiction is a condi- 
tion that can be cured with treatment. Conversely, the exemption implies that 
problem driving not stemming from problem drinking or drug abuse (or as noted in 
Salama, violation of traffic laws for no apparent reason) cannot be cured. 
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Also, it assumes that if the alcohol-addicted habitual offender receives treat- 
ment, is no longer alcohol addicted, and has been under sanction for 3 to 5 years, he 
or she may no longer be at special risk for traffic crashes and convictions. However, 
since there is no exemption for non-DUI habitual traffic offenders and "noncured" 
DUI offenders, these other groups are still considered to be at special risk for at 
least 5 more years. Finally, the exemption seems to imply that a 3- to 5-year penal- 
ty is sufficient punishment for "cured" DUI habitual offenders and is a sufficient de- 
terrent for potential DUI offenders and that a 3- to 5-year penalty is not a sufficient 
punishment or deterrent for non-DUI traffic offenders. From what is known about 
alcohol addiction and problem drinking and driving, these hypotheses may require 
additional scrutiny. 

The ideal method to analyze whether early license restoration is warranted 
for DUI offenders would be to match drivers who petition and receive relicensure 
aiter 5 years with a randomly selected and demographically similar group of 
non-DUI traffic offenders who are also relicensed after 5 years. By comparing the 
two groups in terms of crashes and convictions during the 4 years following relicen- 
sure (what would have been the 6th through 10th years of their adjudication), it 
could be determined whether the DUI population was no longer at special risk for 
traffic accidents and convictions. If DUI offenders had significantly better driving 
records during the 6th through 10th year, their records would justify the early reli- 
censure denied other multiple traffic offenders. Obviously, for the purposes of this 
study, this definitive analysis was impossible. However, it was possible to compare 
records of DUI and non-DUI habitual offenders during the first 4 years of their re- 
vocation status. 

Table 12 compares the number of subsequent DUIs, number of subsequent 
crashes, and number of subsequent traffic events for drivers whose adjudication 
was based on at least one DUI with those drivers whose adjudication was not based 
on any DUIs. From these data it can be seen that there was only one significant 
difference in subsequent driving records between the two groups of adjudicated 
drivers--those with one or more DUIs had more traffic events in the 2nd year fol- 
lowing adjudication. There were no differences in any other category in any of the 
4 years or in the total numbers of convictions or crashes. Thus, in terms of driving 
behavior during the first 4 years after adjudication, habitual offenders with one or 

more DUIs were essentially similar to those with no DUIs. 

For the purposes of the Act, persons whose adjudication is based on one DUI 
combined with two other major violations are treated the same as those whose adju- 
dication is based on at least three DUIs. There is no previous research or data that 
support treating a driver with only one DUI as alcohol addicted. In addition, these 
data indicate that there is no rationale for treating habitual offenders with at least 
one previous DUI differently from those with no previous DUI. 

However, when the subsequent driving records of those persons whose adju- 
dication was based on three or more DUIs were compared with those having no 
DUI, there were significant differences (see Table 13). Drivers whose adjudication 
was based on three or more DUIs had more subsequent DUIs during the first 
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'4 years after adjudication. In terms of other convictions, there were no significant 
differences between the two groups. Although not definitive, these results do not 
support the early relicensing of habitual offenders whose adjudication was based on 
at least three DUI convictions. 

Adjudicated vs. Certified Drivers 
Another question pertaining to this DUI population is the effect of the Act on 

DUI offenders as opposed to non-DUI offenders. In order to answer this question, 
the subsequent driving records of adjudicated drivers were compared to those mere- 
ly certified for three groups: drivers whose adjudication or certification was based 
(1) solely on non-DUI traffic offenses, (2) on at least one DUI, and (3) on three or 

more DUIs. 

Interestingly, the.impact ofthe program on habitual offenders with one or 

more previous DUIs was very similar to the impact on those with no DUI (see 
Tables 14 and 15). For both groups, the adjudicated group had fewer subsequent 
traffic events than did the certified group in each of the 4 years and in total. The 
adjudicated drivers in both DUI groups also had fewer total subsequent crashes and 
remained crash free and conviction free longer than did certified drivers. Where the 
group with one or more previous DUIs differed from the no-DUI group was in terms 
of subsequent DUIs. The DUI-adjudicated group had fewer subsequent DUIs in the 
third year and fewer total DUIs than the DUI-certified group. This was not the 
case for the no-DUI group. This would indicate that the positive impact of the Act 
was similar for both groups except that adjudication resulted in fewer subsequent 
DUIs for the group with one or more previous DUIs on their record. 

Very different results are noted for those drivers whose adjudication was 
based on three or more DUIs. As seen in Table 16, there were no significant differ- 
ences between the number of subsequent DUIs, crashes, or traffic events accumu- 
lated by the adjudicated and certified groups who had three or more DUIs. Thus, 
although there was a significant positive effect of adjudication shown for drivers 
with no previous DUI and for those with at least one previous DUI, there was no 
positive effect shown for those drivers with three or more previous DUIs. This 
would indicate that the Act was not effective in reducing either the amount of driv- 
ing or the negative consequences of driving for drivers with three or more prior 
DUIs•the drivers who are the most likely to have a serious drinking problem. This 
finding suggests that persons with fewer than three DUIs contributing to their ad- 
judication may have benefited from the Act but the group with three or more DUIs 
did not. 

Number and Characteristics of Incarcerated Habitual Offenders 

As seen in Table 17, according to the DOC, 1,604 traffic offenders were in jail 
or prison on September 1, 1991. Of these, 864 were confirmed by DOC and DMV 
records to be incarcerated habitual offenders. A total of 646 of the confirmed incar- 
cerated habitual offenders had been convicted of the felony charge: 144 had been 
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Table 17 
NUMBER OF INCARCERATED TRAFFIC OFFENDERS 

AND THEIR CONVICTION CATEGORIES 

Category No. 

Habitual Offenders with Subsequent Recorded Convictions 
Felony only 
Felony plus another violation on same day 
Felony plus other violations on different days 
Other moving violations 
Nonmoving violations 

Habitual Offenders without Subsequent Recorded Convictions 
No DMV confirmation 
No DMV record 
No adjudication 

Nonhabitual Traffic Violators 
DUI 
DSOL 
Hit and run 
Moving violations 
Miscellaneous traffic offenses 
Reckless driving 
Nonmoving violations 
No DMV record 
No confirmation of traffic violation on record 

144 
137 
365 
190 
28 

280 
64 
11 

140 
35 
32 
29 
14 
6 
6 

62 
61 

Total 1,604 

convicted of the felony charge alone, 137 had been convicted of both the felony 
charge and at least one other violation on the same day, and 365 had been convicted 
of the felony charge but also had at least one other postadjudication conviction on a 
different day. The remaining 218 were not convicted of the felony offense: 190 were 
incarcerated for moving violations, and 28 were incarcerated for nonmoving viola- 
tions. There were an additional 355 for whom the reason for incarceration was un- 
confirmed. 

There were 385 individuals who were incarcerated for non-habitual offender 
traffic offenses. Of these, 140 were incarcerated for DUI offenses, 35 for DSOL, 32 
for hit and run, 29 for other moving violations, and 6 for reckless driving. 

Table 18 shows that the felony group and the group of habitual offenders in- 
carcerated due to other convictions were on average close to the same age•about 
35; however, habitual offenders without subsequent recorded convictions and non- 
habitual traffic offenders tended to be younger. In the felony group, those who were 
convicted only of the felony offense were significantly younger than those who had 
an additional postadjudication conviction. Confirmed incarcerated habitual offend- 
ers were more often male than were nonhabitual traffic offenders. Habitual offend- 
ers whose incarceration was triggered by something other than a felony conviction 
were more likely to be white than those whose incarceration was triggered by a 
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Table 18 
DEMOGRAPHIC CHARACTERISTICS OF INCARCERATED TRAFFIC OFFENDERS 

BY CONVICTION CATEGORY AND STUDY GROUP 

Study Group Average Age (Yr) 

1. Felony Offense 
mFO only 
mFO plus other violations on same day 
mFO plus other violations on different days 

2. Other Violations (Not FO) 
3. Unconfirmed Habitual Offenders 
4. Traffic Offenders (Not Habitual Offender) 

35.7 
33.7 
35.5 ×2FO 33.4, p < .01 
36.6 
35.5 
34.8 
31.6 

Study Group 

Sex 

Male (%) Female (%) 

1. Felony Offense 
mFO only 
mFO plus other violations on same day 
--FO plus other violations on different days 

2. Other Violations (Not FO) 
3. Unconfirmed Habitual Offenders 
4. Traffic Offenders (Not Habitual Offender) 

96.4 3.6 
94.4 5.6 
98.5 1.5 
96.4 3.6 
97.7 2.3 
96.6 3.4 
94.8 5.2 

Study Group 

Race 

White (%) Nonwhite (%) 

1. Felony Offense 
mFO only 
--FO plus other violations on same day 
--FO plus other violations on different days 

2. Other Violations (Not FO) 
3. Unconfirmed Habitual Offenders 
4. Traffic Offenders (Not Habitual Offender) 

56.2 43.8 
55.6 44.4 
60.6 39.4 
54.8 45.2 
67.4 32.6 
61.1 38.9 
64.9 35.1 

felony conviction. They were also slightly more likely to be white than were nonha- 
bitual traffic offenders. 

The length of sentence given to the different groups was then examined (see 
Table 19). Interestingly, the group of habitual offenders incarcerated due to an of- 
fense other than the felony offense tended to receive longer sentences than did the 
felony group. The question arose as to why this was the case. There were several 
possible explanations: 

I. The judges, Commonwealth's Attorneys, and enforcement personnel may 
have been unaware that the individual was a habitual offender. 

The judges and Commonwealth's Attorneys may have been aware of ha- 
bitual offender status but preferred to convict on or charge other offenses 
that did not require incarceration. 
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Table 19 
LENGTH OF SENTENCE FOR INCARCERATED TRAFFIC OFFENDERS 

BY CONVICTION CATEGORY 

Study Group Average Sentence (Days) 

1. Felony Offense 832 
--FO only 490 
--FO plus other violations on same day 513 
mFO plus other violations on different days 1,084 
Other Violations (Not FO) 907 
Unconfirmed Habitual Offenders 613 
Traffic Offenders (Not Habitual Offender) 304 

F 20.6; p < .01. 

The judges or Commonwealth's Attorneys may have convicted on or 
charged other offenses that had longer sentences. 

4• There may have been a combination of the above, in which judges and 
Commonwealth's Attorneys did not convict on or charge the felony offense 
and in which judges did not impose the maximum penalty for violation of 
habitual offender revocation unless more than one postadjudication con- 
viction had been accumulated. 

Although the first three hypotheses cannot be tested, the fourth can. The 
sentence length of habitual offenders with various numbers of recorded postadjudi- 
cation convictions is shown in Table 20. For each group, as the number of other 

Table 20 
RELATION BETWEEN SENTENCE LENGTH 

AND NUMBER OF POSTADJUDICATION CONVICTIONS 
(Confirmed Habitual Offenders Only) 

No. Postadjudication Convictions Average Sentence (Days) 

1. Felony Offense 832 
0 495 
1 589 
2 825 
3 909 
4 1,164 
5 or more 1,219 

Other Violations (Not FO) 907 
1 665 
2 967 
3 987 
4 1,112 
5 or more 1,191 

x2= 75.8; p < .01. 
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convictions increased, so did the average length of sentence. Those habitual offend- 
ers with a felony conviction (i.e., those with only one postadjudication conviction on 
their record) received an average of 495 days. Progressively longer sentences oc- 
curred as the number of postadjudication convictions increased. The same trend 
was seen for those habitual offenders incarcerated for convictions other than the 
felony offense, except that at each level, the sentence was significantly higher than 
that given to the felony group. 

DISCUSSION 

Nineteen states other than Virginia have enacted habitual offender legisla- 
tion_in which long-term license revocation may be imposed and any violation of that 
revocation may result in incarceration. The states are about evenly split between 
administratively and judicially declaring a driver a habitual offender. However, 
little or nothing can be said about the effectiveness of these programs in promoting 
traffic safety because so few studies have been conducted. Thus, even detailed com- 
parisons cannot produce a model program. Therefore, the remainder of this report 
concentrates on the positive and negative features of Virginia's Act. 

Procedural Problems 

DMV is responsible for certifying habitual offender records to the Common- 
wealth's Attorney in the locality in which the offender resides. Once received, how- 
ever, the Commonwealth's Attorney must report back to the DMV only cases in 
which an offender was adjudicated or the charges were dismissed. In cases where 
no action was taken, because either service of the show cause order could not be 
made or the case was not pursued, the DMV was notified only voluntarily. Thus, 
the DMV, as the central agency responsible for the program's operation, does not 
have information on the number of cases in progress and has no authority to inves- 
tigate the outcome of cases. Also, the Commonwealth's Attorneys are under no obli- 
gation to pursue habitual offender adjudications. 

Inability to serve the show cause order is a major reason for the inactivity 
among outstanding cases. An incorrect address makes compliance with service re- 
quirements difficult. Since many addresses in the driver history file may change in 
a given year, and since voluntary reporting of an address change tends to be low, 
service of driver-related documents such as the show cause order can be extremely 
difficult. 

Another procedural problem involves the imposition of the felony offense for 
driving aider adjudication. In many cases, even though the judge is required to 
check into the habitual offender status of the offender, many persons driving after 
adjudication are not convicted of the felony offense. Some judges may feel that in- 
carceration is too severe and, thus, may not impose it unless an individual has more 
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than one postadjudication conviction. In addition, if there is a delay in the clerk's 
filing copies of the habitual offender orders with the DMV, or the posting at the 
DMV is delayed, the adjudication may not be included on the copy of the driver his- 
tory record that a judge sees. 

A third procedural problem involves record keeping. Early return of driving 
privileges is granted to two groups of habitual offenders. Individuals whose adjudi- 
cation was based on at least one DUI are allowed to apply for restoration for a re- 
stricted license after 3 years and for full restoration aider 5 years. Those whose ad- 
judication was based in part on DSOL where the suspension violated was for failure 
to satisfy financial obligations may apply for restoration of their license aider 
5 years, or as of July 1, 1993, if the adjudication was based solely on DSOL where 
the suspension was for failure satisfy obligations, I year after all obligations are 
satisfied. It is easy to determine whether individuals have a DUI on their record. 
However, convictions for DSOL are not expressly connected to the reason for the 
suspension in DMV records. Further, once an obligation is satisfied, reference to 
the original suspension is deleted from the record after 2 years. Thus, it is often im- 
possible for the DMV to confirm whether an individual falls into the DSOL waiver 
group. An additional problem with this DSOL group arises when a driver convicted 
for DSOL has several outstanding suspensions in effect concurrently. If a driver 
has two suspensions, one for a moving violation and one for failure to satisfy obliga- 
tions and subsequently receives three DSOL convictions and is adjudicated a habit- 
ual offender, is he or she considered to be violating the suspension for the moving 
violation or for the failure to satisfy obligations? Since it is common to have multi- 
ple suspensions in effect, the DMV should develop a system to record which suspen- 
sions were active during each DSOL violation. 

Impact of Virginia's Act on Traffic Safety 

General Impact 

After comparing the adjudicated and certified groups on convictions that re- 
sulted in their certification, it was noted that the adjudicated group had significant- 
ly more DUIs than the certified group and that the certified group had more DSOLs 
and prior traffic convictions. After controlling for differences in previous records be- 
tween the two groups, the certified group had more DUI and traffic convictions, 
more crashes, and fewer days between certification and their next crash or offense. 
A possible explanation for these results is that some of the adjudicated habitual of- 
fenders may have been incarcerated for violating the habitual offender revocation 
and would naturally have fewer driving events. After this factor was controlled for, 
the certified group still had worse subsequent driving records than did adjudicated 
offenders. Thus, the habitual offender program appears to have had a positive ef- 
fect on the driving behavior of adjudicated drivers. 
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Impact on DUI Offenders 

Habitual offenders whose adjudication was based on at least one DUI can pe- 
tition for a restricted license after 3 years if they were alcohol addicted at the time 
of their preadjudication offenses, if they are no longer alcohol addicted, and if the 
court determines they are no longer a threat to the public safety. However, com- pared to habitual offenders whose previous driving record contained no DUI, those 
whose adjudication was based on three or more DUIs had more DUIs during their 
third year of revocation and more total DUIs during the first 4 years of revocation. 
Thus, the group that could have been relicensed during the fourth year of this study 
actually had worse driving records than those who were not eligible for relicensure. 
In addition, adjudication had no significant impact on improving the record of driv- 
ers with three or more DUIs prior to adjudication. Theoretically, this problem 
should be alleviated by the three statutory requirements for restoration. Unfortu- 
nately, until recently, judges have not been given specific guidelines on how to de- 
termine if these requirements have been met. Thus, it is possible that some habitu- 
al offenders who still pose a threat to public safety are being relicensed based on the 
DUI waiver. 

Number and Characteristics of Incarcerated Habitual Offenders 

Of the incarcerated habitual offenders, 365 had been convicted of at least one 
other postadjudication violation prior to the one for which they were incarcerated. 
Another 190 were not convicted for the felony offense but were incarcerated for 
another moving violation. Thus, it is clear from these data that habitual offenders 
who are caught driving after adjudication are not always convicted of the felony of- 
fense and are not always incarcerated as the result of their first postadjudication 
offense. 

Finally, one of the questions most often asked concerning incarcerated habit- 
ual offenders is: How many were declared habitual offenders because they drove 
after being suspended for not satisfying financial obligations? There have been con- 

cerns, therefore, that incarcerating this type of habitual offender is in essence creat- 
ing a debtors' prison. However, once a driver suspended for nonpayment makes res- 
titution, all reference to the suspension is removed from his or her driving record 
after 2 years. Thus, if the judgment was paid, there may be no way to know if the 
original suspension was based on nonpayment and no way to determine if incarcer- 
ated drivers were adjudicated based on DSOLs that resulted from suspensions for 
failure to satisfy obligations. 

In light of concerns regarding the administration and effects of incarcerating 
habitual offenders, alternative forms of punishment may be worthy of further study. 
Three such alternatives are vehicle confiscation/impoundment, house arrest, and 
use of ignition interlocks. 

1. Vehicle confiscation Virginia has a history of enforcing 
confiscation of vehicles for DSOL offenses. A forfeiture statute was passed in 1972 
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and repealed in 1989 that required mandatory forfeiture of a vehicle of any person 
convicted ofDSOL. Va. Code § 46.1-351.1 (1972). The forfeiture program was 
time-consuming to administer, and costs for processing, storage, and public auction 
of vehicles were not offset by the proceeds from the sale of those vehicles (Wetsel, 
1975). Jointly owned vehicles were routinely returned and those not fully owned by 
the driver were returned to the lien holder, who had no legal recourse but to return 
the vehicle to the owner/driver. Thus, the only persons against whom this forfeiture 
would legally work were offenders who owned their vehicles free and clear, a small 
percentage of the offender population. In addition to these problems, a majority of 
Commonwealth's Attorneys and law enforcement personnel believed the statute was 
too strict, had no deterrent value, and thus resulted in low enforcement of the stat- 
ute (Wetsel, 1975). 

Although forfeiture clearly raises many problems, impoundment for a limited 
period would be less costly to administer, require fewer court proceedings than con- 
fiscation, encroach on fewer property rights, and apply to all vehicles, not just those 
wholly owned by offenders. Several Canadian provinces currently have impound- 
ment programs for persons driving under suspension or revocation. Alberta and 
Manitoba impound all vehicles driven atter revocation for 30 days for the first of- 
fense. Manitoba also requires impoundment for 60 days if the owner has had two or 

more vehicles seized within 2 years ("Manitoba amends," 1991). Under these pro- 
grams, if the joint owners of the vehicle or the individuals who have loaned the ve- 
hicle to the driver can prove that they were unaware that the driver's license had 
been revoked, they can get their vehicle back. This provision for "innocent owners" 
is necessary to prevent infringing on their due process rights. To show that they are 

unaware of the driver's suspended license, Manitoba owners must show that they 
could not have known about the suspension. Thus, this defense may be difficult to 
prove if they are members of the same household. Obviously, this defense can be 
used only once. 

Overall, impoundment may be a better option than forfeiture. However, even 
though it is a lesser burden, impo•m_•_ment still imposes extra costs on the system 
because of the required hearings for innocent owners, as well as the costs of towing, 
processing, and storing. Therefore, the second alternative of house arrest, which is 
already in effect in Virginia, may be a better option. 

2. House arrest. The DCJS has funded 10 local house arrest, or electronic 
monitoring, programs. The funding for these consists of a one-time start-up grant, 
aider which the programs become self-sustaining. All programs are operated by the 
Sheriff's Office in the particular locality or are administered jointly by the county 
government and Division of Court Services. Statutory authorization for electronic 
monitoring programs is granted in Va. Code § 53.1-131. 

The programs in Virginia employ three systems and methods of administra- 
tion (Kuplinski, 1990). The first type is a passive system, consisting of random or 
scheduled computer-generated telephone calls to which an offender responds by in- 
serting a bracelet into a verifier attached to the telephone line (or by activating a 
visual monitor). The second type is an active system, which involves continuous 
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contact between a transmitter worn by the offender and a receiving unit attached to 
the telephone line. Whenever such comm•_mication is broken, the receiving unit in- 
forms a central computer. The third system is a combination of the other two, pri- 
marily using the active mode but invoking the passive mode when the active com- 
munication link is broken. 

With all of the programs, the computer monitoring is supplemented with 
home or job visits, telephone calls, and weekly office visits. In addition, depending 
on their history, some offenders may be required to submit to periodic alcohol or 
drug testing. The offenders placed in electronic monitoring programs pay a fee that 
varies from $5 to $10 per day (Kuplinski, 1990). 

Offenders are selected for the programs by various methods. Some are 
placed in the program by judges immediately upon sentencing, and others enter the 
program after serving time in jail or prison and are selected byU.S, Bureau of 
Prisons personnel or probation, program, or jail personnel. Most programs attempt 
to select offenders already participating in minimum security programs, such as 
work release. Factors considered when selecting offenders for the program include 
the offenders' prior records, circumstances of the offenses, jail files, and personal in- 
terviews. 

Traffic offenders already constitute a significant portion of the total offenders 
in the electronic monitoring program. Of 373 offenders involved in electronic moni- 
toring programs from 1986 until the evaluation report was written in 1990, traffic 
offenders comprised 36.7% of those in the program, for a total of 137 cases. Of 
these, 87 were DUI offenders, 20 were convicted for DSOL, and 16 were habitual 
offenders convicted for driving after being adjudicated (Kuplinski, 1990). 

Overall, electronic monitoring has been successful, with only 9.9% of all pro- 
gram participants terminated unsuccessfully. The most common reasons for these 
terminations include the use of drugs or alcohol, deviation from their schedule, fail- 
ure to report change in work status, or failure to answer their telephone. 

One of the major reasons for implementing electronic monitoring of offenders, 
along with preventing prison and jail overcrowding, is its cost-effectiveness com- 
pared to the costs of incarceration in jails and prisons. According to the 1990 DCJS 
evaluation, the average cost for the programs in use in Virginia, including equip- 
ment costs, supplies, and personnel expenses, ranged from $9.25 per day to $29.22 
per day. When one-time expenses such as equipment purchases were excluded, the 
estimated daffy costs dropped to $3.75 per day to $20.69 per day (Kuplinski, 1990). 
The difference between these two estimates results from differences in program re- 
quirements, number of offenders, number of days in the program, different monitor- 
ing equipment costs, and whether full-time staff was needed to administer the pro- 
gran• In comparison, the average cost of traditional incarceration in these 
localities ranged from $15.00 per day to $43.20 per day. This differential between 
jail costs and electronic monitoring costs, when multiplied by the number of days in 
each program, resulted in a total savings of between $10,272 to $256,607 
(Kuplinski, 1990). 
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In addition to the direct operating cost savings, there may be indirect cost 
savings with electronic monitoring as opposed to incarceration. Along with paying 
for a portion of the operating costs through a daily fee, offenders can contribute to 
the support of their family if allowed to continue their employment, which could 
save the state welfare costs the offenders' family might otherwise require (Latessa, 
1986). Also, employed offenders in the program continue to pay taxes. Finally, 
house arrest programs may be "socially cost-effective" since they alleviate the psy- 
chological and physical disruption that results from breaking up the offender's fami- 
ly, the possibility of losing a job, or the possibility of being stigmatized by carrying 
out a jail or prison sentence (Petersilia, 1986). 

There are concerns with the electronic monitoring programs that should also 
be addressed. The major concern is that these types of programs could have a 
"net-widening" effect. The fear is that defendants are placed in the program who 
Would have been treated less-punitively in the absence of the program (Kuplinski, 
1990). Electronic monitoring is intended to be an alternative to jail or prison ac- 
cording to § 53.1-131.2, rather than an additional form of probation. Because of the 
wide discretion judges enjoy in sentencing, it would be difficult to determine how 
often this net-widening occurs. If procedures outlined in the current Virginia stat- 
ute continue to be followed by judges, this problem might not occur. However, since 
there is evidence that judges often do not incarcerate habitual offenders the first 
time they violate their habitual offender revocation, some net-widening might occur. 

A second concern is that electronic monitoring used in place of incarceration 
may compromise the goal of public safety. However, since only offenders who pose 
the least risk are chosen for these programs, this concern should be minimal. Also, 
with regard to traffic offenders specifically, these programs may be particularly ap- 
propriate since they keep offenders at home and away from their automobiles and 
would be effective in preventing future traffic offenses (Petersilia, 1986). 

There have been a few legal concerns regarding whether electronic monitor- 
ing is an unlawful intrusion by the government into the privacy of the home. 
However, this concern is generally dismissed rather easily since these programs are 
considered alternatives to incarceration, which is surely much more intrusive in 
terms of an individual's privacy rights (Del Carmen & Vaughn, 1986). If an offend- 
er does not agree, he or she may choose the incarceration option. 

A final concern is that these programs raise possible equal protection issues. 
Because of the daffy fee an offender must pay, some argue that those eligible for the 
programs may be disproportionately white collar offenders. This problem is cur- 
rently being resolved in Virginia by using a "sliding scale" fee schedule for offenders 
based on their ability to pay.* 

Overall, the benefits of using electronic monitoring of offenders seem to out- 
weigh any of the concerns that have been raised. With regard to traffic offenders, 
as long as the offender does not have access to his or her automobile, specific deter- 
rence is accomplished. Also, since administering electronic monitoring programs is 

*Telephone conversation with Daniel Catly, DOS, October 30, 1992. 
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less costly than incarceration, and many traffic offenders are already involved in 
these programs, expanding the house arrest program to include habitual offenders 
who would otherwise be incarcerated may be a viable option. 

3. Use of ignition interlocks. Another possible alternative to incarceration 
could be directed specifically at habitual offenders whose adjudication or postadju- 
dication offenses were based wholly or in part on DUI convictions. An interlock 
device requires the driver to blow into a hand-held unit that measures the blood al- 
cohol concentration (BAC) of the breath sample prior to starting his or her vehicle. 
If the BAC is lower than a prescribed level, the driver can start the vehicle. If not, 
the device activates the ignition interlock, preventing the vehicle from being started 
(Wilson & Stoke, 1990). An ignition interlock program could be used in conjunction 
with probation or electronic monitoring to ensure that offenders no longer drive un- 
der the influence. Several states operate ignition interlock programs, as a supple- 
ment to probation or restricted licensing for DUI offenders. In such programs, 
when the DMV is notified of a DUI conviction, an offender may receive a restricted 
license only if he or she submits proof of installation of the interlock device to the 
DMV. Offenders generally pay the purchase or lease price of the equipment, as well 
as installation and service costs. Some states provide a fund for indigent offenders 
who cannot afford the devices, and others reduce the DUI fines to offset the costs. 

There are several possible problems with the use of ignition interlock devices. 
For example, some devices require that the driver be retested after a specified peri- 
od of time, and there is concern about the safety of retesting while a vehicle is being 
operated. In addition, there are various concerns about possible circumvention of 
the interlock device, such as storing alcohol-free breath samples in containers, us- 
ing filtering material, leaving the vehicle idling while the driver is drinking, or hav- 
ing another person give the breath sample (Wilson & Stoke, 1990). This last meth- 
od of circumvention can be lessened somewhat by requiring a personal identifica- 
tion number to initiate the test and by making it a misdemeanor to assist in circum- 
venting the device. 

Overall, the administrative costs of such a program would be low, and al- 
though the use of the devices could not perfectly ensure that drivers would not cir- 
cumvent the process, the devices would result in improved deterrence. 

RECOMMENDATIONS 

The recommendations following from this research fall into two categories: 
(1) procedures and record keeping and (2) program development. 

Procedures and Record Keeping 

One of the major findings of this report is that although the Act has a posi- 
tive impact on the driving records of adjudicated drivers, a large number of drivers 



certified by the DMV to be habitual offenders are not adjudicated. The following 
recommendations address the need to implement the habitual offender program 
uniformly. 

1. The DMV should support legislation requiring Commonwealth's Attorneys 
to report the status of all certified habitual offender cases to the DMV after 
a period of 6 months. Although the DMV is the central agency responsi- 
ble for administering the habitual offender program, the agency is not re- 

ceiving enough information to manage cases. Further, the DMV has no 
authority or ability to encourage Commonwealth's Attorneys to adjudi- 
cate habitual offenders. Since Commonwealth's Attorneys must report 
only on adjudications and dismissals, the DMV cannot accurately state 
the status of certified drivers' cases. That is, the DMV does not know 
whether these cases have been or will be pursued. The DMV currently 
sends a letter to Commonwealth's Attorneys to ascertain what happened 
to these certified individuals if they have not heard from the Common- 
wealth's Attorney within about 6 months from the time of certification. If 
Commonwealth's Attorneys were required to report on cases where ser- 

vice was unsuccessfully attempted, perhaps the DMV could pursue addi- 
tional information on the offender. Also, reporting on the status of all 
cases might encourage Commonwealth's Attorneys to give habitual of- 
fender prosecution a higher priority, although more stringent means 
might be necessary to see that service is at least attempted in all cases. 

2. Now that the process that triggers habitual offender certification is auto- 
mated, the DMV should begin keeping additional information on certified 
habitual offenders to promote efficient case management and prompt ad- 
judication of all offenders. For instance, case status and service history 
might be recorded. Also, better and more current addresses may be 
available for offenders from the DMV vehicle file or from other state 
agencies. The most promising state agency for the purpose is the Depart- 
ment of Taxation; however, that department is prohibited by law from re- 
leasing address information. As of September 1, 1992, DMV began ac- 
cessing address data from Virginia Employment Commission files, and as 
of July 1, 1993, the DMV should be able to access address data from its 
vehicle file. 

3, The Subcommittee on Habitual Offenders should look into the possibility 
of amending service requirements for habitual offenders so that offenders 
who avoid service would be less likely to avoid adjudication at the same 
time. Service requirements for habitual offenders are similar to those for 
individuals called to court for other reasons; however, there are essential- 
ly no penalties for avoiding service in the case of habitual offenders, and 
in fact, there are incentives. In the case of other court matters, individu- 
als who avoid service will likely be pursued further, and in cases where 
offenders are nonresidents of the state, the circuit court can take action 
in the absence of the individual. However, for the habitual offender, once 
service is avoided, almost no additional pursuit will follow until the indi- 



vidual commits another traffic violation and is recertified. Innovative 
methods for serving show cause orders on habitual offenders have al- 
ready been suggested, such as serving the certified individual at the local 
DMV office when he or she initiates a title or license transaction. The 
Subcommittee should develop a series of recommendations supporting in- 
novative methods of serving certified habitual offenders. 

The DMV should consider amending the driver history file to include all 
suspensions in the driver history file and to indicate when the suspension 
is ended, rather than purging it from the records. Since DMV purges in- 
formation regarding suspensions after 2 years and since the courts often 
do not indicate whether suspensions are for failure to satisfy obligations, 
the DMV often cannot verify cases in which an individual convicted of 
DSOL was suspended for failure to satisfy obligations. Thus, any habitu- 
al offender whose adjudication was based on DSOLs might claim the 
waiver. 

The DMV should develop a system to record which suspensions were ac- 
tive during each DSOL violation. In the current records, it is very diffi- 
cult to relate DSOLs to a particular suspension. This is especially true 
since courts often do not provide information concerning which suspen- 
sions trigger the DSOLs. This information is important in cases where a 
DSOL offender has several concurrent suspensions on his or her record. 
In addition, other penalties such as community service, fines, and incar- 
ceration are not listed in the driver record. If court-imposed sanctions 
are designed to remediate drivers' behavior, then a history of previous 
sanctions is necessary for judges to impose appropriate penalties. Since 
many courts have access to automated records systems and in many 
cases are already linked to centralized files, court clerks could record pen- 
alty information along with case outcome. A study of the feasibility of 
amending the driver history file to link DSOL convictions to suspensions 
and include penalties should be initiated. Such a study should also 
prioritize suspensions in the event a driver is under more than one sus- 
pension when convicted of a DSOL violation. 

Judges as well as Commonwealth's Attorneys should be informed of the 
effectiveness of habitual offender adjudication in enhancing traffic safety 
in an attempt to improve implementation of the Act. 

Program Development 

Although this study has shown that the current habitual offender program is 
having a positive impact on adjudicated drivers, there are other enhancements that 
can be made in the program that might increase its impact. 

1. Precertification options should be developed to deter individuals who are 

one conviction away from certification from committing another offense. 



As the program stands, there are only four components--certification, ad- 
judication, violation of and penalty for driving on habitual offender revo- 
cation (i.e., incarceration), and license restoration. Other components 
might improve the program's deterrent effect. For instance, anecdotal ev- 
idence indicates that there are a number of potential habitual offenders 
who are unaware of the consequences of further violation of traffic laws. 
A warning letter for these individuals, one that they might not avoid the 
way they do the show cause order, could inform persons who are one 
qualififing offense away from certification of their impending habitual of- 
fender status. Warning letters have been shown to be moderately effec- 
tive in a number of instances in affecting driving behavior. The letter 
could be computer generated and would be a very low-cost program com- 
ponent. Another more proactive approach to averting habitual offender 
qualification would be the issuance of a restricted license to drivers after 
their conviction for a second qualifying offense. Having to forfeit their 
full privilege to drive could underscore the seriousness of their position. 
In addition, if the restriction of driving privileges were accompanied by 
some other means of intervention, such as counseling or supervised pro- 
bation, driving behaviors might be changed before the individual official- 
ly became a habitual offender. 

Minor violations that are more closely related to driving behavior than are 
current violations should be developed. If a more meaningful set of minor 
violations were adopted, one that was more strongly related to driving be- 
havior, this portion of the program might have more impact. As part of 
this study, the driving records of many habitual offenders were examined. 
It was found that the vast majority were certified based on 3 major of- 
fenses. In none of the cases examined did the driver qualify for habitual 
offender status based on 12 minor violations, and only a few qualified 
based on a combination of 12 major and minor convictions. This was felt 
to be due, in part, to the somewhat esoteric nature of many of the minor 
violations. 

Minor violations are defined as any nonmajor violation for which a 
30-day suspension is mandatory. The current minor violations are as fol- 
lows: 

• Fraudulent use of a driver's license (46.2-347) 
• Fraudulent application for license•Felony (A46.2-348) 
• Fraudulent application for license---Misd. (B46.2-348) 
• Knowingly operating an uninsured motor vehicle (A46.2-707) 
• Permitting operation of an uninsured motor vehicle (A46.2-707) 
• Uninsured motor vehicle--previous action (D46.2-707) 
• Stopping vehicle of another, blocking access to premises, damaging or 

threatening commercial vehicle or operator thereof (46.2-818) 
• Reckless driving--Racing (46.2-865). 



The DMV should develop and support legislative changes to enact alterna- 
tives to incarceration for habitual offenders. If the deterrent effect of in- 
carceration is to continue to work, it must be applied consistently. How- 
ever, if incarceration is viewed as too harsh a penalty, other alternatives 
for first-time postadjudicated offenders might be considered, employing 
incarceration for multiple postadjudicated violators. As mentioned earli- 
er, many adjudicated habitual offenders incur postadjudication driving 
offenses prior to being convicted of the felony offense of driving aider ad- 
judication. Thus, the penalty of incarceration is not uniformly imposed. 
Alternatives to incarceration that may be considered include: 

• House arrest and electronic surveillance. Incarceration is an expen- 
sive form of remediation, even though it is effective in keeping habit- 
ual offenders off the highways during incarceration. Recently, 
electronic monitoring for traffic offenders has been used successfully 
in Virginia on a small scale. The average cost of house arrest is less 
than the cost of incarceration, and house arrest allows the offenders 
to continue employment, pay the daily fee for house arrest, and con- 
tinue to support their family and pay taxes. House arrest also results 
in less family disruption and reduces the negative effect of placing a 
traffic offender in a criminal environment. 

• Vehicle impoundment or confiscation. Virginia has a history of 
enforcing confiscation of vehicles for DSOL convictions. The forfei- 
ture statute (Va. Code Ann. § 46.1-351.1, 1972) was passed in 1972 
and repealed in 1989. The forfeiture program was time-conm•m•ng to 
administer, and costs for processing, storage, and public auction were 
not offset by the proceeds from the sale of the vehicle. Jointly owned 
vehicles were routinely returned, and those not paid for were re- 
turned to the lien holder, who had no legal recourse but to return the 
vehicle to the owner/driver. Thus, the only persons against whom 
this forfeiture would legally work were offenders who owned their ve- 
hicles free and clear, a small percentage of the offender population 
(Wetsel, 1975). Impoundment, on the other hand, would be less costly 
to administer, require fewer court proceedings than confiscation, en- 
croach on fewer property rights, and apply to all vehicles, not just 
those wholly owned by offenders. Several Canadian provinces have 
begun impoundment programs for persons driving under revocation. 
Alberta and Manitoba now impound all vehicles driven alter revoca- 
tion for 30 days for the first offense. If the joint owner of the vehicle 
or the individual who has loaned the vehicle to the driver can prove 
that he or she was unaware that the driver's license had been re- 
voked, the person can get the vehicle back. However, this defense is 
difficult to prove and can be used only once. It is recommended that 
the Subcommittee on Habitual Offenders study the feasibility of both 
impoundment and house arrest as alternatives to imprisonment for 
first offenders. 

• Use of ignition interlocks. Another alternative could be directed spe- cifically at habitual offenders whose adjudication or postadjudication 
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offenses were based wholly or in part on DUI convictions. An inter- 
lock device requires the driver to blow into a hand-held unit that 
measures the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of the breath sample 
prior to starting his or her vehicle. If the BAC is lower than a pre- 
scribed level, the driver can start the vehicle. If not, the device acti- 
vates the ignition interlock, preventing the vehicle from being started 
(Wilson & Stoke, 1990). An ignition interlock program could be used 
in conjunction with probation or electronic monitoring to ensure that 
offenders no longer drive under the influence. Several states operate 
ignition interlock programs as a supplement to probation or restricted 
licensing for DUI offenders. In such programs, when the DMV is no- 
tiffed of a DUI conviction, an offender may receive a restricted license 
only if he or she submits proof of installation of the interlock device to 
the DMV. Offenders generally pay the purchase or lease price of the 
equipment, as well as installation and service costs.- Some states pro- 
vide a fund for indigent offenders who cannot afford the devices, and 
others reduce the DUI fines to offset the costs. 

There are several possible problems with the use of ignition interlock 
devices. For example, some devices require that the driver be ret- 
ested after a specified period of time, and there is concern about the 
safety of retesting while a vehicle is being operated. In addition, 
there are various concerns about possible circumvention of the inter- 
lock device, such as storing alcohol-free breath samples in containers, 
using filtering material, leaving the vehicle idling while the driver is 
drinking, or having another person give the breath sample (Wilson & 
Stoke, 1990). This last method of circumvention can be lessened. 
somewhat by requiring a personal identification number to initiate 
the test and by making it a misdemeanor to assist in circumventing 
the device. 

Overall, the administrative costs of such a program would be low, and 
although the use of the devices could not perfectly ensure that drivers 
would not circumvent the process, the devices would result in im- 
proved deterrence. 

The DMV should develop and support legislative changes to reduce the 
number of DSOL violations. From an examination of DMV records, it is 
clear that some individuals incur DSOLs at least in part because of a sus- 
pension that was received for failure to satisfy financial obligations. 
Thus, there is a need to reduce the number of such suspensions. One of 
the major questions posed in this study was whether the administration 
of the Act had inadvertently created a debtors' prison situation by adjudi- 
cating and later incarcerating drivers initially suspended for failure to 
satisfy financial obligations. This question was prompted by the feeling 
that incarceration of persons adjudicated for DSOL based on failure to 
satisfy obligations was too extreme a penalty. Recent legislation allowing 
relicensure 1 year aiter satisfying obligations for such offenders reflects 
this sentiment. One way to approach this problem involves innovative 

48 



methods of collecting fines, court costs, and judgments. However, this so- 
lution does not address the root cause of the problem. The question 
should be asked: Is suspension the appropriate penalty for failure to sat- 
isfy judgments, fines, or court costs, and is this penalty effective in terms 
of prompting payment of obligations? In addition, only payment of traffic 
fines, court costs, and judgments is tied to the driver's license; other such 
criminal penalties are not. Eliminating license suspension as a penalty 
for failing to satisfy obligations would reduce the number of suspensions 
and DSOLs while at the same time make consistent the penalty for fail- 
ure to pay criminal and traffic fines, court costs, and judgments. Thus, it 
is recommended that the Subcommittee on Habitual Offenders consider 
the feasibility of pursuing innovative collection methods and changes in 
the penalty for failure to meet fmancial obligations. 



REFERENCES 

Del Carmen, Rolando V., & Vaughan, Joseph, B. (1986). Legal issues in the use of 
electronic surveillance in probation. Federal Probation, 50, 60-69. 

Helander, C.J. (1986). An evaluation of the California habitual traffic offender law. 
Sacramento: Department of Motor Vehicles. 

Kuplinski, John R. (1990). Electronic offender monitoring in Virginia's evaluation 
report. Richmond: Department of Criminal Justice Services. 

Latessa, Edward J. (1986). The cost-effectiveness of intensive supervision. Federal 
Probation, 50, 70-73. 

Li, L.I•, & Waller, P.F. (1976). Evaluation of the North Carolina habitual offender 
law. Chapel Hill: Highway Safety Research Center. 

Manitoba amends vehicle impoundment laws. Impact, 2, September 1991. 

Petersilia, J. (1986). Exploring the option of house arrest. Federal Probation, 50, 
50-55. 

Staplin, L.I• (1989). Effectiveness of current sanctions against habitual offenders. 
Malvern, PA: Ketron, Inc. 

Wetsel, J.E. (1975). An assessment of Virginia's law requiring the forfeiture of any 
vehicle driven by a person under license suspension or revocation. Charlottes- 
ville: Virginia Transportation Research Council. 

Wilson, C. B., & Stoke, C. B. (1990). Motor vehicle ignition interlocks, in-vehicle de- 
vices that monitor alcohol levels of vehicle operators. Charlottesville: Virginia 
Transportation Research Council. 

51 



Appendix A 
RECENT ACTIONS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY 
REGARDING THE HABITUAL OFFENDER ACT 

ARTICLE 9 

Habitual Offenders. 

{}46.2-351. Habitual Offender defined; petition of certain persons for restora- 
tion of privilege of operating motor vehicle.--An habitual offender shah be any resi- 
dent or nonresident person whose record, as maintained in the office of the Depart- 
ment, shows that he has accumulated the convictions, or findings of not innocent in 
the case of a juvenile, for separate offenses, committed within a ten-year period, the 
conviction for which is included in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 as follows: 

1. Three or more convictions, or findings of not innocent in the case of a juve- 
nile, singularly or in combination, of the following separate offenses arising out of 
separate acts: 

a. Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a 
motor vehicle; 

b. Driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxi- 
cants or drugs in violation of §18.2-266 or subsection A of §46.2-341.24; 

c. Driving a motor vehicle while his license, permit, or privilege to drive a 
motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked in violation of §§18.2-272, 46.2-301, 
46.2-302, or former §46.1-350 or §46.1-351; 

d. Knowingly making any false affidavit or swearing or affirming falsely to 
any matter or thing required by the motor vehicle laws or as to information re- 
quired in the administration of such laws in violation of {}46.2-105; 

e. Any offense punishable as a felony under the motor vehicle laws of Virgin- 
ia or any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used; 

f. Failure of the driver of a motor vehicle in an accident resulting in the 
death or injury of any person to stop close to the scene of the accident and report his 
identity in violation of §§46.2-894 through 46.2-899; or 

g. Failure of the driver of a motor vehicle involved in an accident resulting 
only in damage to an attended or unattended vehicle or other property in excess of 
$500 to stop close to the scene of the accident and report his identity or otherwise 
report such accident in violation of law. 

2. Twelve or more convictions, or findings of not innocent in the case of a ju- 
venile, of separate offenses, singularly or in combination, in the operation of a motor 



vehicle which are required to be reported to the Department and the commission of 
which requires the Department or authorizes a court to suspend or revoke the privi- 
lege to drive motor vehicles on the highways in the Commonwealth for a period of 
thirty days or more and the conviction shall include those offenses enumerated in 
subdivision 1 above when taken with and added to those offenses described herein. 

3. The offenses included in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this section shall be 
deemed to include offenses under any valid county, city, or town ordinance parallel 
ing and substantially conforming to the state statutory provisions cited in subdivi- 
sions I and 2 of this section and all changes in or amendments thereof, and any fed- 
eral law, any law of another state or any valid county, city, or town ordinances of 
another state substantially conforming to the aforesaid state statutory provisions. 

Where more than one offense included in subdivision 1, 2 or 3 is committed 
within a six-hourperiod, multiple offenses shall, on the first such occasion, be 
treated for the purposes of this article as one offense provided the person charged 
has no record of prior offenses chargeable under this article. (1968, c. 476, 
§46.1-387.2; 1970, cc. 507, 724; 1974, c. 453; 1982, c. 655; 1984, c. 780; 1989, cc. 705, 
727; 1992, c. 875.) 

§46.2-352. (Effective until July 1, 1993) Commissioner to certify transcript or 
abstract of conviction documents of habitual offender to attorney for Common- 
wealth; when court may refuse to enter order under §46.2-355; transcript or ab- 
stract as evidence. 

{}46.2-352. (Effective July 1, 1993) Commissioner to certify transcript or ab- 
stract or conviction documents of habitual offender to attorney for Commonwealth; 
when court may refuse to enter order under §46.2-355; transcript or abstract as evi- 
dence.raThe Commissioner shall certify, from the Department's records, substan- 
tially in the manner provided for in {}46.2-215, three transcripts or abstracts of 
those conviction documents which bring the person named therein within the defi- 
nition of an habitual offender, as defined in §46.2-351, to the attorney for the Com- 
monwealth of the political subdivision in which the person resides according to the 
records of the Department or the attorney for the Commonwealth of the City of 
Richmond if the person is not a resident of the Commonwealth. After certification 
of any person as an habitual offender, the Department shall not thereafter issue a 

new or duplicate driver's license to any such person until (i) a show cause proceed- 
ing has been held under {}46.2-355 or (ii) an order of license restoration has been re- 
ceived by the Department as otherwise provided in this article. Any license issued 
in contravention of this provision shall be invalid. 

In any proceeding under §46.2-354, the court may refuse to enter any order 
as provided in {}46.2-355 if such certification was made more than five years after 
the date of the most recent of the convictions which bring the person within the def- 
inition of habitual offender and the person would be otherwise eligible for restora- 
tion of his privilege under §46.2-360. The transcript or abstract may be admitted as 
evidence as provided in {}46.2-215. The transcript or abstract shall be prima facie 
evidence that the person named therein was duly convicted, or held not innocent in 



the case of a juvenile, by the court wherein the conviction or holding was made, of 
each offense shown by the transcript or abstract. If the person denies any of the 
facts as stated therein, he shall have the burden of proving that the fact is untrue. 
(1968, c. 476, §46.1-387.3; 1982, c. 655; 1983, c. 621; 1989, c. 727; 1992, c. 858.) 

§46.2-353. Information to be filed by attorney for the Commonwealth. 

§46.2-355. (Effective July 1, 1993) Order of court.--If, pursuant to the show 
cause proceeding as provided for in §46.2-354, the court finds that the person is not 
the same person named in the transcript or abstract, or that he is not an habitual 
offender under this article, the proceeding shall be dismissed and the clerk of the 
court shall file with the Department a notice of the dismissal. If the court finds that 
the person is the same person named in the transcript or abstract and that the per- 
son is an habitual offender, the court shall so find and by appropriate order direct 
the person not to operate a motor vehicle-on the highways inthe Commonwealth 
and to surrender to the court all licenses or permits to drive a motor vehicle on the 
highways in the Commonwealth for disposal in the manner provided in §46.2-398. 
The clerk of the court shall file with the Department a copy of the order which shall 
become a part of the permanent records of the Department. Unless it appears from 
the record of the case that the person was present at the hearing in which the court 
found him to be an habitual offender, the clerk shall cause to be mailed to the per- 
son at his last known address appearing in the records of the case a copy of the ha- 
bitual offender order. (1968, c. 476, §46.1-387.6; 1987, c. 394; 1989, c. 727; 1992, 
c. 858.) 

§46.2-356. Period during which habitual offender not to be licensed to drive 
motor vehicle. 

§46.2-357. Operation of motor vehicle or self-propelled machinery or equip- 
ment by habitual offender prohibited; penalty; enforcement of section.--It shall be 
unlawful for any person to drive any motor vehicle or self-propelled machinery or 
equipment on the highways of the Commonwealth while the order of the court pro- 
hibiting such operation remains in effect. However, an order shall not prohibit the 
person from operating any farm tractor on the highways when it is necessary to 
move the tractor from one tract or lane used for agricultural purposes to another 
tract of land used for agricultural purposes, provided that the distance between the 
said tracts of land is no more than five miles. Any person found to be an habitual 
offender under this article, who is thereafter convicted of driving a motor vehicle or 
self-propelled machinery or equipment in the Commonwealth while the order of the 
court prohibiting such driving is in effect, shall be punished by confinement in the 
state correctional facility for not less than one year nor more than five years or, in 
the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, by confinement 
in jail for twelve months and no portion of such sentence shall be suspended except 
that (i) if the sentence is more than one year in the state correctional facility, any 
portion of such sentence in excess of one year may be suspended or (ii) in cases 
wherein such operation is necessitated in situations of apparent extreme emergency 
which require such operation to save life or limb, said sentence, or any part thereof 
may be suspended. 



For the purpose of enforcing this section, in any case in which the accused is 
charged with driving a motor vehicle or self-propelled machinery or equipment 
while his license, permit, or privilege to drive is suspended or revoked or is charged 
with driving without a license, the court before hearing the charge shall determine 
whether the person has been held an habitual offender and, by reason of this hold- 
ing, is barred from driving a motor vehicle or self-propelled machinery or equipment 
on the highways in the Commonwealth. If the court determines the accused has 
been held to be an habitual offender, it shall certify the case to the court of record of 
its jurisdiction for trial. (1968, c. 476, {}46.1-387.8; 1970, c. 507; 1980, c. 436; 1988, 
c. 559; 1989, c. 727; 1990, c. 828.) 

§46.2-358. Restoration of privilege of driving motor vehicle; when petition 
may be brought; terms and conditions. 

§46.2-360. Restoration of privilege of operating motor vehicle; restoration of 
privilege to persons convicted under certain other provisions of Habitual Offender 
Act.--Any person who has been found to be an habitual offender where the adjudi- 
cation was based in part and dependent on a conviction as set out in subdivision lb 
of §46.2-351, may petition the court in which he was found to be an habitual offend- 
er, or the circuit court in the political subdivision in which he then resides: 

1. For restoration of his privilege to drive a motor vehicle in the Common- 
wealth after the expiration of five years from the date of the adjudication. On such 
petition, and for good cause shown, the court may, in its discretion, restore to the 
person the privilege to drive a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth on whatever 
conditions the court may prescribe, subject to other provisions of law relating to the 
issuance of driver's licenses, if the court is satisfied from the evidence presented 
that: (i) at the time of the previous convictions, the petitioner was addicted to or 
psychologically dependent on the use of alcohol or other drugs; (ii) at the time of the 
hearing on the petition, he is no longer addicted to or psychologically dependent on 
the use of alcohol or such other drug; and (iii) the defendant does not constitute a 
threat to the safety and welfare of himself or others with regard to the driving of a 

motor vehicle. 

2. For a restricted permit to authorize such person to drive a motor vehicle in 
the Commonwealth in the course of his employment and to drive a motor vehicle to 
and from his home to the place of his employment after the expiration of three years 
from the date of the adjudication. The court may order that a restricted license for 
such purposes be issued in accordance with the procedures of subsection E of 
{}18.2-271.1, if the court is satisfied from the evidence presented that (i) at the time 
of the previous convictions, the petitioner was addicted to or psychologically depen- 
dent on the use of alcohol or other drugs, (ii) at the time of the hearing on the peti- 
tion, he is no longer addicted to or psychologically dependent on the use of alcohol or 
such other drugs, and (iii) the defendant does not constitute a threat to the safety 
and welfare of himself and others with regard to the driving of a motor vehicle. 
(1976, c. 158, §46.1-387.9:2; 1977, c. 408; 1987, c. 409; 1989, c. 727; 1990, c. 828.) 

{}46.2-361. Restoration of privilege revoked or suspended for failure to pay 
fines or costs or furnish proof of financial responsibility.m 



A. Any person who has been found to be an habitual offender, where the ad- 
judication was based in whole or part and dependent on a conviction as set out in 
subdivision lc of §46.2-351, may, afar five years from the date of the adjudication, 
petition the court in which he was found to be an habitual offender, or the circuit 
court in the political subdivision in which he then resides, for restoration of his priv- 
ilege to drive a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth. 

B. Any person who has been found to be an habitual offender, where the ad- 
judication was based entirely upon convictions as set out in subdivision lc of 
§46.2-351, may, after one year from the date of payment in full of all outstanding 
fines, costs and judgments relating to his adjudication, and furnishing proof of fi- 
nancial responsibility, if applicable, petition the court in which he was found to be 
an habitual offender, or the circuit court in the political subdivision in which he 
then resides, for restoration of his privilege to drive a motor vehicle in the Common- 
wealth. 

C. This section shall apply only where the conviction resulted from a suspen- 
sion or revocation ordered pursuant to (i) §46.2-395 for failure to pay fines and 
costs, (ii) §46.2-459 for failure to furnish proof of financial responsibility or 
(iii) §46.2-417 for failure to satisfy a judgment, provided the judgment has been 
paid in full prior to the time of filing the petition. 

D. On any such petition, the court, in its discretion, may restore to the per- 
son his privilege to drive a motor vehicle, on whatever conditions the court may pre- 
scribe, if the court is satisfied from the evidence presented that the petitioner does 
not constitute a threat to the safety and welfare of himself or others with respect to 
the operation of a motor vehicle, and that he has satisfied in full all outstanding 
court costs, court fines and judgments relating to his adjudication and furnished 
proof of financial responsibility, if applicable. (1984, c. 660, §46.1-387.9:3; 1985, 
c. 292; 1987, c. 334; 1989, c. 727; 1992, c. 568.) 
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Appendix B 
CASE LAW ANALYSIS 

An evaluation of existing relevant Virginia Supreme Court and Court of Ap- 
peals cases was conducted. The majority of cases reviewed concerned technical 
applications of the Habitual Offender Act, and others involved the effectiveness or difficulty of administering the Act. 

Technical Issues 

Several of the cases studied involved issues of technical interpretation of the 
Act. For instance, one issue was whether other states' laws conform to the Code 
violations that constitute the basis for the habitual offender declaration. The Vir- 
ginia courts have held that the certified abstract is prima facie evidence that the 
Commissioner of the DMV has made a tentative determination of the conformity. 
Thus, the defendant has the burden of going forward with evidence to rebut this 
presumption. I Davis v. Commonwealth, 219 Va. 808, 252 S.E.2d 299 (1979). Addi- 
tionally, in Bouldin v. Commonwealth, 4 Va. App. 166, 355 S.E.2d 352 (1987), the 
appellate court found that certified abstracts created the prima facie presumption 
that county ordinances conform to the Habitual Offender Act. 2 

A second technical interpretation of the Act involves the provision regarding 
multiple offenses committed within a 6-hour period. The Supreme Court of Virginia 
held that the General Assembly's intent was that multiple offenses committed with- 
in six hours would constitute only one offense when the driver had no previous con- 
victions of the offenses in the Habitual Offender Act. Commonwealth v. Stanley, 
232 Va. 57, 348 S.E.2d 231 (1986). A similar interpretation of the Act regarding two 
convictions arising out of one occasion of driving an automobile was addressed in 
Estes v. Commonwealth, 212 Va• 23, 181 S.E.2d 622 (1971). The court held that a 
defendant could be convicted of a DUI offense and DSOL for the same incident. The 
court reasoned that "one occasion of driving an automobile may give rise to several 
acts and the test of whether there are separate acts sustaining several offenses is 
whether the same evidence is required to sustain them." Id. at 24, 181 S.E.2d at 
624. 

Two final issues regarding the technical interpretation of the Act involve the 
classification of offenses as indicated in the language of the Act. In the first case, 

1. In Rufty v. Commonwealth, 221 Va. 836, 275 S.E.2d 584 (1981), the court held that the Commonwealth's At- 
torney does have the burden to show that out-of-state DUI laws conform to V'trginia's laws. "The showing made 
by the certified transcript was insufficient to carry the Commonwealth's burden of proving substantial similarity 
and to shift to the defendant the burden of going foxavard with evidence of dissimilarity." ld. at 838, 275 S.E.2d at 
585. However, Rufty involved a criminal prosecution for a subsequent DWI offense based on an out-of-state con- 
viction. The court stressed that this decision was distinguished from the presumption in Davis, which was civil in 
nature, ld. at 839, 275 S.E.2d at 586. 
2. Fairfax County Code §82-4-21, relating to driving while intoxicated, has been ruled invalid because the Fair- 
fax County Code provided for less punishment than provided under state law. Commonwealth v. Holtz, 12 Va. App. 
1151, 408 S.E.2d 561 (1991). 



the defendant was indicted and tried for the felony offense of driving after being de- 
clared a habitual offender. However, he was convicted of operating a motor vehicle 
without a valid license. Edenton v. Commonwealth, 227 Va. 413,316 S.E.2 736 
(1984). The defendant argued that the misdemeanor offense was not a lesser- 
included offense of the Habitual Offender felony provision, and the Supreme Court 
agreed, reversing his conviction. The court reasoned that the character of the two 
offenses is quite different and different elements must be proved to convict for each. 
Id. at 417, 316 S.E. 2d at 738. The court's rationale was also based on one of the ad- 
ministrative problems in the Act involving delays in gathering and entering data on 
habitual offender orders. The court stated: 

Handicapped by such delays, a district court may be unable to discover the existence 
of an habitual offender order before it convicts the accused of the misdemeanor 
charge. In such case, the driver would be immunized from punishment for the felony 
he had committed, because conviction of a lesser-included offense bars prosecution of 
the offense in which it is included. Such a result would effectively defeat the public 
policy goals declared in the Habitual Offender Act. 

Id. at 417-418, 316 S.E. 2d at 738. 

The second peculiar result of a technical classification regarding the Act is 
found inDavis v. Commonwealth, 12 Va. App. 408, 404 S.E.2d 377 (1991). The de- 
fendant in Davis was an adjudicated habitual offender who, in the process of driv- 
ing recklessly to elude police, crashed head on into another police car, killing the 
passenger in the defendant's car. Because the act of driving after being declared a 
habitual offender is a felony, and the defendant was driving recklessly to further 
this felonious act, he was convicted of second-degree murder. Id. at 414, 404 S.E.2d 
at 380. 

Procedural Issues 

Other cases touched on issues more closely related to the effectiveness of the 
Act. The first procedural issue involves the service of the show cause order for certi- 
fied drivers. In one case decided by the Court of Appeals, a nonresident defendant 
claimed that his habitual offender adjudication was invalid because he did not re- 

ceive the show cause order. The appellate court rejected this argument, holding 
that when process is delivered to the Commissioner of DMV and a copy is sent to 
the last known address of a nonresident defendant, a valid service has been made 
regardless of whether the defendant actually received the notice. Steed v. Common- 
wealth, 11 Va. App. 175,397 S.E.2d 281 (1990). See also Russ v. Commonwealth, 
2 Va. 282,343 S.E.2d 373 (Va. 1986). This issue had previously been addressed by 
the Supreme Court of Virginia in which a defendant's habitual offender adjudica- 
tion was reversed because service was invalid. Slaughter v. Commonwealth, 222 
Va. 787, 284 S.E. 2d 824 (1981). Here, the certification of the defendant indicated 
that the defendant was a nonresident when incontroverted evidence at trial indi- 
cated he was a Virginia resident and received no notice of the habitual offender ad- 
judication until he was arrested for driving after being declared a habitual offender. 
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The court found that although earlier abstracts showed an out-of-state address, the 
latest DMV records actually showed the defendant's residence as a Virginia ad- 
dress. The Attorney General claimed that because DMV sent mail to this Virginia 
address that was returned undelivered, and the defendant was obligated to notify 
the DMV of an address change, the DMV legitimately certified him as a nonresi- 
dent. The court rejected this argument, holding that this conclusion was not justi- 
fied. Id. at 792,284 S.E.2d at 827. Thus, the adjudication of the defendant was 
void due to invalid service. 

A second common procedural problem regarding the Act was addressed in 
Potter v. Commonwealth, 10 Va. App. 113,390 S.E.2d 196 (1990). The defendant 
claimed that because the Commonwealth's Attorney did not file the habitual offend- 
er information until 11 months after he was certified, this delay violated the re- 
quirement that the information be filed "forthwith." The court held that "forthwith" 
means "reasonable promptness without unnecessary delay." Id. at 115,390 S.E.2d 
at 197. The only reason given for the delay in the court's filing was a heavy case- load, and the court held that the filing was not forthwith. The defendant then 
claimed this failure to file forthworth was prejudicial to him because in petitioning 
the court for the restoration of his license after 5 years, he was deprived of his driv- 
ing privileges 11 months longer than necessary because of the delay in filing. The 
court rejected this argument since at the time of the certification, he was already 
under a suspension until 1994, at least 5 years past adjudication. Therefore, the 
effect on the delay was not prejudicial toward him. Id. at 116, 390 S.E.2d at 198. 
Nonetheless, the important point to derive from this case is that the Court of Ap- 
peals has indicated that the Commonwealth's Attorney cannot wait as long as 
11 months to file an information for no other reason than a heavy caseload. It 
should be noted, however, that this is not a binding Supreme Court decision. Also, 
a possible negative result of this case may be that Commonwealth's Attorneys will 
ignore the certifications if they do not have time to deal with them soon after their 
receipt. Nonetheless, since drivers are recertified after each additional offense, this 
problem would be alleviated if a new time period for adjudication began with each 
recertification. 

A related "delay" problem at another stage in the habitual offender process 
was addressed in the Bouldin case. The defendant in Bouldin claimed that because 
the DMV did not certify him until more than 4 years after his last conviction, the 
habitual offender proceeding was time-barred. The court rejected this claim be- 
cause the Act, in §46.2-352, contemplates that only in cases where the habitual of- 
fender proceedings follow the last conviction by more than 5 years may the court in 
its discretion refuse to enter the order for untimeliness. Id. at 171,355 S.E.2d at 
355. In dicta, the court did state that "[a]lthough we abhor a lengthy delay which 
allows persons with a demonstrated indifference for the safety and welfare of others 
to continue to use the public highways of this Commonwealth, we recognize that 
certain delays are unavoidable." Id. at 171, 355 S.E.2d at 355. 

Finally, the last two cases of relevance deal with license restoration, the last 
phase of the habitual offender process. In a recent opinion by the Court of Appeals, 
a defendant successfully argued that his conviction for driving after having been de- 
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clared a habitual offender 14 years after his habitual offender adjudication was in- 
valid. Davis v. Commonwealth, 12 Va. App. 246, 402 S.E. 2d 711 (Va. App. 1991). 
The defendant's habitual offender adjudication revoked his license for 10 years and 
contained no provision that he must petition the court at the end of 10 years to re- 
store his driving privilege. When he did not petition the court for restoration and 
was subsequently convicted of the felony offense, he claimed the conviction was in- 
valid. The court agreed, finding that the subsequent driving is unlawful only while 
the court order remains in effect. Id. at 249, 402 S.E.2d at 712. This opinion, al- 
though not a binding Supreme Court opinion, indicates the existence of confusion 
about the Act, which actually requires a permanent revocation with a possibility of 
restoration after 10 years. If courts are not precise about this statutory mandate in 
their orders, the habitual offender process may be defeated. 

The final case.involved an equal protection challenge regarding the provision 
of the Act that allows the court to restore a habitual offender's license after 5 years 
if the certification was based in whole or part on alcohol- or drug-related offenses. 
An earlier provision, 46.2-352, gives a trial court discretion to refuse to enter a ha- 
bitual offender order if the DMV certification occurs more than 5 years after the 
triggering conviction, when the driver would otherwise be eligible for license resto- 
ration. The defendant claimed that since this discretion could be exercised only for 
those whose certifications involved alcohol or drug offenses, the result is unequal 
treatment between different classes of drivers. Salama v. Commonwealth, 8 Va. 
App. 320, 380 S.E.2d. 433 (Va. App. 1989). The Court of Appeals rejected this argu- 
ment and held that the distinction between those convicted of alcohol- and drug- 
related offenses and those not convicted of such offenses was justified because the 
classification bears a reasonable relationship to the government's objective. Id. at 
324, 380 S.E.2d at 435. 

The Salama opinion also contains a discussion regarding the purpose of the 
Act and the rationale for the distinction between alcohol- and drug-related offenders 
and others. The court first noted that the purpose of the Habitual Offender Act is to 
remove drivers who are dangerous and pose a threat to public safety from the Com- 
monwealth's highways. Id. at 323,380 S.E.2d at 435. The court recognized that 
the Act severely restricts the court's authority to refuse to enter the habitual offend- 
er order or restore the license in cases where the person shows that he or she is no longer addicted and poses no threat to safety. Id. at 384, 380 S.E.2d at 435. Then 
the court discussed the rationale for the statute's distinction between different types 
of drivers, as follows: 

This statutory classification is based on the rationale that the unlawful acts of the 
alcoholics or drug addicts will stop when these individuals are cured of their chemical 
dependence. The rationale does not apply to individuals who, for no apparent reason, repeatedly and intentionally violate the law. Id. at 324, 380 S.E.2d at 435. 
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