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ABSTRACT

On July 1, 1974, an amendment went into effect which lowered
Virginia's legal drinking age for beer to 18 years; the minimum
drinking age for wine and hard liquor was kept at 21. This move
to extend adult drinking privileges to persons of military age
had already been made in one form or another in about 30 other
states. The most common practice among these states was to allow
the purchase of all alcoholic beverages at one particular age.
Virginia is the only state which discriminates between beer and
wine/hard liquor in its treatment of minimum ages. While it is
recognized that the possible effects of lowering the legal drink-
ing age may be far reaching, the sole purpose of the research re-

(e

ported here was to examine the effect of reducing the legal drinking
age on the highway safety environment in Virginia. This was accom-

plished through a review of the literature and an examination of

Virginia crash data. It was found that lowering the legal drinking
age resulted in increased alcohol-related accidents for young per-

sons, and it was concluded that a more protective stand should be
taken toward persons 18 to 20 years old with regard to the legal
drinking age in Virginia.
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SUMMARY OF FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

It has been previously determined that young persons have
traditionally had the worst driving record of all age groups,
and that drinking even small amounts of alcohol drastically in-
creases their probability of being involved in a motor vehicle
accident. (This is not the case among older drivers, who must
drink considerably more alcohol to increase their chances of
accident involvement as much.) Considering that young persons
are also more likely to combine alcohol with psychoactive drugs
such as marijuana than are older drivers, it can be safely said
that substance abuse while driving was a potentially serious
problem for young persons even before the legal drinking age was
lowered.

The actual effects of lowering the drinking age were then
examined. First, it was found that the purchase and consumption
of alcohol beverages increased for newly enfranchised persons 18
to 20 years old. This was especially true of draught beer con-
sumed in restaurants and taverns, which indicated that the young
persons would be more likely to drive after drinking than if they
were consuming the beverages at home. Increases in consumption of
alcohol were also noted among persons as young as 13, probably be-
cause their older schoolmates were legally purchasing the beverages
for them.

The ultimate impact of the new drinking age law on highway
safety must be measured in terms of accidents. Significant in-
creases in alcohol-related accident experiences associated with the
change in the drinking age have been noted, not only for persons 18
to 20 years old but also for persons 16 to 17 years old. These in-
creases have not been noted for non-alcohcl-related accidents nor
for accidents involving older, and thereby unaffected, drivers. Also,
increases have not been noted in states that did not change their
drinking age laws. An analysis of Virginia crash data yielded simi-
lar results; there were significant increases in alcohol-related
crashes for persons 16 to 19 years old subsequent to the lowering of
the legal drinking age. No significant increases were noted for non-
alcohol-related teenage crashes. At the same time, both alcohol-
related and non-alcohol-related crashes significantly decreased for
older drivers, probably as a result of the 1974 energy crisis.

It can be concluded from the examination of both the available
literature and Virginia accident statistics that lowering the legal
drinking age has had an adverse effect upon the accident experience
of young persons. From a purely safety standpoint, then, a more
protective public policy toward 18 to 20 year olds should be adopted.
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RECOMMENDATIONS

It is recommended that the Department of Transportation Safety
actively support legislation to raise the legal drinking age which
includes the following provisions.

1. That the legal drinking age be raised incrementally
for the next three years, so that the drinking age
for beer would become 19 years in 1981, 20 years in
1982, and 21 years in 1983. In this way, no group
would be disenfranchised, i.e., be permitted to
purchase and consume beer during one year and not
permitted to do so the next, and the most bene-
ficial step of returning the legal drinking age to
21 years would be assured withcut requiring subse-
quent legislative action.

N
.

That an evaluation of the effects of raising the

legal drinking age be required to determine whether
this change in age improves the highway safety environ-
ment for young persons 18 to 20 in Virginia.

Alternately, should these provisions not be incorporated into pro-
posed legislation, it is recommended that the Department support
legislation raising the legal drinking age to 19, and then seek
additional legislation in subsequent General Assembly sessions to
raise the legal drinking age to 21 years.

vii
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FINAL REPORT

THE EFFECTS OF LOWERING THE LEGAL DRINKING
AGE IN VIRGINIA

by

Cheryl Lynn
Research Scientist

BACKGROUND

On April 7, 1974, the Virginia General Assembly passed a law
lowering the legal drinking age in the state. This legislation,
which allowed persons 18 years and clder to legally buy beer, went
into effect July 1, 1974. Such an action came as the result of a
nationwide trend to extend adult privileges such as voting to per-
sons between the ages of 18 and 21. Prior to 1970, only New York
and Louisiana had drinking ages lower than 21. Between 1970 and
1973, half of the states amended their drinking laws to allow
younger persons to buy and consume various types of alcoholic bev-
erages. While several states have since raised their drinking
ages, reversals have still been relatively rare. As noted in
Table 1, at this writing 13 states allow the purchase of all alco-
holic beverages at 18 years, 9 states allow this privilege at 19
years, 4 allow it at 20 years, and 21 allow it at 21 years. Four
states differentiate between types of alcoholic beverages in setting
drinking ages. Maryland, North Carolina, and South Carolina allow
persons 18 years old to drink both beer and wine, while drinking
hard liquor is reserved until 21. Virginia is the only state to
allow beer drinking at 18 but to require a person to be 21 before
being allowed to drink both wine and hard liquor.

The trend toward lowering legal drinking ages was probably an
indirect result of the participation of then minors in the Viet Nam
conflict in that it was felt that persons who were old enough to
serve in the armed forces were old enough to drink. This same
trend was responsible for the enfranchisement of 18 year olds as
part of recognizing their already adult role in military action over-
seas. In that this trend reflects both that persons at 18 are ca-
pable of responsibleness in drinking, which may not be the case,
and increased availability of alcohol to the young driver, it can
theoretically be expected to produce changes in various types of
alcohol-related behaviors within this group.(1,2,3,4)
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TABLE 1
CURRENT MINIMUM DRINKING AGES

Wine

19
19
19
21
21
21
18
20
18
18
19 (18, 7/1/81)
1

State Beer
Alabama 19
Alaska 19
Arizona 19
Arkansas 21
California 21
Colorado 21
Connecticut 18
Delaware 20
D. C. 18
Florida 1l 18
Georgia 2 19 (18, 7/1/81)
Hawaii 18
Idaho 19
Illinois 21
Indiana 21
Iowa 18
Kansas 21
Kentucky 21
Louisiana 18
Maine 20
Maryland 18
Massachusetts & 20
Michigan 21
Minnesota 18
Mississippi 21
Missouri 21
Montana 19
Nebraska 19
Nevada 6 21
New Hampshire 20
New Jersey 21
New Mexico 21
New York 18
North Carolina 18
North Dakota 21
Ohio 21
‘Oklahoma 21
Oregon 21
Pennsylvania 21
Rhode Island 18
South Carolina 18
South Dakota 21
Tennessee 19
Texas 18
Utah 21
Vermont 18
Washington 21
West Virginia 18
Wisconsin 18
Wyoming 19
Virginia 18
1 Lowered from 21 in 1978.

2 Lowered to 19 as of 9/1/80; will be lowered to 18 on 7/1/81.
3 Raised to 21 from 19 on January 1, 1980,
4 Raised to 20 from 18 in 1979.
5 Raised to 21 from 18 in 1978.
6 Raised to 20 from 18 in 1979.

(18, 7/1/18)
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PURPOSE AND SCOPE

It is clear that there is more potential for change as a
result of changing the drinking age than just in the area of high-
way safety; other aspects of the behavior of young persons could
be affected, such as educational and school-related activities,
parental and peer relations, vocational interests, and sexual or
criminal activities, all of which should be examined to determine
the impact of lowering the drinking age. It is the sole purpose
of this report, however, to discuss only the highway safety implica-
tions of this change in drinking laws both in Virginia and in other
states. This will be done through a review of the literature con-
cerning drinking among young persons and through an analysis of
crash data for Virginia teenagers.

RESULTS

Literature Review

Based upon this analysis, a number of issues relating to the
impact of lowering the drinking age were addressed, including
(1) the susceptibility of young persons to the effects of alcohol
and drug usage, (2) the impact of lowering the legal drinking age
on the purchase and consumption of alccholic beverages, (3) the
effect of lowering the drinking age on accidents among persons 18
to 20 years old as well as its impact on persons 16 to 17, and
(4) changes in the highway safety environment in Virginia con-
current with lowering the legal drinking age for beer to 18 years.

In previous studies it has been well documented that persons
aged 16 to 20 years are more susceptible to having traffic accidents
than are persons in any other age group.(5) 1Indeed, they tended to
have the worst driving records of all age groups even before alcohol
was made more readily available to them. Persons 18 and 19 years
0ld traditionally incur the most traffic violations and have the
highest accident rates. At one time it was believed that this
abnormally high accident rate resulted from a lack of driving ex-
perience. However, this peak in accidents at 18 or 19 occurred
not only among new drivers but also among those who had begun
driving at 15 or 16, and who thus had several years' experience.(6,7)
This would indicate that there is something associated with being
18 or 19 that is also associated with or causes an increase in
accidents. It has been hypothesized that these extremely high acci-
dent rates may result from stress caused by significant life changes
and pressure to make and be responsible for various types of deci-
sions, such as high school graduation, concern over vocational
choices, pressure to be accepted at a good college, entry into the
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working world, concern over personal problems, possible marital
choices, sexual anxiety, and concern over military service.(8)
In any case, the increased susceptibility to stress and distrac-
tion at this age also makes this group a possible target for
alcohol problems, especially when the choice of whether or not
to drink is added to their other decisions.(5) For all these
reasons, young persons would be expected to have an unusually
high rate of involvement in alcohol-related traffic crashes.

This high rate of involvement in drinking and driving
crashes has been clearly demonstrated through rigorous study.
Alcohol-impaired drivers at 18 or 19 are about twenty times more
likely to die in a motor vehicle crash than the average non-
impaired driver, and about twice as likely to die in a crash as
the impaired adult driver.(6) Even more serious is the fact that
young people having had only one or two drinks (and thus not con-
sidered to be impaired) are still significantly more likely to
have accidents. Low concentrations of alcohol in the blood are
significantly associated with crash involvement for young people,
but not for older drivers.(9) Two explanations for this are
hypothesized: some researchers attribute this sensitivity to a
lack of experience in coping with the effects of alcohol, while
others feel that young persons ma{ simply be more sensitive to
the toxic effects of alcohol.(10,11) 1In any case, it appears to
take less alcohol to significantly increase the probability of
accident involvement for young drivers than for older ones.

Compounding this problem is the marked preference toward
drug usage among young persons. It has been shown that combining
psychoactive drugs with alcohol always results in impairment and
that the effects can often be additive or synergistic.(12) Young
drivers mix psychoactive drugs and alcohol more often than do
their older counterparts, and this leads them into increased im-
paired driving and drug related collisions.(3,1%,15,16) 1In one
study of college age students (18-20), over half had used marijuana,
and of these, 60% had combined alcohol and marijuana at least occa-
sionally. About 39% combined the two half of the time and 14% used
alcohol and marijuana together at least once a week. Of the im-
paired driving done by these students, 25% was done under the in-
fluence of both alcohol and marijuana.(1l7) Since these figures
are now several years old and since they represent self-reported
admissions of illegal behavior, it is likely that they underestimaﬁé
the marijuana/alcohol problem. Additionally, there is little in-
formation concerning the actual use of alcohol and other psycho-
active drugs such as amphetamines, barbiturates, and cocaine that
may have become more available in the last few years.
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From the preceding discussion, it is clear that the problem
of impaired driving by young persons was already an increasingly
serious one even when the purchase of any type of alcoholic bev-
erage was illegal until age 21. Increasing the availability of
alcohol for teenagers can accelerate the rising trends in drinking
and driving, if it results in increased consumption of alcoholic
beverages. In areas where drinking ages have been lowered, com-
mensurate increases in alcohol purchases have been noted,(i7al8)
often bringing consumption by young people to the same level as
that of the adult population.(19) While off-premise sales have
increased somewhat, on-premise purchases by young persons in res-
taurants and taverns have been most affected.(20,21) This increase
is most marked with regard to the purchase of draught beer.

These increases in beer purchases are especially significant in
that (1) beer is the most popular alcoholic beverage among persons
18-20, accounting for 70% of all alcohol consumed by this group;
(2) beer drinking plays "a large role in youthful crash fatal-
ities";(22) and (3) all of the currently amended drinking laws, in-
cluding Virginia's, have made it legal to drink beer at a lowered
age.

Increases in the consumption of alcoholic beverages, however,
are not limited to 18 to 20 year olds. There have also been dramatic
increases in consumption by persons as young as 13 found in a study
of students in the 7th, 9th, 1llth, and 13th grades. In another
study, increases in alcohol consumption concurrent with changing
drinking laws were found to be greater for gersons 16 to 17 years"
old than for persons 18 to 20 years old.(18) This effect is commonly
referred to as "spillover", and it applies not only to the consump-
tion of alcohol but also to increased involvement in motor vehicle
accidents for 16 to 17 year olds. The spillover in drinking is
thought to be caused by newly enfranchised 18 year olds, usually .
high school seniors, purchasing alcoholic beverages for their
younger cohorts, or by underage individuals passing for 18, when
previously it would have been impossible for them to pass for 21.

In any case, it must be recognized that the potential impact of
reduced drinking ages is not limited to those who are permitted to
drink but also to this much younger group.

The ultimate measure of the highway safety impact of changing
the legal drinking age on driving is accident involvement, particu-
larly alcohol-related accident involvement of young persons. There
have been significant increases for both the 18-to-20-year old group
and the 16-to-17-year-old group.(23) Many of the earliest studies
of this phenomenon were conducted in Michigan, where the legal drink-
ing age was lowered to 18 in 1972. Subseguent to this change, blood-
alcohol concentrations (the standard measure of alcohcl in the blood-
stream) increased significantly among teenage drivers as measured in
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random roadside surveys.(u) Concurrent with this increase in
youthful drinking and driving, alcohol-related crashes among

persons 18 to 20 rose 119%, while for older drivers they rose

only 1u4%.(%) Also, young drivers experienced an 88% increase

in alcohol-related fatal crashes compared to an 8% to 9% in-

crease for older drivers.(2%) Later studies in Michigan noted

that significant increases in alcohol-related crash involvement

were found for 17 year olds. It also was noted that increases

in alcohol-related crash rates for 18 to 20 year olds were more
pronounced than the increase normally experienced by 21 year olds
when they were allowed alcohol and the effects did not wear off

as they had with persons who were 21.(25,26) From these data,

it would appear that drinking and driving behavior among persons

18 to 20 approximates and sometimes surpasses that for older drivers,
and does not decline over time.(l) Similar findings have been noted
in other states, such as Illinois,(27) Wisconsin,(28) and Massachu-
setts, where vehicle "operation after drinking" fatalities increased
75% after passage of the drinking age amendment and where this legir -
lative change accounted for 5 additional fatalities per month for
18-to-20-year-old drivers.(14,29)* o0only one study found less sig-
nificant increases in crash rates after enfranchisement. In an

area where the drinking privileges for young persons were extended
from only beer to all alcoholic beverages, alcohol-related fatal-
ities increased in proportion to all crash experiences for persons
18 to 20, while no increases were found for older drivers.(31) It
was hypothesized that this effect was subtle because the major
impact of lowerirng the drinking age had already been experienced.

Increases in crash rates for young persons attributable to
changes in the legal drinking age have also been noted in other
countries, in particular in Ontario, Canada,(23,32) where there was
as much as a fourfold increase in the alcohol-related crash_involve-
ment of 18 year olds after the enactment of legislation. 3)  These
results are presented in Table 2. The largest increases in alcohol-
related crashes occurred for persons 18 and 19 years old, followed
by those for persons whowere 16 or 17. No such dramatic increase
was noted for the control group, which was made up of 24 year olds.
There appeared to be considerable "spillover" of the effect of re-
ducing the drinking age from persons 18 to 20 to those who were
younger. Fatal crashes increased significantly for persons 16 to
17, and arrests for driving under the influence increased more for
persons under 18 years than for persons 18 to 20. Finally, it was

#*It is interesting to note that in 1978 the Michigan legislature
raised the legal drinking age to 21 years, based in part on studies
confirming the effect on teenage drinking, driving, and collision
involvement. Political attacks have thus f?r gailed to result in
a re-lowering of the Michigan drinking age. 30
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TABLE 2

PERCENTAGE INCREASES IN CRASH INVOLVEMENT AFTER REDUCING
THE LEGAL DRINKING AGE -  ONTARIO, CANADA

Age Groups
16-17 18 13 20 24
Increase in Alcohol
Crash Involvement 304 469 5 ' 187 St
\-___/—_\'/v
Increase in Proportion
of Alcohol-Related
Crashes ' 172 20

Source: Reference 1.

noted that this trend involving underage drinking tends to become
more severe for the first several years after passage of legisla-
tion as the effects "filter down" to this younger age group.(l)

These studies indicate that lowering the legal drinking age
has resulted in serious accident problems for young persons. How-
ever, it has been argued that these deleterious effects are actually
a manifestation of some previously existing trend or are caused by
some aspect of the highway safety environment other than the lowered
drinking age. This question has been extensively studied by com=-
paring crash trends in states where drinking ages were reduced to
trends for similar states where they were not. Theoretically, since
these states are more or less equivalent in aspects other than drink-
ing age, any differences in crash rates and trends could be attri-
butable to the lowered drinking age. Several studies have documented
such differences. Douglass et al., in a number of studies of various
aspects of the drinking age problem, found consistent increases in
alcohol-related crash involvement for newly legalized 18 to 20 year
olds in states where drinking laws were changed, but not for older
drivers and not f?r youn§ drivers in states where the drinking ages
were not changed. 21,33,34,35,36) (The only exception to this in
the Douglass studies was the state of Vermont, where no significant
increase in crashes was noted. It was speculated that since Vermocnt
was a border state to three states that previously had lowered
their legal drinking ages, including New York, where drinking had
always been legal at 18, it experienced a change in drinking habits
prior to the time its drinking age law was amended.(33)) Through
interpolation, Douglass projected that the changes in drinking age



4‘;"')"'7.{;
e

Lo e

were responsible for 4,600 more crashes and 89 more fatal crashes
resulting in one or more deaths between 1972 and 1975.(21) 1In
Illinois, where the drinking age was lowered to 19, persons 19 to
20 years old were involved in 62% more crashes than persons in
states where drinking ages had not been reduced. Researchers
hypothesized that the change in the drinking law contributed to

an ingrease of 41 alcohol-related crashes and 44 fatalities in
1975.(27) williams discovered similar trends in Ontario, Wisconsin,
and Michigan in comparing their crash rates to those for states
where drinking ages remained unchanged.(28) Also, Williams noted
that crash rates increased for 15 to 17 year olds in reduced-
drinking-age states but not in others, again confirming the exist-
ence and validity of the spillover effect.

A number of conclusions can be drawn from these studies. First,
they have demonstrated that reducing the minimum legal drinking age
has had an adverse effect on the crash involvement and accident-
related death rate for young persons through increased consumption
of alcohol (primarily beer) and increases in the incidence of drink-
ing and driving. Second, this adverse effect on crash involvement
extends to children as young as 15 years old, while the increased
consumption of alcohol extends to children as young as 13. Third,
through application of these study findings to Virginia, it would
be expected that increases in both alcohol consumption and crash
involvement would have occurred in Virginia as a result of lowering
the legal drinking age for beer to 18.

Analysis of Virginia Data

To test the above stated hypothesis, Virginia crash data for
the period from 1969 to 1979 were examined. These data were derived
from the Virginia State Police crash tape and were broken down by
whether the crash was alcochol-related and by the age of the driver.
With regard to age, the classifications used were not ideal; age
groups were (1) less than 16 years, (2) 16 to 19 years, and (3) 25
years and older (the 20-to-24-year-old group was omitted because
it contained persons 21 and older who were able to drink both before
and after the age change). While this age breakdown allowed for the
discrimination between young, newly enfranchised drivers and older
drivers, it did not allow the discrimination of persons 18 and over
who could purchase beer and those who were underage (16 to 17). Thu(,
it was not possible to detect any spillover effects from lowering
the drinking age on this age group. It should also be recognized
that since the 16-to-19-year-old age group contained both persons who
could legally drink and those who could not, the effect of changing
the drinking age was underestimated in the analysis.
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For each group, a time series analysis was conducted. His-
torical trends were generated based upon crash data from 1968 to
1973. This pre-reduced drinking age trend was then projected into
the period following the change in the drinking age to provide
some idea of what crash patterns would have existed had no change
been made. Significant differences between the projection of his-
torical trends from 1974 through 197% and the actual crash patterns
for that period could be a result of lowering the drinking age. It
would also be expected, if the reduced drinking age had had an ef-
fect on traffic safety, that alcohol-related accidents for teen-
agers would be found to have increased more than expected while non-
alcohol-related ones would not.

As seen in Table 3, these hypotheses were borne out. Beginning
in 1974, at which time drinking beer at 18 was legal for half the
year, the numbers of alcohol-related crashes increased significantly
more than would have been expected based on previous trends. (These
increases in crashes for teenagers are especially serious in light
of the fact that alcohol-related crashes for their adult counter-
parts actually decreased significantly during this period.) Rather
than tapering off, these increases in alcchol-related crashes con-
tinued through 1979. The percentage of teenage crashes that were
alcohol-related also increased more dramatically than would have been
expected had the drinking age not been reduced, as did the percentage
of all accidents and all alcohol accidents incurred by this group.
All of this information indicates that something which happened in
1974 significantly and consistently caused teenagers to experience
increased accident involvement.

A similar analysis was conducted for persons 15 years and under.
As seen in Table 4, only two significant increases were noted. The
percentage of all crashes involving persons less than 16 years old
was significantly higher than expected in 1975, the first full year
of the reduced drinking age, as was the percentage of crashes for
this age group that were alcohol-related. Although these findings
are suggestive, it must be concluded that for the period studied
there was no consistent or significant effect of reducing the drink-
ing age on drivers under 16.

Similar crash statistics for persons 25 years and older appear
in Table 5. In 1974 and 1975, the numbers of both alcohol-related
and non-alcohol-related crashes decreased significantly compared to
pre-1974 trends. This most likely occurred due *to the energy crisis.
It is interesting to note that while the energy crisis reduced the
numbers of crashes among older drivers, it did not prevent the dra-
matic increase in alcohol-related crashes among teenagers. It is
also possible that had there been no energy crisis in 1974-1874, the
increases in teenage alcohol-related crashes might have been much
greater. By 1978, the decreasing trends in the numbers of adult
crashes had reversed themselves, and there were more alcohol and
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non-alcohol-related crashes than would have been expected had
there been no energy crisis’. The percentage of all adult crashes
that were alcohol-related increased slightly but significantly in
1874 and 1975, indicating that the energy crisis reduced non-
alcohol-related crashes more than alcohol-related ones. Why these
drinking and driving crashes proved so resistant to the beneficial
effect of the energy crisis is unknown.

Comparisons of adult and teenage accident statistics with
relation to the change in the legal drinking age are quite reveal-
ing. The absolute numbers of alcohol-related accidents for both
groups appear in Figure 1. Clearly, adult drivers had more drinkin(
and driving crashes; however, whereas the number of adult alcohol-
related accidents decreased about the time the drinking age was
lowered, the number of such crashes involving young persons began
increasing at a faster rate. With regard to the percentage of all
crashes for each age group that were alcohol-related, Figure 2
shows that while a smaller percentage of accidents involving young
persons. were alcohol-related before the change in the drinking age,
youths experienced a higher percentage of alcohol-related crashes
than did adults after the change. Young persons continue to have
a higher percentage of alcohol-related crashes than do their older
counterparts.

TABLE 3

CRASH STATISTICS FOR PERSONS 16 TO 20 YEARS OLD
1969-1979 (EXCLUDING 1977)

Year No. No. % Crashes % of All % of
Alcohol-Related Non-Alcochol- Which Are Alcohol- All
Crashes Related Alcohol- Related Crashes
Crashes Related Crashes
1969 1,535 16,492 8.51 10.88 0.693
1970 1,406 17,226 7.55 10.09 0.607
1971 1,614 20,145 7.43 11.14 0.659
1972 1,732 23,228 6.94 11.39 0.652
1973 1,904 24,335 7.26 12.53 0.711
1974 2,603% 22,757 10.27%* 16.43% 1.061%*
1975 2,970% 20,094 10.36% 18.80%* 1.376%
1976 3,508% 30,350 - 18.25% 1.543%
1977 - —_ 10,51%* - -
1978 4 ,122% 35,715 12.10% 18.0u%* 1.775%
1979 4,310% 31,307 14 .43% 1.979%

*Significantly higher than expected given previous trends, p < 08

10
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TABLE U4

CRASH STATISTICS FOR PERSONS UNDER 16 — 1969-1979
(EXCLUDING 1977)

Year No. No. % Crashes % of All % of
Alcohol-Related Non-Alcohol- Which Are Alcohol- All
Crashes Related Alcohol- Related Crashes
Crashes Related Crashes
1969 18 339 5.04 '0.128 0.8
1970 13 284 4,38 0.083 0.6
1971 20 348 5.43 0.138 0.8
1972 37 552 6.28 0.243 1.4
1973 26 397 6.15 0.171 1.0
1974 46 656 6.55 0.290 1.9
1975 63 572 9.92%  0.399 2.9%
1976 50 490 9.26 0.260 2.2
1977 - - - - -
1978 52 769 6.33 0.3189 2.
1979 57 734 7.21 0.396 2.2
#Significantly higher than expected based on previcus trends,

p < .065.

TABLE 5

CRASH STATISTICS FOR PERSONS 25 YEARS AND OLDER
1969-1979 (EXCLUDING 1877)

Year No. No. % Crashes % of All % of
Alcohol-Related Non-Alcohol- Which Are Alcohol- All
Crashes Related Alcohol- Related Crashes
Crashes Related Crashes
196¢ 8,964 66,005 11.96 65.54 L.ous
1970 9,103 69,879 11.53 65.34 3.929
1971 9,344 75,725 10.98 65.49 3.816
1872 9,890 82,148 10.74 65.07 3.721
1973 9,781 82,254 10.63 B4.36 3.657
1374 9,739% 73,908% 11l.64%% g1, 47% 3.971
1975 8,990% 63,016% 12.48%= 56,91 L.,lok
1876 10,980 100,816 9.82 57.11 4.829
1977 - —_ — - —
1378 12,792%% 121,418%% 9.53 56.36 5.508
1979 12,971%% 113,368%% 10.27%% 55,01 5.956

*Significantly lower than expected based on previous trends,
p < .05.

##Significantly higher than expected based on previous trends,
p < .05,
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FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

In summary, the adverse impact on driving of reducing the
drinking age has been well documented in both the United States
and Canada. The consumption of alcohol, particularly the con-
sumption of draught beer, has risen significantly among the newly
enfrancised drinkers and among their younger cohorts. Further,
these beverages are most often being consumed at restaurants and
taverns, which indicates that young persons are most likely driving
to and from these drinking spots. These young drivers, because of
curfews which still apply to them, "do not have the advantage of
staying out until the alcohol has been eliminated from their sys-
tems . . .. [Also] the younger the drinker, the less likely he or
she is to be able to recognize personal limits, and the more likely
they are to be drinking in situations where peer pressure leads to
excess."(37) Since it takes very little alcohol to increase a
young person's chance of being killed in a motor vehicle accident,
and since young persons tend to mix psychoactive drugs and alcohol
more often than do adults, these increases in alcohol consumption
and driving are indicators of a serious problem.

Serious increases in alcohol-related motor vehicle accident
involvement as well as increases in teenage fatalities have been
noted for young persons in states where drinking ages have been re-
duced. No increases have been noted for older drivers, who are un-
affected by the legislative change, nor in states that have not
lowered their drinking ages. In Virginia alone, the reduced drink-
ing age contributed to an increase of over 600 alcohol-related
crashes among drivers 16 to 19 years old during the first six months
that the new legislation was in effect, and during the next two
years the reduced drinking age contributed to an increase of about
2,900 alcohol-related crashes for this group. It is not known how
many of these crashes were fatal, but it can be safely said that
each crash resulted in some sort of emotional or financial hardship
to the teenagers involved or tc their parents.

It is clear from this analysis that from the safety standpoint
alone, a more protective stand toward 18 to 20 year olds, and their
underage cohorts, should be taken. The most protective stance, of
course, would be to raise the legal drinking age to 21 as soon as
possible; this, however, would involve disenfranchising young persons
who currently have the right to purchase beer in the Commonwealth,
and may be politically infeasible.

In a discussion of the social implications of youthful drinking,
Whitehead et al. address the overall problem with several interesting
legislative suggestions, including the lowering of the presumptive
limit to a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.04% for youthful driver

14



in light of the low tolerance levels of young people and the
increasing use of marijuana with alcohol. With specific refer-
ence to the change in the legal drinking age, it has been sug-
gested that the most acceptable solution is to

raise the drinking age in areas where it has
already been lowered and to retain the current
legal age in areas where it remains unchanged.
Raising it to age 19 for the time being would
be less disruptive and perhaps more effective
than reverting to age 21 immediately. This
approach would virtually eliminate legal drink-
ing among secondary school students and hence
the effect of their drinking behavior on their
underage schoolmates. Further increases, if
desired, could be staged in single-year incre-
ments to make the change more palatable to
members of the target group. Both fairness and
the appearance of fairness would be enhanced. (5)

What is to be expected from such a change in the legal drinking
age? Intuitively, it would be expected that raising the legal drink-
ing age in yearly increments would result in stepwise decreases in
alcohol-related accidents. In Michigan, which raised its legal drink-
ing age first to 19 and then to 21 in 1978, significant improvements
in the crash experiences of young persons were noted after the drink-
ing ages were raised.(38) However, raising the legal drinking age
cannot be expected to solve all the alcohol-related safety problems
of this age group. Many factors that affect drinking behavior have
changed during the six years since the drinking age was lowered, as
is evidenced by the increase in alcohol-related accidents for adults
in 1978 and 1979. While it has been shown that lowering the legal
drinking age in 1974 was responsible for increases in the youth
crash problem at that time, changes in the economy, which may bLe
correlated with the drinking behavior of adults; changes in the
pressures on young persons; and changes in drug use patterns are
only three of many factors that have since compounded this problem.
Additionally, it may be impossible to reverse the poor drinking habits
learned through early access to alcohol which exist among adults who
are enfranchised at 18, since crash rates for these persons tend to
increase at 18 and to stay at those higher levels. In any case, it
is expected that raising the legal drinking age will result in a
dramatic reduction in the involvement of young persons in alcohol-
related crashes, but it is not expected that the rates of involve-
ment will return to pre-1974 levels for persons 18 to 20.

15



RECOMMENDATIONS

Based upon this analysis, it is recommended that the Depart-
ment of Transportation Safety support legislation to raise the
legal drinking age in Virginia. Still in question, however, is
what particular type of legislation is preferred. House Bills
Nos. 188 and 133 (see Appendix), which were introduced during
the last session of the General Assembly and were carried over
for consideration this session, would raise the legal drinking
age to 19, and 21, respectively. While these bills are more than
adequate from a legal standpoint, both have drawbacks. While
immediately raising the legal drinking age to 21 represents the
ultimate safety goal with regard to this problem and would do the
most to protect young persons, it would involve disenfranchising
a large number of young voters. However, raising the legal drink-
ing age to 19 this year would still require legislative action
in subsequent General Assembly sessions to bring it up to 21 years.
In addition, neither bill stipulates that the effect of raising o
the legal drinking age be evaluated, an important step in justifying
this action. Ideally, the Department cf Transportation Safety
should most strongly support the amendment of proposed legislation
to include the following provisions:

1. That the legal drinking age be raised
incrementally in July of each of the
next three years, so that the drinking
age would become 19 years in 1981, 20
years in 1982, and 21 years in 1983.
In this way, no group would be dis-
enfranchised and the ultimate goal of
returning the legal drinking age to 21
would be assured.

2. That an evaluation of the effects of
raising the legal drinking age be re-
quired to ensure that this move
accomplishes the purpose of improving
the highway safety environment for young
persons.

If at all possible, this type of legislation should be most actively
pursued. However, should these suggestions not be incorporated intq
current legislation, it is recommended that the Department support
legislation raising the legal drinking age to 19 years in 1881, and
then encourage additional legislative action in subsequent General
Assembly sessions to raise the legal drinking age to 21 years.
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HOUSE BILL NO. 133
Offered January 16, 1980
A BILL to amend and reenact §§ 4-37, 4-62, 463, 4-112 and 4-112.1 of the Code of
Virginia, which provides for suspension or revocation of licenses of alcoholic beverage
licensees; persons to whom alcoholic beverages may not be sold; prohibited sales; illegal

possession; penalties.

Patron-Rust

Referred to the Committee on General Laws

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That §§ 4-37, 4-62, 4-63, 4-112 and 4-112.1 of the Code of Virginia are amended and
reenacted as follows:

§ 4-37. Suspension or revocation of licenses; monetary penalties.—(a) Grounds for
suspension or revocation. - The Commission may suspend or revoke any licenses issued by
it if it has reasonable cause to believe:

(1) That the licensee, or if the licensee is a partnership or association, any partner or
member thereof, or if the licensee is a corporation, any officer, director, or manager
thereof or shareholder owning ten per centum or more of its capital stock:

(a) Has misrepresented a material fact in applying to the Commission for such license.

(b) Within the five years next preceding the date of the hearing, has been convicted of
the violation of any law, ordinance, or regulation of this State, or of any state, or of the
United States of America, or of any county, city, or town in this State, applicable to the
manufacture, transportation, possession, use, or sale of alcoholic beverages, or has violated
any provision of this chapter or Chapter 2 (§ 4-99 et seq.), or has committed a violation in
bad faith of Chapter 2.1 (§ 4-118.3 et seq.) of this title, or has violated or failed or refused
to comply with any regulation, rule, or order of the Commission, or has failed or refused
to comply with any of the conditions or restrictions of the license issued by the
Commission.

(c) Has been convicted of a felony or of any crime or offense involving moral
turpitude in any court.

(d) Is not the legitimate owner of the business conducted under the license issued by
the Commission, or other persons have ownership interests in the business which have not
been disclosed.

(e) Has become insolvent or cannot demonstrate financial responsibility sufficient to
meet adequately the requirements of the business conducted under license issued by the
Commission.

(f) Has been intoxicated, as defined in this chapter, or under the influence of some
seif-administered drug, while upon the licensed premises.

(g) Has allowed noisy, lewd, or disorderly conduct upon the licensed premises, or has
maintained such premises in an unsanitary condition, or allowed such premises to become
a meeting place or rendezvous for persons of ill repute, or has allowed any form of illegal
gambling to take place upon such premises.
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(h) Knowingly, employs in the business conducted under such license, as agent, servant,
or employee, any person who has been convicted of a felony or of any crime or offense
involving moral turpitude in any court, or who has violated the laws of this State, or of
any other state, or of the United States of America, applicable to the manufacture,
transportation, possession, use or sale of alcoholic beverages.

(i) Has demonstrated by his police record subsequent to the issuance of his original
license a lack of respect for law and order.

(j) Has allowed the consumption of alcoholic beverages upon the licensed premises by
any person whom he knew or had reason to believe was (1) less than twenty-one years of
age, or (2) an interdicted person, or (3) an intoxicated person, or has allowed any person
whom he knew or had reason to believe was intoxicated to loiter upon such licensed
premises, or has allowed the consumption of beverages, as defined in chapter 2 (§ 4-99 et
seq.) of this Title 4, by any person whom he knew or had reason to believe was (1) less
than eighteen twenty-one years of age, or (2) an intoxicated person.

(k) Has allowed any person to consume upon the licensed premises any alcoholic
beverages except as provided under this chapter.

(1) Is physically unable to carry on the business conducted under such license or has
been adjudicated incompetent. v

(m) Has allowed any lewd, obscene or indecent literature, pictures or materials upon
the licensed premises. .

(n) Has possessed any illegal gambling apparatus, machine or device upon the licensed
premises.

(2) That the place occupied by the licensee: _

(a) Does not conform to the requirements of the governing body of the county, city, or
town, in which such place is located, with respect to sanitation, health, construction, or
equipment, or to any similar requirements established by the laws of this State or by the
regulations of the Commission.

(b) Has been adjudicated a common nuisance under the provisions of this chapter.

(c) Has become a meeting place or rendezvous for users of narcotics, drunks,
homosexuals, prostitutes, pimps, panderers, gamblers, or habitual law violators. The
Commission may consider the general reputation in the community of such place in
addition to any other competent evidence in making such determination.

For the purposes of this section, “premises” or ‘“place” shall mean the real estate,
together with any buildings or other improvements thereon, designated in the application
for a license as the place at which the manufacture, bdttling, distribution, use or sale of
alcoholic beverages shall be performed, except that portion of any such building or other
improvement actually and exclusively used as a private residence as defined in § 4-2.

(3) That any cause exists for which the Commission would have been entitled to refuse
to issue such license had the facts been known; and the Commission may likewise suspend
or revoke any license for any other cause designated by this chapter.

(b) Notice and hearing. - Before the Commission may suspend or revoke any license
issued under the provisions of this chapter, at least ten days’ notice of such proposed or
contemplated action by the Commission shall be given to the licensee affected. Such notice
shall be in writing, shall contain a statement in detail of the grounds or reasons for such
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proposed or contemplated action of the Commission, and shall be served on the licensee as
other notices are served, or by sending the same to such licensee by registered mail to his
last known post-office address. The Commission shall in such notice appoint a time and
place when and at which the licensee shall be heard as to why his license should not be
suspended or revoked. The licensee shall at such time and place have the right to produce
evidence in his behalf and to be represented by counsel.

(¢) [Repealed.]

(cl) Payment of costs or monetary penalties. - The Commission in suspending any
license may impose, as a condition precedent to the removal of such suspension or any
portion thereof, a requirement that the licensee pay the cost incurred by the Commission
in investigating the licensee and in holding the proceeding resulting in such suspension, or
it may impose a monetary penalty not to exceed one thousand dollars for the first offense,
a monetary penalty not to exceed two thousand five hundred dollars for the second
offense, a monetary penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars for the third offense in
lieu of such suspension or any portion thereof, or both after the enactment hereof.

(c2) Offers in compromise. - Following notice to the licensee of a hearing which may
result in the suspension or revocation of his license, the Commission in its discretion may
accept from the licensee an offer in compromise to pay a monetary penalty not exceeding
five thousand dollars, either in lieu of suspension or in addition thereto, or in lieu of
revocation.

(d) Review. - The action of the Commission in suspending or revoking any licens:
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to judicial review upon petition
to the Circuit Court of the city of Richmond, city of Norfolk, city of Roanoke, or county of
Fairfax, whichever is nearest to the city or county of the petitioner, which petition shall be
filed within thirty days from the entry of the order of the Commission suspending or
revoking such license. Provided, however, that upon the judicial review of a suspension
such review or appeal shall be limited to the evidential record of the proceedings provided
by the agency. The filing of such petition shall not operate to stay any such order of the
Commission suspending or revoking any license; provided, however, that in the case of
suspension, the court may, in its discretion, grant a stay of such order of the Commission
until a hearing has been held by the court upon the issue. If such stay is granted, the
court, in granting it, may require as a condition thereto that the petitioner comply with all
the regulations of the Commission, and specifically any regulation which the petitioner has
been charged with violating. The jurisdiction of the Circuit Court shall be limited in any
case involving such petition to the record of the proceedings before the Commission. An
appeal shall lie to the Supreme Court of Virginia from any order of the court. Neither
mandamus nor injunction shall lie in any such case.

(e) Disposition of beverages on hand. - Alcoholic beverages, other than beer, owned and
in possession, or owned or in possession, for sale, by or of any licensee at the time the
license of any such person is suspended or revoked as herein provided, may be soid by
such person to the Commission at such price or prices and upon such terms as may be
agreed upon by the Commission and such person, or may, upon permits issued by the
Commission and upon such conditions as the Commission may specify be sold to persons in
Virginia licensed to sell such alcoholic beverages or may, upon permits issued by the
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Commission, be sold to persons outside of Virginia for resale outside of Virginia, except
that no deliveries or shipments shall be made into any state the laws of which prohibit the
consignee from receiving or selling the same.

Beer owned and in possession, or owned or in possession, for sale, by or of any
licensee at the time the license of such person is suspended or revoked as provided herein,
may upon permits of the Commission and upon payment of any excise tax due thereon be
sold to any person authorized to purchase the same for resale.

Alcoholic beverages owned and in possession, or owned or in possession, for sale, by or
of persons whose licenses have been terminated otherwise than by suspension or revocation
may dispose of the same in accordance with the foregoing provisions of this section within
such time as the Commission, in its discretion, may deem proper under the circumstances;
provided such period shall not be less than sixty days.

All such alcoholic beverages owned by or in possession of any person whose license is
suspended or revoked, as provided herein, shall be disposed of by such person in
accordance with the provisions of this section within a period of sixty days from the date
of such suspension or revocation. All such alcoholic beverages owned by or in possession of
any person whose license is terminated otherwise than by suspension or revocation, shall
be disposed of by such person in accordance with the provisions of this section within the
period allowed by the Commission. All such alcoholic beverages owned by or remaining in
the possession of any such person, after the expiration of such peribd shall be deemed
contraband and forfeited to the Commonwealth in accordance with the provisions of § 4-55.

§ 4-62. Persons to whom alcoholic beverages may not be sold; forfeiture.—(1) If any
person shall, except pursuant to the provisions of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or 4-50, sell any alcoholic
beverages to any person and at the time of such sale shall know or have reason to believe
that the person to whom the sale is made is (a) less than twenty-one years of age ; exeept
as to beer as previded herein , or (b) an interdicted person, or (c) an intoxicated person,
he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. ¥ a persean shall sell beer to aneother persen and at
the time of such sale shall know or have reason to believe that the person to whem the
sale is made is less than eighteen years of age; he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor-

(2) If any person to whom an alcoholic beverage may not lawfully be sold under this
section shall purchase or possess any alcoholic beverage, except pursuant to the provisions
of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or 4-50, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Any alcoholic beverage
purchased or possessed in violation of this section shall be deemed contraband and
forfeited to the Commonwealth in accordance with the provisions of § 4-55.

(3) The provisions of this subsection shall not be applicable to the possession of
alcoholic beverages by a person less than twenty-one years of age making a delivery of
alcoholic beverages in pursuance of his employment or an order of his parent.

§ 4-63. Persons by whom alcoholic beverages may not be sold or served for on-premises
consumption.—(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to permit anyone employed by him
under the age of eighteem twenty-one years to sell, serve or dispense in any manner
alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption, except pursuant to the provisions of §§
4-48, 4-49 or 4-50.

(b) Any person found guilty of a violation of the provisions of this section shall be
punished as is provided for in § 4-92.
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§ 4-112. Concealment of sales or consumption of beverages; sales to intoxicated persons
or minors; forfeiture.—(a) No person licensed as a retailer under this chapter shall sell, or
offer for sale, or permit the consumption of any beverages behind a screen or any other
similar device in his place of business which screen or device may conceal such sale,
offering for sale, or consumption from the view of persons who may be in such place of
business, and not behind such screen or similar device.

(b) If any person shall, except pursuant to the provisions of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or 4-50, sell
any beverage as defined in this chapter to any person and at the time of such sale shall
know or have reason to believe that the person to whom the sale is made is intoxicated, or
is a person under eightees rwenty-one years of age, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(¢) If any person to whom beverages may not lawfully be sold under this section shall
purchase or possess any beverage, except pursuant to the provisions of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or
4-50, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Any beverage purchased or possessed in
violation of this section shall be deemed contraband, forfeited to the Commonwealth and
destroyed. ‘

The provisions of this subsection shall not be applicable to the possession of beverages
by a person under eighteen twenty-one years of age making a delivery of beverages in
pursuance of his employment or an order of his parent.

- § 4-112.1. Purchase or possession of beverages by other person for a person under
twenty-one years of age'.—(a) It any person shall purchase any beverage as defined in this
chapter for another person, and at the time of such purchase know or have reason tr
believe that the person for whom such beverage was purchased was a person less tha:
eighteen twenty-one years of age, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(b) Any beverages purchased or possessed in violation of this section shall be deeme::
contraband, forfeited to the Commonwealth and destroyed.
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HOUSE BILL NO. 188 A
Offered January 18, 1980
A BILL to amend and reenact §§ 4-37, 462, 463, 4112 and 4-112.1 of the Code of
Virginia, which provides for suspension or revocation of licenses of alcoholic beverage
licensees; persons to whom alcoholic beverages may not be sold; prohibited sales; illegal

possession; penalties.

Patrons-Barry, Perper, Dillard, Pratt, Rust, Wilkins, O’'Bryan, D. W., Bell, Bagley, F. C.,
Creekmore, Axselle, Fowler, Jones, J. S., and Sanford

Referred to the Committee on General Laws

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That §§ 4-37, 4-62, 4-63, 4-112 and 4-112.1 of the Code of Virginia are amended and
reenacted as follows:

§ 4-37. Suspension or revocation of licenses; monetary penalties.—(a) Grounds for
suspension or revocation. — The Commission may suspend or revoke any licenses issued by
it if it has reasonable cause to believe: : '

(1) That the licensee, or if the licensee is a partnership or association, any partner or
member thereof, or if the licensee is a corporation, any officer, director, or manager
thereof or shareholder owning ten per centum or more of its capital stock:

(a) Has misrepresented a material fact in applying to the Commission for such license.

(b) Within the five years next preceding the date of the hearing, has been convicted of
the violation of any law, ordinance, or regulation of this State, or of any state, or of the
United States of America, or of any county, city, or town in this State, applicable to the
manufacture, transportation, possession, use, or sale of alcoholic beverages, or has violated
any provision of this chapter or chapter 2 (§ 4-99 et seq.), or has committed a violation in
bad faith of chapter 2.1 (§ 4-118.3 et seq.) of this title, or has violated or failed or refused
to comply with any regulation, rule, or order of the Commission, or has failed or refused
to comply with any of the conditions or restrictions of the license issued by the
Commission. '

(c) Has been convicted of a felony or of any crime or offense involving moral
turpitude in any court.

(d) Is not the legitimate owner of the business conducted under the license issued by
the Commission, or other persons have ownership interests in the business which have not
been disclosed.

(e) Has become insolvent or cannot demonstrate financial responsibility sufficient to
meet adequately the requirements of the business conducted under license issued by the
Commission.

(f) Has been intoxicated, as definred in this chapter, or under the influence of some
self-administered drug, while upon the licensed premises.

(g) Has allowed noisy, lewd, or disorderly conduct upon the licensed premises, or has
maintained such premises in an unsanitary condition, or allowed such premises to become
a meeting place or rendezvous for persons of ill repute, or has allowed any form of illegal
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gambling to take place upon such premises.

(h) Knowingly, employs in the business conducted under such license, as agent, servant,
or employee, any person who has been convicted of a felony or of any crime or offense
involving moral turpitude in any court, or who has violated the laws of this State, or of
any other state, or of the United States of America, applicable to the manufacture,
transportation, possession, use or sale of alcoholic beverages.

(i) Has demonstrated by his police record subsequent to the issuance of his original
license a lack of respect for law and order.

(j) Has allowed the consumpiion of alcoholic beverages upon the licensed premises by
any person whom he knew or had reason to believe was (1) less than twenty-one years of
age, or (2) an interdicted person, or (3) an intoxicated person, or has allowed any person
whom he knew or had reason to believe was intoxicated to loiter upon such licensed
premises, or has allowed the consumption of beverages, as defined in chapter 2 (§ 4-99 et
seq.) of this Title 4, by any person whom he knew or had reason to believe was (1) less
than eighteen nineteen years of age, or (2) an intoxicated person.

(k) Has allowed any person to consume upon the licensed premises any alcoholic
beverages except as provided under this chapter.

(1) Is physically unable to carry on the business conducted under such license or has
been adjudicated incompetent.

(m) Has allowed any lewd, obscene or indecent literature, pictures or materials upon
the licensed premises.

(n) Has possessed any illegal gambling apparatus, machine or device upon the licensed
premises.

(2) That the place occupied by the licensee:

(a) Does not conform to the requirements of the governing body of the county, city, or
town, in which such place is located, with respect to sanitation, health, construction, or
equipment, or to any similar requirements established by the laws of this State or by the
regulations of the Commission.

(b) Has been adjudicated a common nuisance under the provisions of this chapter.

(c) Has become a meeting place or rendezvous for users of narcotics, drunks,
homosexuals, prostitutes, pimps, panderers, gamblers, or habitual law violators. The
Commission may consider the general reputation in the community of such place in
addition to any other competent evidence in making such determination.

For the purposes of this section, “premises” or ‘“place” shall mean the real estate,
together with any buildings or other improvements thereon, designated in the application
for a license as the place at which the manufacture, bottling, distribution, use or sale of
alcoholic beverages shall be performed, except that portion of any such building or other
improvement actually and exclusively used as a private residence as defined in § 4-2.

(3) That any cause exists for which the Commission would have been entitled to refuse
to issue such license had the facts been known; and the Commission may likewise suspend
or revoke any license for any other cause designated by this chapter.

(b) Notice and hearing. - Before the Commission may suspend or revoke any license
issued under the provisions of this chapter, at least ten days’ notice of such proposed or
contemplated action by the Commission shall be given to the licensee affected. Such notice



W G 3 &G e W e

B ba B B e W W W W W W WL W NN DN DN B DN I D N DD e ke et et ek bed ped pud Pk et
B W N O DN DU W D 00N O W RN O P 00N DU e W N D

oA

€Yy Oy
T 9

N

3 House Bill No. 188

shall be in writing, shall contain a statement in detail of the grounds or reasons for such
proposed or contemplated action of the Commission, and shall be served on the licensee as
other notices are served, or by sending the same to such licensee by registered mail to his
last known post-office address. The Commission shall in such notice appoint a time and
place when and at which the licensee shall be heard as to why his license should not be
suspended or revoked. The licensee shall at such time and place have the right to produce
evidence in his behalf and to be represented by counsel.

(¢) [Repealed.]

(c1) Payment of costs or monetary penalties. - The Commission in suspending any
license may impose, as a condition precedent to the removal of such suspension or any
portion thereof, a requirement that the licensee pay the cost incurred by the Commission
in investigating the licensee and in holding the proceeding resulting in such suspension, or
it may impose a monetary penalty not to exceed one thousand dollars for the first offense,
a monetary penalty not to exceed ftwo thousand five hundred dollars for the second
offense, a monetary penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars for the third offense in
lieu of such suspension or any portion thereof, or both after the enactment hereof.

(c2) Offers in compromise. - Following notice to the licensee of a hearing which may
result in the suspension or revocation of his license, the Commission in its discretion may
accept from the licensee an offer in compromise to pay a monetary penalty not exceeding
five thousand dollars, either in lieu of suspension or in addition thereto, or in lieu of
revocation.

(d) Review. - The action of the Commission in suspending or revoking any license
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to judicial review upon petition
to the Circuit Court of the city of Richmond, city of Norfolk, city of Roanoke, or county of
Fairfax, whichever is nearest to the city or county of the petitioner, which petition shall be
filed within thirty days from the entry of the order of the Commission suspending or
revoking such license. Provided, however, that upon the judicial review of a suspension
such review or appeal shall be limited to the evidential record of the proceedings provided
by the agency. The filing of such petition shall not operate to stay any such order of the
Commission suspending or revoking any license; provided, however, that in the case of
suspension, the court may, in its discretion, grant a stay of such order of the Commission
until a hearing has been held by the court upon the issue. If such stay is granted, the
court, in granting it, may require as a conditiocn thereto that the petitioner comply wiir ali
the regulations of the Commission, and specifically any regulation which the petitioner has
been charged with violating. The jurisdiction of the Circuit Court shall be limited in any
case involving such petition to the record of the proceedings before the Commission. An
appeal shall lie to the Supreme Court ¢f Virginia from any order of the court. Neither
mandamus nor injunction shall lie in any such case.

(e) Disposition of beverages on hand. - Alcoholic beverages, other than beer, owned and
in possession, or cwned cor in possession, for sale, by or of any licensee at the time the
license of any such person is suspended or revoked as herein provided, may be soid by
such person to the Commission at such price or prices and upon such terms as may be
agreed upon by the Commission and such person, or may, upon permits issued by the
Commission and upon such conditions as the Commission may specify be sold to persons in
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Virginia licensed to sell such alcoholic beverages or may, upon permits issued by the
Commission, be sold to persons outside of Virginia for resale outside of Virginia, except
that no deliveries or shipments shall be made into any state the laws of which prohibit the
consignee from receiving or selling the same.

Beer owned and in possession, or owned or in possession, for sale, by or of any
licensee at the time the license of such person is suspended or revoked as provided herein,
may upon permits of the Commission and upon payment of any excise tax due thereon be
sold to any person authorized to purchase the same for resale.

Alcoholic beverages owhed and in possession, or owned or in possession, for sale, by or
of persons whose licenses have been terminated otherwise than by suspension or revocation
may dispose of the same in accordance with the foregoing provisions of this section within
such time as the Commission, in its discretion, may deem proper under the circumstances;
provided such period shall not be less than sixty days.

All such alcoholic beverages owned by or in possession of any person whose license is
suspended or revoked, as provided herein, shall be disposed of by such person in
accordance with the provisions of this section within a period of sixty days from the date
of such suspension or revocation. All such alcoholic beverages owned by or in possession of
any person whose license is terminated otherwise than by suspension or revocation, shail
be disposed of by such person in accordance with the provisions of this section within the
period allowed by the Commission. All such alcoholic beverages owned by or remaining in
the possession of any such person, after the expiration of such period shall be deemed
contraband and forfeited to the Commonwealth in accordance with the provisions of § 4-55.

§ 4-62. Persons to whom alcoholic beverages may not be sold; forfeiture.—(1) If any
person shall, except pursuant to the provisions of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or 4-50, sell any alcoholic
beverages to any person and at the time of such sale shall know or have reason to believe
that the person to whom the sale is made is (a) less than twenty-one years of age, except
as to beer as provided herein, or (b) an interdicted person, or (c) an intoxicated person,
he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. If a person shall sell beer to another person and at
the time of such sale shall know or have reason to believe that the person to whom the
sale is made is less than eighteen nineteen years of age, he shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor.

(2) If any person to whom an alcoholic beverage may not lawfully be sold under this
section shall purchase or possess any alcoholic beverage, except pursuant to the provisions
of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or 4-50, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Any alcoholic beverage
purchased or possessed in violation of this section shall be deemed contraband and
forfeited to the Commonwealth in accordance with the provisions of § 4-55.

(3) The provisions of this subsection shall not be applicable to the possession of
alcoholic beverages by a person less than twenty-one years of age making a delivery of
alcoholic beverages in pursuance of his employment or an order of his parent.

§ 4-63. Persons by whom alcoholic beverages may not be sold or served for on-premises
consumption.—(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to permit anyone employed by him
under the age of eighteen nineteen years to sell, serve or dispense in any manner alcoholic
beverages for on-premises consumption, except pursuant to the provisions of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or
4-50.
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(b) Any person found guilty of a violation of the provisions of this section shall be
punished as is provided for in § 4-92.

§ 4-112. Concealment of sales or consumption of beverages; sales to intoxicated persons
or minors; forfeiture.—(a) No person licensed as a retailer under this chapter shall sell, or
offer for sale, or permit the consumption of any beverages behind a screen or any other
similar device in his place of business which screen or device may conceal such sale,
offering for sale, or consumption from the view of persons who may be in such place of
business, and not behind such screen or similar device.

(b) If any person shall, except pursuant to the provisions of §§ 4-48, 4-49 or 4-50, sell
any beverage as defined in this chapter to any person and at the time of such sale shall
know or have reason to believe that the person to whom the sale is made is intoxicated, or
is a person under eighteen nineteen years of age, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(¢) If any person to whom beverages may not lawfully be sold under this section shall
purchase or possess any beverage, except pursuant to the provisicns of §§ 4-48, 449 or
4-50, he shall be guiity of a misdemeanor. Any beverage purchased or possessed in
violation of this section shall be deemed contraband, forfeited to the Commonwealth and
destroyed.

The provisions of this subsection shall not be applicable to the possession of beverages
by a person under eighteem nineteen years of age making a delivery of beverages in
pursuance of his employment or an order of his parent.

§ 4-112.1. Purchase or possession of beverages by other person for a persen unde.
nineteen years of age.—(a) If any person shall purchase any beverage as defined in this
chapter for another person, and at the time of such purchase know or have reason to
believe that the person for whom such beverage was purchased was a persoa less than
eighteen ninereen years of age, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

(b) Any beverages purchased or possessed in violation of this section shail be deemed
contraband, forfeited to the Commonwealth and destroyed.
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