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SUMMARY AND RECOMMENDATIONS 

With respect to those statutory factors bearing on the severity of the 
sentence (the fine, jail sentence, and license revocationi, one concludes that 
the Virginia Code authorizes sanctions that, if consistently imposed, would 
make the penalty for driving while intoxicated one of the more severe in the 
nation. The fine and jail sentence are structured in terms of minimum and 
maximum limits. Only two jurisdictions specify a higher, minimum fine than 
does Virginia.• while no ju•risdiction authorizes a higher maximum fine for a 
first offense conviction of driving while intoxicated than the state's $1,000 
limit. As regards the jail. sentence, only one state specifies a longer minimum 
confinement period than does Virginia, although 20 jurisdictions allow longer 
maximum periods of confinement. Finally the mandatory nature of the license 
revocation coupled with the 12 month period of revocation rate Virginia as relatively 
harsh in comparison with nationwide data° 

On the other hand, the state appears to be extremely facile with respect to 
those statutory factors affecting the rate of detection, apprehension• and coavi¢tion. 
The 0.15% presumptive level for definition of intoxication is the highest blood- 
alcohol level in use in the nation. Only a minority of 11 states and the District 
of Columbia continue to t•se the 0o 15% level• while the remainder have adopted 
lower presumptive levels. 

As regards chemical tests constituting admissible evidence in a prosecution 
for driving while intoxicated, the state is noticeably lax. Virginia is the only 
state in the nation to allow only the chemical test results of blood analysis into 
evidence and is one of only fou.r states to at•thorize only one chemical test for 
evidential purposes. 

While no firm recommendations can be made on the basis of the statutory 
comparison alone, the comparison strongly st•ggests tha• future revisions in 
this area of the law be along two lines 

(1) Consider lessening the severity of the present penalties for DWI if it 
should be determined that the harshness of present sanctions is 
causing a reh•ctance in police to arrest and courts to convict for DWl. 
The trade-off between increased likelihood of punishment and a more 
moderate penalty for first offenders might be worthwhile in terms 
of highway safety° 

(2) Strongly consider changing those factors which presently contribute to 

a low rate of detection, apprehension, and conviction. Recent sug- 
gestions in this area include statutory authorization of quantitat,ive 
breath analysis (rest•lts to be admissible in evidence)and lowering 
the prest•mptive level to 0.10%. 

It should be remembered that neither line of revision is necessarily exclusive, •nd the legislature might consider: a combination Of the two." 





A COMPARISON OF VIRGINIA STATUTES FOR A FIRST 
OFFENSE OF DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED 
WITH THOSE OF THE OTHER 49 STATES 

AND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 

by 

Wo Allen Ames 
Graduate Legal Assistant 

PURPOSE OF THE STUDY 

It has been said that, apart from such general variables as personality, 
motivation, etco• the effectiveness of any sanction depends upon two primary 
factors: (1) The perceived risk of detection• apprehension and conviction, and 
(2) the severity of the penalty° 1 

Although the factors are interrelated• this comparison of Virginia's 
driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws with those of the 49 other states and the 
District of Columbia can be delineated along similar lines° Under the first factor 
(likelihood of punishment) fall the following statutory bases of comparison: 

Presumptive levels for definition of intoxication• and 

(2) allowable chemical tests constituting admissible evidence of intoxication. 

apply: 
Under the second factor (severity of the sentence), the following bases 

(i) The fine, 

(2) the jail sentence• and 

(3) the license revocation or suspension° 

The purpose of this comparison is to determine those areas of Virginia law 
where revisions might result in a greater deterrent effect. 

1 Roger Co Cramton• "Driver Behavior and Legal Sanctions•" Driver Behavior 
Cause and Effect (Washington Do Co Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, 
1968) po 186o 



Several caveats need be notedo First, the simple fact that certain areas of 
Virginia law are not in substantial conformity with national practice does not, in 
itself, establish the desirability of revisions° However• it is submitted that a 

degree of u, niformity in traffic laws is desirable in light of the interstate and 
international character of motor vehicle travel° At the least• substantial deviation 
between Virginia's DWI laws and the laws of the majority of states would suggest 
those areas of the statutes deserving of further inquiry° 

Secondly, the statutory bases listed do not exhaust the conceivable bases of 
statutory comparison° iFurther inquiry could have consisted of a consideration of 
the penalty for refusal to take an author•'ized chemical, test, the extent to which the 
prosecution can at a subsequent trial for DWI comment on a refusal to take a 

chemical test, penalties :for second and subsequent offenses, whether the statute 
is of the "implied consent" variety• etCo Nevertheless, the criteria of comparison 
were narrowed for simplicity•s sake, and because it was thought that the factors 
chosen represented the more important elements of the DWI statutes° 

Finally, and more importantly• statutes alone do not reveal the extent to which 
DWI laws are enforced° Often, solutions to the DWI deterrence problem may lie 
with more vigorous enforcement of existing statutes, as opposed to statutory revisions° 
However, information of this nature is not presently available on a national basis, 
and is outside the scope of this comparison,, Consequently• this report will focus 
so[ely on statutes° 

FINES 

Vao Code Ann° § 18,, 1-58 provides that the offense of driving while under 
the influenee of intoxicants is a misdemeanor, a first offense conviction of which 
carries (among other penalties) a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $i, 000o 

With, the exception of two states, 2 all jurisdictions 3 state their fines in 
terms of a minimum and a maximum limit° The average statutory minimum limit 
is $65, and the average statutory maximum limit is $540 (averages rounded to 
nearest $5)° See Figure 1 of the Appendix•, 

2The two states are Missouri and Nebraska° Missouri specifies only a minimum 
limit of not less than $100 although, in practice, the maximum fine reportedly 
never exceeds this level•, Nebraska does not specify a fine interval, but rather 
the single figure of $I00o 

3 The term jurisdiction is defined as one of the 50 state, s or the District of Columbia° 



Note that 46 jurisdictions specify a lower minimum fine than Virginia's 
$200° Two states (Delaware and New Jersey) specify the same minimum fine 

as Virginia's, and only two (California and Iowa) specify a higher minimum. 
Peaks occu.r for those jurisdictions specifying the $0 minimum limit (17 
jurisdictions) and those specifying a $I00 minimum limit (15 jurisdictions)° 

From Figure 2 of the Appendix it. can be noted that 37 jurisdictions have 

a maximum limit on :fines lower than Virginia's maximum limit of $i, 000, and 
12 jurisdictions have the same maximum as Virginia° No jurisdictions have a 

fine higher than $I• 000 for a first offense conviction of DWIo 

Uniform Vehicle Code § 11-902o 2 provides a fine interval of $100-$1• 000o 

Conclusions 

With respect to the fine allowable :for conviction on a first offense of driving 
while intoxfcated, Virginia must be regarded as having one of the most severe 

sanctions in the nation° 

IMPRISONMENT 

According to 
§ 18o 1,-o58, the jury• or the court trying a case without a jury, 

may impose either the aforementioned fine or a jail sentence of not less than 1 
month nor more than 6 months• or both, Both sanctions are diseretionaryo 

In total, 41 jurisdictions specify imposition of either the fine o_•r the jail 
sentence• or botho Seven jurisdictions, (Arkansas, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, 
Texas, Washington, and West Virginia) state their penalties in terms of the fine 
an__•d the jail senteneeo Two states (Minnesota and South Carolina) impose either 
the fine or the jail sentence, and one state, Kentucky, imposes no jail sentence 
for a first offense conviction of DWIo 

Nationwide, the jail sentences possible for a first offense conviction of driving 
while intoxicated range from a minimum of 0 days (26 jurisdictions) to a statutory 
maximum of 36 months (Pennsylvania)° The average statutory minimum period of 
confinement is 70 3 days, while the average statutory maximum is 8 months 23° 4 days. 

From Figure 3 of the Appendix, it can be noted that 42 jurisdictions specify a 

lower minimum confinement than does Virginia, 6 states specify the same minimum 
limit (i month), and only one state (Delaware, 60 days) has a longer minimum 
confinement period than does Virginia° 



From Figure 4 of the Appendix, it can be noted that 11 jurisdictions have 
lower maximum jail sentences than does Virginia. Eighteen jurisdictions have 
the same maximum jail sentence as Virginia (6months), and 20 jurisdictions have 
higher maximum jail sentences than Virginia. 

Uniform Vehicle Code. • 11-902.2 provides a period of confinement ranging 
from 10 days to 1 year. 

Conclusions 

With respect to the period of confinement, Virginia must be regarded as being 
relatively severe in comparison with the nationwide average; although not as harsh 
as with respect to the fine. The comparisons must be tempered by the fact that 
both are discretionary. Thus, in reality, the practice may differ considerably 
from what is statutorily possible. 

LICENSE REVOCATION 

Va. Code Ann. •}18.1-59 provides for a mandatory, self-executing 12 month 
license revocation upon a first offense conviction of DWI. 

The comparison of the license revocation provisions of the various juris- 
dictions is divided into three categories. 

(i) Those jurisdictions specifying a c.omplete.ly discretionary revocation 
period, where the revocation period may range from 0 days to some 

stated maximum limit. 

(2) Those jurisdictions specifying a comPlete.ly ma__nd.atory fixed revocation 
period with n__o latitude in setting the revocation period. 

Those jurisdictions specifying minimum and maximum limits on the 
revocation period, but allowing judicial and/or administrative dis- 
cretion in setting the exact revocation period between the limits. 

Certain value judgements were made by the author as to which categories 
certain states belonged. Such judgements were necessitated by variations in 
statutory terminology, dual responsibility for license revocation, seemingly conflicting 
statutory provisions, etc. Typical examples are the states of Georgia and Oklahoma, 
who specify an original revocation of 12 months but allow the defendant to petition 
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for reinstatement after a specified minimu, m period° Since minimum and maximum 
revocation limits are stated, these jurisdictions are placed in the category with 
those jurisdictions who allow discretion between certain minimum and maximum 
limits° 

More frequent are the cases in which a mandatory revocation period is 
stated with the qualification that the license may not necessarily be returned 
after revocation° This qualification is usually framed in terms of the court or 
other appropriate administrative agency being satisfied of the safety of allowing 
the defendant to drive again° Since this qualification is applied on an individual 
basis, and since no other maximum limit than the initial revocation is stated, 
the jurisdictions with such statutes are placed in the category of those specifying 
complet• revocations° 

In some states, provisions are made for the issuance of a "limited" 
operator's license to those whose licenses have been revokedo It is the general 
feeling in these states that the intent of license revocation is not to further punish 
the accused by denying him the privilege of driving, but to make the roads safe 
for others to drive° In those cases where a license revocation imposes undue hard- 
ship on the ability of the person convicted to earn a li,velihood, a "li, mited" 
operator's license may be issued° 

Despite the fact that these "limited" or "hardship" licenses have the effect, 
in reality, of moderating the revocation period• it was decided that a provision for 
issuance of a "hardship" license should not affect the category of license revocation 
into which a jurisdiction would normally be placed° Hardship licenses are issued 
on an individual basis and it is impossible to generalize on the extent to which 
they do or do not alter the intent of the original statute° 

Cat••- C_gm•p!e•[eJ.y Mandatorv• 

There are 28 jurisdictions (including Virginia) who specify a mandatory fixed 
revocation period 

Colorado Massachusetts Oregon 
C onnectico•t Mis sis s ippi Pennsylvania 
Delaware Missouri Rhode Island 
District of Columbia Montana South Carolina 
Idaho Nebraska Texas 
Illinois New Jersey Utah 
Kentucky New Mexico Vermont 
Louisi, ana New York Virginia 
Maine North Carolina West Virginia 

Wyoming 

The average license revocation is 8o 89 months (8 months 26° 7 days)° 
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From Figure 5 of the Appendix it can be noted that 13 jurisdictions 
specify license revocations of shorter duration than that for Virginia; 14 
jurisdictions specify mandatory revocations of 12 months (including Virginia), 
and only 1 jurisdiction (New Jersey, 2 years) specifies a mandatory revocation 
of greater duration than Virginia's. 

Uniform Vehicle Code- § 11-902.2 makes license revocation mandatory 
upon conviction of DWI and •] 6-208 specifies 1 year as the appropriate time 
period. 

Category (2) Completely Discretionary 

There are eight jurisdictions who specify a completely discretionary 
license revocation where the duration varies from 0 to x, where x is some 
stated maximum limit. The jurisdictions are 

Alabama California 
Alaska 4 Hawaii 
Arizona Kansas 
A rkansa s T e nnes see 

The. minimum limit is 0 days by definition of the category. The average 
maximum limit is 9.87 months (9 months 26° 1 days). The modal interval is 
0-12 months (6 jurisdictions). See Figure 6 of the Appendix. 

Category (3) _Fixed Minimum and Maximum Limits With 
Judicial and/or Administrative Discretion Within These 

Limits As To Actual Duration of Revocation 

There are 15 states in this category: 

Florida Michigan Ohio 
Georgia Minnesota Oklahoma 
Indiana Nevada South Dakota 
Iowa New Hampshire Washington 
Maryland North Dakota Wisconsin 

4 Alaska is somewhat unusual in that the statute indicates that license revocation 
is discretionary, but if it is suspended• the revocation is to be for 30 days. 



The average, minimum limit is 2o 33 months (2months 10days)o The 

average maximum limit is 14o 80 months (14months 24 days)° See Figures 7 
and 8 of the Appendix° 

Conclusions 

While Virginia's provisions regarding license revocation are in conformity 
with the recommendations of the Uniform Vehicle Code• both the UVC and the 
Va. Code must be regarded as relatively harsh in comparison with nationwide data° 
This is due primarily to the mandatory nature of the revocation, although the 
comparatively lengthy 12 month time period is also a factor. 

The author wishes to reiterate that there may be differences between 
these findings and those contained in other publications due to the value judgements 
that must be made in categorizing the various jurisdictions° Where questions 
arise, the reader is invited to examine the comments portion of Table I (Appendix) 
and draw his own conclusions° In addition, it should be pointed out that this study 
encompassed only the legislative sanctions as found in the ccdes of the various 
states. No efforts were made to examine the actual practices• e. g., administrative 
rules, enforcement practices, conviction rates, etco, that may exist° 

The experience in Virginia is that even mandatory sanctions are not 
uniformly enforced within the court system° 5 

PRESUMPTIVE LEVELS 

Vao Code Ann. § 18.1-57 details the following presumptions, expressed 
in the percent by weight of alcohol in the accused's blood: 

O. 05% or less presumed that the accused was not under the influence 
of alcoholic intoxicants 

greater than Oo 05% but less than Oo 10% no presumption 

0.10% to less than 0o 15%- "impaired" driving within the meaning of 
§ 18o 1-56o 1 

0o 15% or greater presumed that the accused was under the influence 
of alcoholic intoxicants 

5David I. Greenberg, The Enforce.ment____of__M_a_nda__•to_r_y Sanctions in Virginia 
Traffic Courts, Virginia Highway Research Council (1969) 170 ppo 
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Currently, all 51 jurisdictions utilize presumptive levels in defining the 
offense of driving under the influence of alcoholo 6 Virginia, with its lesser included 
offense of impaired driving at 0o 10%, is one of seven states utilizing two presumptive 
levels and assigning different sanctions to each° 7 Three blood-alcohol concentrations 
are used in defining the offense: 0o 15%, 0o 10% and 0o 08%° The District of Columbia 
and Maryland use a somewhat higher level when urine is analyzed, but this does 
not represent a higher intoxication state because the alcohol concentration of urine 
is approximately one-third higher than that of blood° 

Prior to the 1971 legislative sessions• the split between those states 
utilizing 0o 15% for definition of driving under the influence and those using 0o i0% 
was roughly equal° Recent legislative sessions have been unusually active in 
this area, with the result that a number of states have lowered their presumptive 
levels° At last count, ii states and the District of Columbia used 0o 15%, one state 
used 0o 12%, 36 states used 0o 10%, and two states used 0o 08%° 8 

Uniform Vehicle Code • 11-902 (b) names 0o 10% as the appropriate .level 
for definition of the offense of driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor° 

Conclusions 

Virginia is one of a steadily decreasing number of states still retaining 
the 0o 15% level° Additionally, it must be remembered that the 0o 15% level is 
the most liberal level to be used in the nation° A growing body of scientific 
evidence indicating that the 0o 15% level is far too liberal has led to the many down- 
ward revisions that were recently enacted° The liberality of Virginia's 00 15% 
level is moderated somewhat by the provision for impaired driving at 0o 10%o 
However, according to • 18o 1-56o I• the offense is a lesser included offense of 
driving under the influence, and no person is to be initially charged with the offense 
of impaired driving° Thus• in terms of detection and apprehension, the 0o 15% 
level is more applicableo 

6 Five states make driving while with the specified blood-alcohol concentration illegal 
per se• as opposed to a presumption or prima facie evidence of being under the 
influence° These states are: Oregon (0o 15%)• New York (0o 12%); Delaware, 
Nebraska, and Minnesota (0o 10%)o 

The following states, while using 0o 15% for definition of driving under the influence, 
use the lesser 0• 10% level for definition of impaired driving: Maryland, 
Michigan, New Jersey, and Virginia° The state of Mississippi defines driving 
while intoxicated at 0o 15%• while driving under the influence is at 0o 10%o Driving 
with a blood-alcohol level of 0o 12 is illegal per se in New York• with impaired 
driving at 0o 08%° While 0o 10% defines driving under the influence in Colorado, 
impaired driving is at 0o 05%° 

See Table I for state-by-state statutory data° 
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ADMLSSIBLE CHEMICAL EVIDENCE 

Virginia Code Annotated § !8o 1--55o 1 provides that any person who operates 
a motor vehicle upon a public highway of tim state "shall be deemed thereby, as a 
condition of such operation to have consented to have a sample of his blood taken 
for a chemical test to determine the alcoholic content thereof. " Note that the statute 
is of the "implied consent" variety, a concept which has been adopted by the majority 
of states. Section 18.1-55 (i) further provides that the statement of the Chief 
Medical Examiner as to the alcoholic content of the sample shall be admissible in 
evidence. 

Virginia law also provides for a breath test under Section 18.1-54.1. 
However, this test is only a semiquantitative analysis, is wholly voluntary on the 
motorist's part, and the results are not admissible into evidence. Consequently, 
in terms of the basis of comparison (statatorily-authorized, admissible chemical 
evidence), Virginia provides only one test the blood test. 

Of the 51 jurisdictions authorizing chemical tests, Virginia is one of four 
states who authorize only one chemical test. The other three (Alaska, Indiana, 
and South Carolina) specify the breath test, making Virginia the only state in the 
nation to authorize only the blood test. 

There are 9 jurisdictions 9 that authorize two chemical tests. These 
jurisdictions all utilize the blood test and the breath test. The remaining 
38 jurisdictions authorize the analysis of 3, 4, or more bodily substances. 
The most often utilized substances are blood, breath, urine, and saliva- 
in that order of frequency. Remaining pos•ibilities are usually classified 
under the general heading of "other bodily substances. " More detailed 
information may be found in Table I of the Appendix, which contains state- 
by-state statutory data. 

Conclusio•.s 

The state of Virginia must be regarded as being extremely lax with respect 
to this aspect of detection, apprehension, and conviction. Not only is the state in a 
distinct minority with respect to the number of chemical tests it authorizes, but the 
fact that it is the blood test that is used increases the deficiency since there are as- 

pects of blood-alcohol analysis that make administration of the test particularly 
burdensome. 

9 Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, 
Carolina, Oklahoma, and Utah. 

Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, North 
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Figure 1. Frequency distribution of minimum fine limits. 
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Figure 5. Frequency distribution of mandatory fixed revocation periods. 
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